We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall grade A+”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 17, 2009

Forget the quirks of an old building (which I personally find charming!) because the staff more than make up for any small deficiencies. They were truly fabulous! There's a young man at the front desk that knows more about the local restaurant scene than any 5-star conceirge at the fru-fru hotels we've stay at. And the shuttle drivers know just about everything there is to know about Seattle and are so polite. We were in town for our neice's wedding and it was wonderful. The ballroom was beautiful, the food at the reception was delicious, and the service attentive. We had a room with a lovely view of the Space Needle, a comfy bed, and it was very clean. Overall grade A+!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianSuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2009

I recently stayed at the Hotel Deca because we were dropping off my little sis at college. I would have to say that it is one of the best Seattle hotels around. This hotel was in a great location and even though it was a little more expensive then usual hotels, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

I would reccomend this hotel with some reservations. It was stylish, had some of the necessarys like internet, etc. and the beds were super comfy. HOWEVER, it was fairly far from where I wanted to sightsee. If visitng the University only it would be perfect but everywhere else is a hike. The staff was friendly enough but not particularly helpful in addressing two concerns I had. I heard there was a free shuttle from a friend that lives in Seattle not from the staff. Next time I visit, I will pay more for a better location.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravelerat40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I travel semi-frequently to Seattle (3 to 5 times a year) to visit friends and my daughter, who attends the University of Washington. I usually stay at the University Inn, a sort of plain-vanilla hotel near campus with nice amenities, a great staff and spacious rooms. This last trip they were booked and the only near-campus option I had was the Hotel Deca. I booked myself a room and then looked at the trip advisor reviews here, prior to my flight. I was alarmed by some of the negative ones but I discovered they were unfounded. No hotel is perfect, but Hotel Deca is a solid choice for travelers interested in staying in or near the University District.

PROS:
1. The bed - the mattress and pillows on my king-sized bed were unusually comfortable, and I'm a picky traveler. In fact, I had a better night's sleep at Deca than I've had at many five-star spa hotels.
2. Other room amenities I enjoyed: Flat screen TV, windows that actually open for fresh air (be alert, if traveling with little children) free wireless internet.
3. The food in the basement-level restaurant, which is also the room-service kitchen, is surprisingly great. I ate breakfast in the restaurant and it was really upscale, fresh and delicious. Room service was prompt, also excellent, and not as costly as it could have been.
4. Staff - Every single employee I came into contact with was friendly, warm and helpful.
5, Location - Right on 45th and Brooklyn Ave - a great intersection with pedestrian traffic, shops, bus lines, etc. This is a bustling, student-oriented little pocket of Seattle. The guests in the hotel were divided between business travelers, academic visitors and families of students coming to UW for the new semester. Oh, and for what it's worth, a few other guests at the hotel were cast members from "The Real Housewives of Orange County." Ha - that's either a plus or a minus, depending on your tastes...
6. Free use of the desktop computers and printer in the lobby. - I didn't bring my laptop and made use of both.
7. Free shuttle rides - wherever I wanted to go.

CONS
1. Bathrooms are smallish.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAnthropic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

Hotel is trying to be "artsy" but instead is decorated cheaply . We smelled pot coming through the AC vents. The staff was very nice and friendly , but the location of the hotel and the patrons are less than appealing. Everytime I walked outside my room I felt like I was surrounded by thugs and gangstas.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gomez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

As I write this, I am sitting in a room that smells of smoke and trying not to listen to the loud sex noises of my neighbors through the very thin walls. I made a bad choice to stay here. With so many other hotels in Seattle, I could have done way better for the price. The pictures make it look nicer than it actually is. The location is good and the staff is helpful enough.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
2  Thank 19aml75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Hotel has a very helpful reservation department--very courteous--only problem when we arrived at the hotel for a 10 day stay (medical treatment) the suite we were promised was NOT available! We were given a room and they moved us the next afternoon. The room was spacious but never up to hotel standards for cleanliness I didn't think. Coffee shop: In the area known for its great coffee--Tullys didn't make the grade! Next trip I'll return to the University Inn--very accommodating and CLEAN!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anguilla-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $214 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing