We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“This is a great hotel!”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

If you are going to Seattle and need a place to stay in the university district, try the Hotel Deca. It has great rooms, is centrally located and the staff is fabulous! It was one of the nicest hotels I have been to in a long time (and I travel a lot) and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wnilsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Thanks for recognizing our wonderful staff. They really are what makes Hotel Deca such a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    411
    183
    104
    76
See reviews for
295
314
127
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I booked our room through Priceline and after I read some reviews and warned my husband we may be in a double bed. He said he didn't care. Well we arrived after a day of travel and had a speedy and friendly checkin and then up to our room. We had a corner room on the 4th floor with a king bed and a chaise and free internet. We were very pleased with our room but were hungry as it was 9 p.m. and went downstairs and the desk clerk directed us to the lounge. We received great service from the bartender and delicious food. My husband had a homemade chicken pot pie which is a treat after a day of traveling. We slept great as the bed was very comfortable and it was not noisy at all and it was Saturday night so I don't know what some of the comments are about. In the morning we went downstairs for breakfast based on the referral of the bartender and once again a great meal and really friendly service. Checkout was simply pay for our parking and out the door. I can say we will stay here again as it was very close to great shopping and we really enjoyed the decor and atmosphere as well as the pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caveman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
I’m glad you all discovered the chicken pot pie in The District restaurant. It’s my favorite thing on our menu. We change the menu every month, but it’s one of the few items we never take off because it’s so popular.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We have stayed at The Deca many (8?) times in the past year, and we've also tried the other motel/hotel options around the UW campus. The Deca is the best option in the UW campus area. The rooms are quiet, and the windows open. There are decent views from the upper floors. Nothing fancy, and personally I'm not a fan of the "pedestal" antique sink style where you don't have any counter space, but with that minor "complaint", the rest is fine. After trying several spots in the area, The Deca is definitely the best for us when visiting our UW student. (Hey, if you're not going to the UW then why are you looking outside of Downtown Seattle in the first place!)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOPADRESGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
We really appreciate your loyalty to Hotel Deca. And you’ll be pleased to know that the pedestal sinks will be replaced as part of our upcoming guest room refresh. Will we see you back in July when the Padres play the Mariners?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This is a nice, reasonably priced option in the U-District. The staff was really accommodating, the decor is tasteful and the rooms are large with comfortable beds. Won't blow your socks off but it's great for what you pay for!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank septemberfalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thanks – but I wish we had blown your socks off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I always look forward to my stay at Hotel Deca. I've been going there for years, and their service always exceeds expectations. The Hotel Deca folks goes out of their way to make sure they do everything to insure your comfort. They are very accommodating in every way possible. The quality of service and caring comes from everyone you meet, including accounting, the front desk, housekeeping, the dining area....everywhere. You always feel so welcome. The rooms are reasonably priced. Rooms are great if you are traveling on business. There is a wonderful lounge area downstairs with a fireplace. Close to the University of Washington.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveler2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
A BIG Thank You from our entire team for the kudos. It’s not often that Accounting gets a mention!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is the second time we've gotten a room rate through Priceline for this hotel. Each time, at check-in, the really friendly and nice staff person has upgraded our room to a corner room with a fabulous view for no extra charge! Each time, the room has been beautifully appointed with extremely comfortable beds and linens. The location is perfect and it is easy to walk to the U-District's many restaurants and bars. Also convenient if you have a car and want to explore Capital Hill or other great Seattle neighborhoods.

First time we stayed was by chance, second time by choice. We can't wait until we can stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluva21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thank you for your loyalty. We know the value of our return guests. A bit of trivia – every room at Hotel Deca is a “corner room”. Each room is attached to a central core that creates 12 different corners around the building. When it was built back in 1931 it won several design awards for its unique architecture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Picked this hotel from a list online through American Airlines Vacations. You never know what to expect when you are picking a hotel site unseen online. We were very pleased with the room and the staff. It was conveniently located to get to the university hospital. The lady that checked us in was very professional and nice. Our registration was entered late, we made last minute reservations to visit someone at the hospital, and since we had to wait a few minutes (less than 5) they gave us free parking. Couldn't ask for better service or nicer staff. The room was very clean with comfortable beds for sleeping. The bathroom was very small, no counter, but was clean and had a deep tub for a hot bath! The room was warm and comfortable. The free wi-fi was great and we had no problems accessing it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
decadon, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 21, 2011
Thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm a little biased, but I truly believe we have the best staff in town! They make it a not only a great place to stay, but a great place to work. I really appreciate your recognizing their efforts. All the best for a wonderful New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
University Motel Suites
#72 of 101 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing