We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“didnt live up to expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“didnt live up to expectations”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Expensive for what we got. Breakfast was poor- as the staff assisting one guest in taking 8 slices of bread so he could have them for lunch and dinner while then there was no bread left for us!! branded as an 'art' hostel but out room was pretty bare. Check in was PAINFUL!! Clean hostel though

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbyrne87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    143
    45
    7
    7
See reviews for
25
95
128
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for three days while vacationing Seattle for the first time. If you want to be close to Pikes Place Market and the Space Needle, this is the place to be. However, if you want to be inside of the city, then it would be a little bit of a walk (about 15-20 min).

Comfort wise, the bed is the standard springy bunk beds you see in any other hostel. However, the place I stayed at didn't have AC so we had to open the windows. Also, since it was at the end of September, it was pretty muggy and raining a lot. The worst part was there were flies flying around in the middle of the room - part of it may have been we opened the windows, but still it was pretty unpleasant sleeping with bugs flying your face.

The breakfast was free and had your usual bagel and cereal. The people there were mostly nice. There was also free wifi and free computers to use. A library with various books and a place to see movies was also there, but I didn't have time to do any of it.

If you are on a budget and want to explore more of northern Seattle, I would suggest going here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend in October, in a dorm room sleeping 4.
The hostel is in a lovely location, surrounded by bars and restaurants, and within walking distance to the Public Market and touristy attractions. Real plus point.
Sinks in the rooms which is nice, and clean toilets and showers. Kitchen on each floor, which was also very clean. Great amenities as a hostel, and good free breakfasts.
Only problem here is the kitchens seem to be open all night, and as our room was right next to it you can hear people in there throughout the night (not sure if they were guests or cleaners, but either way pretty loud and disturbing).
Over all a really cool hostel...really disliked the 'artwork' painted in our room however, and would NOT choose to stay in a room like this again! Sounds really silly, but check photo out to see!...it was blood red orange and black walls, with two creepy figures leering over the beds. A bit weird! However I saw other peoples rooms as I walked past and they looked great...so maybe just bad luck, and not my taste!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ailidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This location was fantastic! The staff was incredibly friendly (even when off the clock, one hung out and played cards with us). They were all so helpful with information about the area and things to do. The public areas were so different in their decorations and was so fun to look around. The location was great as well with easy access to area attractions and transportation. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

It was a great experience to stay that hostel. Even they dont have bathrooms in the rooms, everywhere is so clean. Pictures, wallpaper, paintings and other architectural details are so good. I met with great friends there. Breakfast is enjoyable and the location is great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank el_edebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The staff is great and they are very kind and are always in a good mood. The place has some restaurants quite close. The breakfast is a a little bit short: toasts, cereals and coffee.
The building and the rooms need a very good refusbishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangosdBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Although I stayed only one night, I had the time to take some notes, in short I would say it like this:
++ => security (door, rooms, locker), free really nice breakfast
+ => comfortable bed, common areas, good staff, location
0 => cleanliness of toilets, lack of light in bedroom
- & -- => /

Recommendation: try to be at the end of a corridor: too much noise (inside or outside) if at front.

Room Tip: try to get one room at the end of the corridor (more quiet)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bulbisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#56 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Property: City Hostel Seattle
Address: 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1782
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your City Hostel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing