We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel Near Campus”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #62 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel Near Campus”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This is the perfect location for any kind of visit to the University of Washington main campus. You can easily walk to much of campus, or the hotel will provide a free shuttle up to 4 miles away. It's just one block from the infamous University Ave, known simply as "the Ave." And if traffic allows, you're only a 10 to 15 minute drive to downtown Seattle. Our room was spotlessly clean, the cleaning service was excellent, and the front desk staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in a corner king room, and my wife especially liked lolling in the chaise by the large picture windows. We stayed both Friday and Saturday nights, and never heard any noise. Yes, we'll come back here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacinMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear MacinMac,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am thrilled that you had such an enjoyable visit. The entire team loves to read reviews like yours because it continues to keep our juices flowing. We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    408
    181
    101
    74
See reviews for
289
312
127
393
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

A co-worker and I stayed at Hotel Deca over a three day period while attending a training at Univ. of Washington, which is nearby. From the moment we checked in with the charming desk clerk, our stay was impeccable. Our room had a lovely bay style window with a chaise lounge. From one side, we could glimpse Mt. Ranier in the distance. The beds were comfortable and well appointed, and the room had ample plugs for all our gadgets and computers. We were on a restricted floor, so someone had to show us the unusual key slot in the elevator to access our floor, but other than that, there were no hiccups. Parking in their lot was very affordable and easily accessible. The bathroom was a little small, but quite nice. This is an older building that has been redecorated and updated to accommodate wi-fi needs, etc. I would book here again without bothering to look at other hotels next time I'm in Seattle. Great job, Hotel Deca!

Room Tip: I would select a room on the restricted floor again - no noise, and a thoroughly pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystralle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Mystralle,

I am so happy you found the hotel to be so comfortable and the staff provided such great service. We also love the word impeccable. Compliments definitely do not get much better than that. We have an amazing team at the hotel and we strive to treat every guest to the highest level of comfort and care. It makes us really appreciate what we do when we learn that we succeeded in that effort.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed here recently while on a business trip to Seattle and was very pleased. The location is right near the UW locus and great for walking. Rooms were nicely updated, very clean and comfortable. Mine was a little on the tiny side compared to some others I've experienced in this price range, but certainly didn't take away from its comfort.

Staff were helpful, wifi good as one would expect in Seattle. The off-street parking was a huge plus but does cost a bit extra. Not a deal breaker and they didn't complain when I overstayed a bit on check out day.

I will stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend it wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for a room higher up. If space is important, discuss room size with clerk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank orbd58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello orbd58,

Thank you for your review. We are all very excited to see that you found the hotel to be comfy. We are about to get even more comfy because we are going to renovate our lobby and public spaces to create a truly enjoyable overall experience.

Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We were very pleased from the reservation process through check out. We requested an upgrade on a Tuesday night and the staff accommodated happily. For a very reasonable amount, we ended up at the top of the hotel with a fantastic view of the city and campus. Meghan helped me surprise my husband with gourmet donuts and decorations for his birthday Wednesday morning. The service from the concierge was really good. The front desk staff was also helpful with assisting my sister and her family with parking when they stopped by to visit. The bar was pretty swanky and looked like it might be a little livelier on a weekend. We were here for a campus tour and picked it for proximity. Now we wouldn't stay anywhere else near campus! Thank you Hotel Deca for a first-class experience!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hoppie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Hoppie_12,

I am so glad you ahd such an amazing visit to the hotel. We absolutly love to help make special occasions even more memorable. Meghan was so excited to be part of your husbands special day. Hopefully we can make this an annual event. We would love to be part of future celebrations.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

There is nothing wrong about just right. A clean and comfortable bed, the room was in good shape. Overall a little on the older side but that's not a complaint. Close to the university, I walked to class. Parking was provided,that's a plus. A limited restaurant but the food was always great.
Pros.. Clean, good price, great food.
Cons..no fridge, small rooms and restaurant.
I will be there again at the end of the month.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Hello Paul L,

Thank you for your reveiw. I am glad that you will be here at the end of the month because I want to change the "just alright" comment to "amazing"!! I think we can do it so please feel free to reach out to me directly to ensure we have everything you need in the room to make your stay fantastic.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
206.658.2372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I LOVED the Hotel Deca. The rooms were beautiful and clean. The bed was super comfortable! They offer free wifi and a free shuttle to some locations, which was fantastic - I had a gorgeous girl called Kelsey drive me Downtown, she was very kind and very helpful. The staff were extremely friendly. I would HIGHLY recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perth_traveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear perth_traveller24,

We LOVE you too!!! What a fantastic review. Thank you so much. We also passed on your comments to Kelsey. I assure you she was thrilled to read your comment. She is an amazing ambassador for our hotel so it is great to see her effort recognized on Trip Advisor.

We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

A bit more expensive then other hotels but perfect location if staying at u of wa tower or top of university road. I would stay there again. The rooms have a good view, but if the view is important to you - make certain you ask for such. Parking is an add on cost - but relatively worth it for the proportional cost and awkwardness of parking in the region. Good place to stay and walk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
NurseMD,

Thank you for your review. I have to agree that our views are amazing. Not many hotels in Seattle offer the jaw dropping views that we offer. It is always good to ask for a room with a view or to ensure you get an amazing view I always recommend reserving a sky level room. It is worth every penny.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#71 of 100 in Seattle
72 reviews
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#32 of 100 in Seattle
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing