We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel in the University District”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hip Hotel in the University District”
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We planned a 2 night trip to Seattle for my birthday and choose the Hotel Deca at the last minute. Having never been to Seattle we were under the impression it was close to downtown (we planned on doing all the touristy stuff, space needle, pike place market, etc.) and planned on walking to get to these hot spots. Well, it's not doable from this location. Had we done our research we would've found out this hotel is on the other side of town. However, the hotel had a complimentary shuttle that was very convenient and if the shuttle wasn't available for our desired times, the bus was just a short walk away. This hotel is super close to U of W and would be perfect for parents, or someone who is looking to visit the university. There were a ton of cute little shops within walking distance of the hotel and a good variety of places to eat. The district lounge is in the basement of the hotel and the food was great. The only con about this hotel is the walls were thin, we could hear the plumbing from rooms near to us and the vents also carried a decent amount of sound, not a huge con, but for some, it may be. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L15nene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    408
    181
    101
    74
See reviews for
289
311
127
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Hotel Deca is easy to find from I-5. Checking in was easy enough and the staff were helpful and forthcoming with information.
Our room was a junior suite that faced west toward the Olympic Mountains. It wasn't really a suite in the true sense but a large room with an adequate bathroom. We lucked out with the weather. Sunny, crisp temperatures with splendid sunsets visible from our room.
The internet worked fine, some slight noise from our neighbor's tv but not enough to be a bother, shuttle worked out well for us, the parking is free, and the staff was wonderful.
I do have an issue with the shower water temperature varying when used elsewhere. Someone could get scalded if you don't realize how to accomodate for it. We were told that improvements are in the near future.
Didn't see anything sleazy about the neighborhood. Lots of little hole in the wall restaurants with great food, good portions and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodToGo541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, OR
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I was woken by people talking while waiting for the elevator and could hear person next door move their shower curtain!
Bathroom smelled like a wet sweatsock after I showered. And then, I stepped on what I hope to god was a crumbled chocolate cookie left by a previous occupant near the base of the bed. Gross.

The neighborhood by day is fine, but at night, its scary. I stepped out for a bite and saw a guy cleaning his crack pipe and got offered drugs twice, all within 2 blocks of the hotel.

The lobby looks cool, but don't read a book by the cover.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We've tried most of the hotels in the University District over the last 10 years. Hotel Deca suits us the best. Close proximithy to U. of Washington, sparkling clean, pleasant and helpful staff, and fun decorations. Best value in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegeMom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2010

I'm pretty sure that my trip to the Deca was the exception not the rule (at least I'm hoping.) Getting there we weren't offered any help with our bags, which wouldn't be a big deal if we didn't have suitcases and duffel bags that we had to maneuver down a ramp and then up to our hotel room.
Front Desk Staff was friendly, but not knowledgeable about local sites or places to eat. We pretty much had to rely on Yelp for that.
The room LOOKED nice. But the bathroom sink didn't work properly, and when looked closer, there were dead bugs and paint chips scattered next to the window. And when I moved a chair to sit closer to the desk, I found a pair of DIRTY UNDERWEAR (obviously not mine nor my boyfriend's.)
The maid took at least 15 minutes to get up to our room to pick them up.
The front desk sent up a bottle of wine and continental breakfast vouchers as apology for the room, but I honestly would have preferred being moved to a different (clean) room.

I wish I could say I recommend this hotel, but I don't. While staff was friendly, they were not helpful and while the room was lovely, it was unclean.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
194 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is one of a few hotels near U of Wash. in Seattle University district. Stayed here because of the location- 5 blocks from campus and got the upgrade to the Sky Level suite. Well, it isn't a suite and the room's a little funky, but still a good place. I particularly like the art deco theme and some of the decorations are neat. Would stay here again, but only cause I want to be near the campus.

Check out the District Lounge if you want to hear some jazz- guitars both nites I was there.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank costaricagregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco ca usa
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

After a summer of traveling around the world from Bangkok to Bali to Buenos Aires and staying in all sorts of hotels I would rate the Deca very near to the top- We got a great deal on the room and couldn't have been happier. Everything about the hotel was super
Would recommend this place and would surely stay there again

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pisco47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
72 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing