We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Hotel in Seattle”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Hotel Deca for three days in September. It is a very neat Hotel with great beds, nice employees and an overall good vibe. We utilized the free shuttle and went to Pike's Market and other downtown locations. This saved a ton of money on cab fare but please remember to schedule the shuttle early and tip the driver. Find a different place to have breakfast (like Costas) two blocks away but do have a cocktail at the District Lounge!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbbieIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,258 - 1,264 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2008

In the past, this hotel has offered free parking and free continental breakfast (all of the other local university hotels offer this) but not currently. The staff did not seem to know about the basic amenities of the hotel, and our room was very small. I would expect much better from a boutique hotel

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

after seeing pictures of the hotel and its new renovations i was expecting more than what was actually there. but overall i cant complain its a pretty good location, no problems with staff, and respectably clean . if your planning a long term visit i would probably advice somewhere else but for a quick trip hotel deca was perfectly acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I must say I was a bit apprehensive after reading the posts here, but I can happily report our recent stay at Hotel Deca was very good.

We are a family of 4, with one 3 yr old toddler and a 6 week old newborn. The hotel room was large enough for us, although the bathroom was tight.

The room was clean and the hotel staff were great, contrary to some posts reported here. I know experiences can vary from person to person, but I have no issues with this hotel. $6 parking at the hotel was a good deal as well. This hotel is well-located within minutes of downtown and the Woodland Park Zoo (our primary destination).

Our PL bargain at $60 a night also helped.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BumbleBeeTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

The suite was smaller than most normal hotel rooms, it was over $300 a night, the staff was rude, there was hair and gunk in the shower, plus empty cheap liquor bottles in the closet. I will never stay here again.
We arrived at the hotel around 2 pm. The front desk wouldn't let us check in, since check in time started at 3. It was a sunny day, so we cheerfully left & went to walk around the U of W campus next door. When we returned a couple hours later, we were given a room on the 4th floor. It was the Junior Suite we were supposed to have, but we had been promised (and paid for) a room on an upper floor (those are the ones with a view). Our room looked out on a parking lot, and we had no view of the water or the city. I went back to the front desk, and they told me all the good suites had been given out earlier - we checked in too late to get one. I tried to explain that we had tried to check in earlier, but were turned away. But the hotel was full, and the clerk was unyielding & snotty.
The room was very cramped and small for a suite. There was no bureau, unless you count the 20" tall plastic bin with drawers in the closet. Also in the closet - two empty four-packs of cheap wine coolers. The bathtub had long dark hairs in it (we have short light hair), plus a patch of slimy moldy stuff. The acoustics of the bathroom vents are such that you can clearly hear other people in the bathrooms above/below you. Presumably, they can hear you too – all sounds are transmitted & shared. And I mean all.
The continental breakfast was inattentively served. Very slow to refill coffee cups, lots of fingerprints on the plates & silverware, had to ask repeatedly for things like coffee cream. We got to enjoy hearing the servers insult one another & fight over tips & complain about management. The food was OK, but the ambiance & poor service ruined it.
The sofa bed in our room hadn’t been made up (although we had requested it in advance), and when I called housekeeping they acted like I was making an unreasonable request. Someone finally came threw some sheets on the bed. But no blankets or pillows – that took another call, and another long wait.
We never got more than the initial, single bar of soap. We had to again call & ask for a new bar. How hard it is to put a new bar of soap in the room when you clean it?
Beware the rooms by the ice machines/elevators – both cause a lot of noise.
The lobby is indeed very pretty, parking is convenient, and the U of W is a stone’s throw away. But I would rather sleep in the gutter with the raving homeless people than stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

I was a bit worried that it looked very trendy and boutique like from the website pictures so I wondered if it would live up to its images. It did. I was first greeted by Eric (aka Charlie) the bellman. He was extremely helpful and friendly. It was from him that I found out that the hotel had a free shuttle for locations approx. 5 miles from the hotel.
The decor was eclectic to say the least but it worked. A fire in the fireplace was a nice touch, except Seattle was experiencing a heat wave at the time. The elevators aren't huge but they work, interesting treatment with the decor, faux leather around the grab bars, a mirror and blue cut velvet. My room was on the 7th floor and had a great view out of the bay style window. I could see portions of downtown and the space needle. The room was clean with a European feel, especially the duvet on the bed and variety of pillows. The in room decor was nice too. The room was quiet enough, I could hear the neighbors water running if I was in the bathroom but there was nothing that disturbed my sleep. There was a large flat screen t.v. and also a dvd player. I did not try the internet connection so I can't report on that.
The hotel is in the University area so it is a fairly easy walk to campus. The area around it is okay, a bit grungy but nothing out of the ordinary for an urban academic area. It is also close to the water and some really nice walking/riding trails.
I was staying at a conference rate, so I don't know what the regular rate is but it was worth what I ended up paying. Enjoy your stay if you go. (BTW - I took the hotel shuttle downtown to the Westin and was able to walk down to Pike Place Market and the Space Needle.)

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

Hotel Deca is located close to the University of Washington and near Lake Union. It offers a free shuttle to other parts of Seattle and from the airport. Rooms are comfortable. The night we were there the pianist in the very pleasant downstairs lounge was outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MaryBWashingtonDCUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,594 reviews
University District
The College Inn
The College Inn
#95 of 104 in Seattle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $191 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing