We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but loud noise from the bars”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hostel Seattle
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The hostel overall is nice and clean. The location is excellent. Walking distance to the pike market. Staff is very friendly and know the area very well. The drawback is there are bars and clubs playing loud noise music. I check in on Saturday night and unable to sleep due to the loud music outside. If you like free music at night. It might be good or you.

Room Tip: Book early! It gets full quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 377 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the City Hostel for 2 nights and we loved it! The rooms are great, the location next to the needle and downtown, the staff was super helpful and there was a free breakfast.
The only thing which didn't really work due to a new system was the wifi.

Make sure you gonna stay there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoergLand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Just returned from a week long stay at City Hostel , Seattle WA. what a great find :)

As i am 53 yrs old i can safely say i am not your " typical " hostel person , but thats ok. I have found that if i want to see , do and eat everything the destination has to offer spending a little less on where i sleep makes it happen.

City Hostel , in Seattle was GREAT , 3 floors of rooms , private and dorm(s) ( mixed and single sex ) all clean clean clean , even with the window open because Seattle was havign unusal warm weather ( sunny and upper 70's - no rain at all ) i didnt see any bugs

Each floor has pleanty of showers available , some just the shower , others just the toilet & sink others are HUGE - toilet / sink and old fashion claw foot style tub with the shower - all spotless clean.

Each floor has a full kitchen ; oven , microwave , fridge & dishwasher :) along with pleanty of storage space. Never once heard any issue of things being missing or used without asking :)

Main floor has computer room , library with tons of books .

Downstaris is the GIANT sitting / party ? area , large screen t.v. ; where FREE breakfast is prepared and easy out to the patio - bar-b-q and hottub , yup :) hot tub , also the movie theatre - large selection of DVDs to watch in a seperate room = theatre seating with large screan t.v. ; neat :) one night was harry potter , next night was best in show - picked by the people who wanted to watch

Easy to walk to the waterfront , pikes place market ( flying fish ) easy access to bus line , Space Needle and dozens of places to eat

Would highly reccomend as a place to stay feeling safe and welcome

Each room is decorated in art work done by artists who had stayed in the past , all was " interesting " , each room different than the one down the hall

Fresh flowers on the desk as you enter and return , such a nice touch

Staff friendly and helpful , know everything about anything you could think to ask questions about

Room Tip: Moved to 3 different rooms , 2 mixed and one single sex - all were fantastic swimming pool and fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7079seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

There is a reason they were voted #1 in North America - they have got it down pat. Super clean rooms, bathrooms and ktichens. New bunkbeds, crisp white sheets. Huge big fluffy towels. And outdoor BBQ and patio. And a library! A great place to stay for a single female - feels bright, open and spacious. Really friendly staff at the desk 24/7 and you get a free breakfast. I wish every hostel was like this!! I totally recommend this place - they were fantastic. 10/10.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room for 4 with a private bathroom. Next time I wouldn't even bother getting a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here in June for a weekend and absolutely loved it! We had a private room with epic artwork and found the bed very comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were also very clean and hygienic. The staff here are so nice and friendly and help so much when we asked what to see around the city and where to eat. When ever they saw us they greeted us with a smile and offered help wherever possible. Only a 10 minutes walk to Pike Place Markets and great shopping too!

While doing our laundry we discovered a movie theatre in the basement with an impressive dvd collection which was a great time filler while waiting for laundry to get done and while it was raining outside.

Breakfasts were great and the dining area is so unique and cosy.

Would definitely recommend this hostel and will 100% stay here again when visiting the amazing city of Seattle.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiccO12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at several places while staying in Seattle. We spent a night at the City Hostel and it was "OK", but not great. We had a private room and it was very clean and affordable. Part of my gripe comes from the fact that a different local artist does each of the rooms. Our artists decided to draw trippy laughing faces on the bottom half and then neon tree leaves on the top half of the room. There were also a bunch of porno magazine 1-900-xxx-xxxx type ads glued on the wall behind the radiator. It definately felt hip and urban, but when it came to reading before going to bed, the overall impact of the art was uneasing.

My second gripe: the complimentary breakfast. It consisted of corn flakes and canned fruit. My wife had some coffee and it tasted like old dish water.

So... it wasn't my cup of tea, but I know others would love it. Also, it's clean, safe and affordable and down in Belltown which is a very lively / hoping place at night.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Great location near Pike's Market and the Space Needle. Friendly staff. My husband and I stayed in a charming private room with a bath. It was a bit noisy during the night with people coming and going but that's to be expected in a Hostel. The complimentary breakfast was weak--it consisted of cereal, toast, and coffee. Juice would have been a easy, nice addition. Overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahan25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,068 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#55 of 103 in Seattle
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hostel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hostel Seattle

Address: 2327 2nd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1782
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Seattle
Price Range: $37 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
City Hostel Seattle Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing