We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel experience”
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Quite possibly the best "downtown" type hotel I've ever stayed at. We loved the saltwater pool, which was very relaxing with underwater music, a great hottub, steam rooms, and saunas. The room was clean, modern, and very comfortable. The "green" features including room key controlled lights were a cool bonus. Location was convenient to the monorail to get up to the Space Needle area and a reasonable walk to the Pike Place market area.

Room Tip: We got a great price on Hotwire for a 4 star.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chmeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your great feedback! We're so glad you enjoyed our spa and saline lap pool, the music under the water adds a nice touch. Our goal is to create a relaxing and welcoming environment; it's great that you got to experience that. Our wonderful location in the center of downtown allows for easy access to the monorail and great shopping and entertainment. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,458)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt At Olive 8
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,727 - 1,733 of 2,458 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Great hotel, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean. Perfect location, everything is in walking distance. Close to Ruth's Chris which is always a treat. I love this hotel. The staff is first rate.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skipper1360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great Value! We stayed for three nights just after Christmas. Our rate was $174/night, but the third night was free. Also included with our rate was $53/day towards breakfast. AND when we checked in, Mike offered us free WiFi, since it was the holidays. This definitely bumped the review to Five Stars. I hate being nickel and dimed for things like WiFi. Now, we did pay $40/day for Valet parking, but parking in downtown Seattle is just generally expensive.

The rooms were clean a spacious. The beds were comfortable. The room temperature was easily controllable, making for a comfortable stay. The hotel is well situated in the shopping district. The hotel had a nice pool, hot tub, sauna and steam room.

All around, no complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay! Your comfort and happiness are our number one priority here at the Hyatt at Olive 8 and it's wonderful that the rooms, beds, and amenities made your stay a great one. We love that our convenient central location allows our guests to easily head to Pikes Place Market or Nordstrom to get some shopping done then return to relax in the hot tub! Hope to see you again on your next visit to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've always stayed at the Sheraton when in downtown Seattle, but were pleasantly surprised by our stay at the Hyatt at Olive 8. First, the rate for a two night stay was much more reasonable at the Olive 8 (even when factoring in the high cost of parking). This hotel is still within walking distance of all downtown shopping, Pike Place and the Monorail. The staff was wonderful...shout out to Khang who brought our bags up....he was great! I loved the glass showers, the eco-friendly touches (using your key to operate the lights...genius!), and the easy in and out parking (our car was up within 5 minutes of handing the valet our ticket...it often took 15 minutes or more to get our car at the Sheraton).

Our big complaint was that the rooms were noisy. We could hear a lot of noise in the hallways while in our room. It seems like the walls are pretty thin. Also...the in room coffee...not so great (especially for Seattle), but there are plenty of coffee shops within a block or two of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smtsccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel, the staff were very helpful especially the concierge that helped with our tours. The breakfast available in the restaurant was amazing as was anything ordered from room service.The only negative I would mention is the noise factor from other rooms and the hallway. Other than that, a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank C1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a three night stay at the Olive 8. The hotel is excellent in almost every respect. Room size, condition, service are very good and the property amenities (pool, spa and exercise facilities) are exceptional for a non resort hotel. Although the location was slightly further away from the Pike Place Market area than we would have preferred, the location was still very good and for theatre goers, ideal (the Paramount Theatre is just a short stones throw away). One tip -- it is worth trying the Happy Hour at the Ruth's Chris just across the street from the hotel (assuming one is not a vegetarian). The restaurant in the hotel had an interesting (albeit somewhat pricey) menu, but we had already booked meals elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A_Mariner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeattleHyattHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt At Olive 8, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback; we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love that we can offer our guests a heated saline lap-pool, 24-hour fitness center, and full-service organic day spa Elaia. We're glad you were able to experience some of the delicious food that Seattle has to offer and encourage you to try Urbane next time you come as their menu often changes according to what's locally and seasonally available. Hope to see you on your next trip to Seattle.

Sarah S.
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Olive 8's staff were fantastic. Example: They went the extra mile to get our laundry back to us on time, when we sent it in too late for our check-out and flight. Our room was very spacious. Excellent location for downtown Seattle sightseeing - walking distance to top downtown attractions. Only minor complaint: indoor pool had a little too much chlorine (upside is that lots of chlorine means it's germ free).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreVanKets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,135 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,067 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 102 in Seattle
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $187 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing