We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Olivar - CLOSED

Olivar
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Broadway / Capitol Hill
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

Warm atmosphere and unique great food, exellent service. A real treat.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindamonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If I die tonight I'll die happy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

I'm not sure why we've not been here before. What a beautiful dining experience with friends familiar with Spain and Spanish food. Lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadykatherineSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“Good Local Write-up, Mediocre Local Experience ~~”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Used to be a Russian restaurant, but is now Spanish oriented, on Capital Hill
here in Seattle. Enticing local write up lured us here on a Saturday night.
Small space, nicely placed tables, though bare topped instead of linen laced.
Wine list only, though did notice a martini being delivered to a nearby table;
queried and learned that there is a small stash of whiskey and vodka, which is
not advertised. Ordered the lobster bisque. Flavourful, though thin, with some
lobster chunks at the bottom. Also had the lamb meaballs; VERY salty, couldn't
finish them. The Spanish ham small starter was magnificent, and also the bread and olives available as a starter. Had a grand Spanish wine which saved the night, as
the desserts were stale, perhaps as aftermath of the recent snow storm, I wonder?
Will try this place again, however, as the service was superb; truly caring and
genuine concerned that our evening should be excellent.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
18 Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Significantly below expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We were looking forward to dining at Olivar on a recent special occasion and had high expectations for an excellent experience. Our expectations were way too high.

When we entered the restaurant at 6 PM there were only a few diners.
We each started on a high note with a delicious bowl of parsnip soup - creamy flavorful with just the right amount of white truffle oil. The problem was that it arrived at our table 1 hour after we were seated.

The next dishes arrived about 30 minutes later - duck breast and a butternut squash cannollini. They were ordinary at best. The duck was tasty but the fat had not been rendered and the skin was fatty and not crispy. The carrot flan was tasteless. The cannollini was not seasoned well. It was bland.

At that point the server was advised that we had to be out of the restaurant by 7:45 to meet another obligation. Dessert (baked apple) was brought to the table promptly but the "crust" was burned and the burnt taste carried through to the rest of the dish. The cinnamon ice cream was very good.

Olivar is noisy

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barchey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

My husband and I dined here with our cousins for my birthday during our vacation to the city. What a surprise and a treat! The restaurant was in the coziest neighborhood and the atmosphere inside was just as welcoming and warm with rustic wood and hand painted murals on the walls. The food was so delicious and the portions were very generous for small plates. We all walked out feeling stuffed and really satisfied. Our next visit will include a stop here for sure, thanks for a wonderful birthday experience.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillygirlatheart14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing