We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great, Beer is better”

Naked City Taphouse
Ranked #969 of 4,169 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is great, Beer is better”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

So some friends of mine just moved to Seattle a few months back and we went to visit them. They took us around a lot of the tourist type places, Pikes, Bainbridge... etc. But I had one request while I was there, I wanted to go to Naked City Brewpub. I had seen the construction come together on a home brewing website and wanted to see it for myself. Honestly, it was totally the beer nerd in me and nothing else.
We went to quite a few breweries while in Seattle, none of them compared to Naked City. The beers, we tried almost all the ones they brew, were outstanding. And the food was surprisingly good as well. We ordered the hot pretzel, the fried olives, the marinated beef tip cubes (they have a name, can't remember it) the pickled veggie plate... and that was just appetizers. All great. We also had a vegetarian with us who went nuts over the portabello burger. And my wife got the special of the day... Mussels in a Cider broth... unbelievably good.
The service was friendly, the whole vibe of the place was just cool. We sat outside and it was very relaxed.
I think I found my friends their new favorite bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GKE6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    16
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
1,838 reviews
1,121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Beer Garden”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

They make 9 different beers of their own but have different beers on tap. They have sample flights. I went on a Saturday and the street was closed. They had a live band performing in the street.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autumn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Drink Naked!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Was in town on business, but as a beer geek love to check out breweries/brew pubs. Went on a Sunday night and had a couple beers. I think the first was a mistake, I think the line was incorrect or something, was nothing like what I'd ordered. But, I love all good beer, so I didn't really care too much. Second beer was a Naked City beer, it was good but I don't think it really conformed to the style guidelines. Again it was good, just not what was expected.

Ate a pulled pork sandwich and fries that were very good.

All in all - good pub fare, good beer. I would certainly give it another shot if I'm ever back in town.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astebelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, good drink”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My wife and I met our daughter and her friend at this brewhouse for dinner. Nice atmosphere and plenty of brews on tap. Limited food selection but their food was done right. Not too loud and a place you can bring the kids. we were there from 7:00 PM to 9:30 PM.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roadmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great beer, good food, meh ambiance”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Naked City has great beer. Many rotating taps, their own brews, great local micros, and a decent selection of bottles. It must be great, because you can't get in the place on Friday or Saturday nights. That is unless you want to wait an hour or two for a table to open up. We finally gave up and went at 4:00pm in the afternoon to be able to sit at a table. The food is pretty darn good, too. A step or so above your average bar food, with things like a carmelized onion brisket sandwich, with a killer horseradish sauce. Or a meatloaf sandwich with a kick that will open your sinuses and make you drink a lot more beer. (A nefarious plot, no doubt). But the atmosphere is just meh. One long narrow side is devoted to tables for families (lots of moms, dads, and strollers when we were there). And the adult-only side is the bar and a row of high tables. Really not all that comfy or particularly appealing. But if you're just there for the beer, I guess you don't care about atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaeRSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naked City Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Naked City Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing