We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Different Hyatt”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
102 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful and Different Hyatt”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hyat at Olive 8 has a distinctly different vibe than other Hyatt's I've stayed at. This one has the 'green hotel' spin, very Seattle, and on balance delivers a quality experience. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, location good. No complaints really, would recommend

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdr27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,482
    675
    144
    35
    14
See reviews for
458
667
142
813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

What a great hotel. The experience started when I walked up to the front desk. The desk manager was a remarkably nice man and was extremely helpful. This was my first visit to Seattle and I checked in in the early evening. I was looking for a good place to eat that would not break the bank. The desk manager pointed me in the right direction. The room was fantastic. I had a great view. This is a bit of a pricey hotel, but well worth the expense.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. It is so great when we get to really have a genuine connection with our guests and we're glad that you experienced that warmth and hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a great time at the hotel. All of the staff was extremely nice and accomodating. We had requested a microwave for our room and because they forgot to bring it up, they gave us a $20 credit. It was very conveniently located and had a very fun view of the city.

Helpful?
Thank Crystal H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I love the Hyatt brand as is evident by my Diamond level status in the Passport program. Typically I split my stays in Seattle between the Olive 8 and the Grand, virtually across the street. Both facilities offer premium quality with different enough feels allowing for travelers like me to mix it up abit. The Olive 8 restaurant is excellent forwhich I give the edge over the typical steak house choice found at the Grand. From the personal service/touch experiance I, however, give the edge to the Grand. If you are a loyalty customer the status carries some value... being a Diamond member I have NEVER be recognized other than asked my preference for points or complementary drink where at the Grand the Diamond is recognized and given an upgrade, if none are available it is pointed out but at least the effort is evident. Furthermore I typically need to ask about the breakfast credit at Olive 8. For this I give the edge to the Grand as it is the personal touch and being rewarded for loyalty makes a difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324MarkL324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business travel. The building itself is gorgeous. Everything is chiq and modern without verging off into "weird". Check in process was painless, and I noticed two bins of hotel provided umbrellas for those who were caught without...like me.

The room itself was very nice. It has the European style lighting control where you have to insert your room key into a receptacle by the door to complete the power circuit for the room. It's a nice touch that goes with their green mandate. Bed was very comfortable, as all Hyatt beds are. The only thing I wished for was a few more channels - I've had better selections at other properties.

Didn't eat at the restaurant, so I can't comment on the quality. My room had a "city" view of the apartment building across the street and the Paramount theater. Would have loved a water view, but not the end of the world.

The property is about a 10 minute walk down to the market and the Westlake shopping district is a little closer (did you know the original Nordstrom store is here?).

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay and hope to be able to stay here the next time I'm in town for work.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback! We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love that our location allows our guests to have easy access to shopping and entertainment. It's so great that we were able to meet your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I decided to stay in town while friends were visiting and as a passport member chose to visit the Olive 8 again and I was not disappointed. I chose a corner room which depending on which corner of the building you may found yourself on offers a fantastic view of the city or of downtown. Rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable. Close to the Paramount theater, the Seattle Convention Center and other venues and various restaurants. Only downside with the location would be the parking as this Hyatt is a valet parking only and cost is $34.00 per night, (Grand Hyatt a block or so over is $30.00 for self-parking and $41.00 for valet) yes parking in downtown Seattle is at a premium.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were hosted at this hotel for the Seattle Steamship Dinner on April 6, 2013. We decided to come to Seattle a day early, so booked ourselves a room for the 5th. We arrived around 1:00 in the afternoon and our room was ready for us! We loved everything about this hotel! The dinner/dance event was beautifully catered (although found the food a bit bland). The ballroom is stunning and the acoustics (live 7 piece band) were very good. The central location of the hotel is another great feature. Great fitness centre and spa. We will return again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RubyCoquitlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,624 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing