We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good Hotel, but same as the rest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt At Olive 8

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt At Olive 8
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but same as the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I have to say walking in to this hotel is quite nice. The music playing in the lobby is cool, calm and serene. The rooms are good, but not spectacular. The bathrooms do steal the show - although they don't have a bathtub - at least in the king deluxe it doesn't.

The space is ample, but I overlooked a roof top so be sure to ask for a higher floor than say 7.
The gym is well equipped and the pool actually has the capability of doing laps which is rare.

All in all a good hotel, but i wouldn't' switch loyalty programs to stay at this Hyatt.

It's a good hotel...with no major complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher than the 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acculligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    633
    124
    30
    13
See reviews for
396
618
133
704
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I love the modern styling of these rooms! The views are great the location is great and the pool has speakers under the water so you can hear it while you swim!!!
The room service was quick and the portions were huge!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Don't be confused with the Hyatt just up the street, there is a reason the name is called Hyatt At Olive 8. As you can tell from my opening line, we got a bit confused about which Hyatt to stay at. In any case, the two hotels are just a short walk from each other. Having stayed at both Hyatt's I would prefer the Hyatt At Olive 8. It is a much smaller hotel, from its welcoming lobby to its laid back feel when you arrive at the Hotel. The rooms a reasonable size and I certainly appreciated the efforts made to go green. When you enter the room you are required to place your key card into a holder near the door; this is responsible for activating the lights throughout the room--a really nice feature but it takes a bit to get use to not using the light switches. In all, the hotel is very clean and room service food is actually edible. I suggest taking a visit to the gym and saline pool. You will enjoy your trip here.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

We stayed at the Hyatt this last weekend. I scored on Priceline for $95.00 a night on a last minute out of town plan. The regular price was running at $169.00 which I would gladly pay now that I have experienced the hotel. If you join the Hyatt Gold Passport Club (free) you get complimentary internet and a 2pm checkout (if available). We were able to get the 2pm check out and that was nice!

We stayed on the 10th floor and it had a nice view of the surrounding city. The rooms were updated and clean. The bathroom had a large shower. The bar has a decent happy hour that goes till 7pm. The salt water pool and spa were not bad as well.

The location is good only blocks away from shopping and Pike's Market.

I highly recommend this hotel as a nice 4 star for a good value. I have stayed at The Westin, W, Grand Hyatt, and the Edgewater and found this property to better. You can find nicer rooms if you want to spend more money but this was a great value.

Room Tip: Ask about joining the Hyatt Gold Passport club. This gives you free internet in your room and some o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portlandia69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2012

I Booked this Night For My Boyfriend and I For Valentines Day. Every little Detail Was amazing. The Corner King Suite with the Sweeping Views of The City, The Chic Modern Decor, and the HUGE Spacious Room made the Night Perfect. The over size bathroom with the stone shower was Amazing. Even the Comp Champagne with Strawberries. The Staff Was amazing From the Valet to the Maids. It seemed as my every Wish was THEIR Command. They were even Nice enough to switch our comp next day breakfast (which was only good for the hotel restaurant) to in room dinning. My Only wish was that we couldn't stay longer than one night. We will Defiantly be staying Again. Thank you Again for making this an Amazing Valentines Day for us!

Room Tip: Cant Beat the Views of the City in the Corner King Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enels70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

We loved the luxurious and centrally-located Hyatt at Olive 8. As the first LEED certified hotel in Seattle, Olive 8 offers chic, modern rooms with iPod docking stations, an indoor-pool and eco-friendly spa and restaurant. We highly recommend this property! arrivalstravel.com

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArrivalsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I come to Seattle often and have stayed at various hotels. This was my 4th or 5th stay at Hyatt Olive 8. It's not your typical large Hyatt, but rather more like a boutique hotel. The rooms are really nice. Large showers, comfotable beds and very eco friendly. The gym and spa are two of the highlights there. The location is great and the staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. This is now my only choice for Seattle. Urbane restaurant in the lobby is excellent, and if you are a seafood lover, especially raw bar, the Blueacre restaurant one block away is the place to go for $1 oysters happy hour every day!

Room Tip: The corner rooms, with big windows and extra space is worth the cost of the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#5 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#6 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#7 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt At Olive 8? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt At Olive 8

Property: Hyatt At Olive 8
Address: 1635 8th Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-1822
Phone Number: +1 888-882-1234
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#8 Business Hotel in Seattle
#8 Family Hotel in Seattle
#10 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#13 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt At Olive 8 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle Green Hotel. Sleek modern design and environmental responsibility converge seamlessly at Hyatt at Olive 8. Designed to be the first LEED certified hotel in the city, Seattle’s newest hotel represents a new echelon for sustainability in the Pacific Northwest. Boasting an array of innovative energy and water saving features, the hotel offers guests the ability to continue their sustainable lifestyle while traveling. A few blocks outside our glass doors are historic Pike Place Market and Puget Sound. Eco-friendly dining and spa amenities present a resort atmosphere in a vibrant city setting. Exuding the best of the Pacific Northwest spirit, brilliant form is combined with environmental function to create a new definition of luxury in downtown Seattle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt At Olive 8 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt At Olive 8 Hotel Seattle
Hyatt Hotel Seattle
At Olive 8 Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing