We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here for six nights in December 2013, and I loved everything about it. Staff is so, so friendly, the location is perfect, and every inch of the hostel is spotlessly clean. Definitely recommendable. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElizabethKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    142
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
24
95
127
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

2nd time staying here in 5 years. In a private room this time instead of a 4 bed dorm. Staff are friendly but very conscious about checking cards on entry for safety so I felt very safe. Multiple bathrooms on every floor and a well equip kitchen on every floor. Private rooms are very large and spacious, clean and nice bathroom. Heater was a bit too warm for my liking but thats not really an issue since I could open a window. The hostel was also quiet.. couple of slamming doors around but ear plugs can handle that if needed. Walking distance to everything.
Breakfast was minimal esp for those who don't eat gluten (tea, coffee, toast, 2 types of cereal and sliced fruit but its free so no complaints).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redribbons112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is one of the best hostels I ever stayed. Everything is clean, the rooms have extravagant paintings which makes the hostel kind of an art gallery, the staff is super friendly and tells you everything you want to know about sightseeing in the city or whatever you ask for. They really take their time to help you. If you travel to Seattle you have to stay in this hostel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singGS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This hostel stands out SO much compared to any other hostel I've stayed at before. This was the first place we arrived at in America and we couldn't have asked for a better place.
We had just got off a 23 hour trip from Perth, Australia and were insanely jet-lagged. The staff showed us our dorm and showed us around and couldn't have been nicer. The beds were comfy too, which was a bonus with the jet-lag.

It's close to everything too! There's also a nice little bar next door which is always handy :) If I go back to Seattle again I'm definitely staying here. We didn't really know anything about Seattle before we arrive, except that it's home to Nirvana & there was a tall building that looked like a UFO. The staff were excellent at suggesting places to visit and I wish we had longer there so we could see them all (excuse to come back?).

My one suggestion is that perhaps in Summer (when we stayed), it could be a good idea to have pedestal fans in the dorms as they get really hot at night, but if not it's still a great place to stay :)

Room Tip: I wouldn't suggest a room on the side with the bar next to it (left hand side I think), because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalu06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Walking distance to Seattle's best tourist spots with very helpful and knowledgeable staff, I would recommend this place to anybody staying in Seattle on a budget. Many eye candies on your bedroom and hostel walls will also lure any art enthusiast.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Friendly and knowledgable staff (on 24/7). Excellent security both outside and inside your rooms. Seriously, this place was fantastic and you'd be silly to go elsewhere. You could easily walk to most tourist spots and there are heaps of buses nearby. The local bars are great too! Ask for maxwell at Rocco's or the gin bathtub and he'll take great care of you!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I wasn't sold on a hostel until my son suggested one and after staying at City Hostel in Seattle, I won't stay anywhere else. it was fantastic. the staff was great. Fantastic security. room was great, atmosphere was great. there was not one thing wrong with my stay. I will stay here next time for sure. Honestly it was Awesome

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#53 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,560 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#13 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Property: City Hostel Seattle
Address: 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1782
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing