We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A clean, friendly hostel in the heart of everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A clean, friendly hostel in the heart of everything”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I know people hear the word 'hostel' and get a little wary but there is absolutely no reason to be wary of this one. It is clean and spacious and the staff was extremely kind and accomodating. You must show your key card every time you enter and only registered guests may enter so there is a definite safe feeling there (may not be your kind of place if you want to bring guests over). There is a quiant courtyard with a hot tub (though it was out of order during our visit) and complimentary breakfast every morning. Free computer lab usage, also. The kitchen was clean and we made dinner and breakfast often (they provide all utensils, pots, pans etc. A full stove, microwave, teapot).We had our own private room with en suite bathroom. It's very basic but if you're just looking for a roof over your head, it's perfect. The only complaint I have is the noise at night due to some sort of glass recycling next door.This isn't the hostel's fault and they are aware of it but so far there is nothing they can do. Maybe it will be taken care of by the time you visit! It's within walking distance to the City Center and Pike Place Market as well as many bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ca311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    143
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
25
95
128
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here in the beginning of May 2013 and we had a wonderful time. It's in a great location, the staff is very friendly and it's clean and neat. They have a movie theatre downstairs which you can use and the breakfast is also good.
The rooms are spacious, but bring your own lock! Overall the atmosphere is good, sometimes it felt a little cold, but maybe that's just Seattle weather ;-)
We really liked, the only reason we give 4/5 is that it was a fairly expensive stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms, clean bathrooms, nice courtyard, good security, BUT .. Our room overlooked 2nd and it was so noisy with party goers out on the street etc that we barley slept. I'm sure it would have been better if our room was in a different location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KateVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed in a four-bed all female room, everyone got on great, it was a cool room, the bed was comfy, and the ensuite bathroom was very quaint and very clean.
Everyone who works here was really nice and gave good advice.
Great location, just near the water and buses and walkable to lots of areas.
Def recommend staying here in you visit Seattle, one of the coolest cities in the US.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisssssss4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My friend and I just travelled the states for 2 months and stayed at alot of places, this one was one of my favourites. The staff are amazing and welcome you back every time you pass the lobby. There is a library, movie room downstairs and a kitchen on every floor. We stayed in a private room but definitely wouldn't hesitate to stay in a dorm next time, we met lots of cool people, including a few other Aussies, whilst hanging out in the common kitchen. Every room is also painted differently by a different artist, we had a underwater alien kind of vibe going on, was awesome. I would recommend this Hostel to any traveller. very fair priced too in a great location with a few bars close by too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The desk staff were always very welcoming and provided us with many answers to our questions about the bus system, local attractions, and more. We had a great visit because of their recommendations and helpfulness.
However, we were sorely disappointed with our private room. BE WARY if your booking says 'This room contains mature content and nudity in the art.' We did not think this would mean photo collages of naked women on every wall - above the bed, in the bathroom, on the mirror...everywhere. Being on our honeymoon, we found this distasteful and appalling...not to mention sketchy. Avoid private room 201 if you do not want this kind of 'decor'.
Also, the front side of the hostel is on a street with many bars and gets loud at night. We were lucky to have rooms at the rear side.
Back to the good parts... great location close to a bus stop, 10 minute walk to Pike Place, and near our Victoria Clipper terminal. Great value for the money, too.

Room Tip: One of the private rooms has photo collages of naked women on every wall - be wary if this is distas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is quite the best hostel in the USA I have ever been to! The staff is very friendly and helpful, I wish every hostel would be like that. The hostel is like 10 minutes from downtown; it's easy to get there with public transport.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#56 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Property: City Hostel Seattle
Address: 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1782
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing