We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here alone for two nights while tending to some business at the University of Washington. The best thing about this hotel has to be its location, mere blocks from the northwest corner of the UW campus.

I arrived late at night via Shuttle Express in the middle of a rainstorm (yep, Seattle). I was tired and hungry. Fortunately, The Ave (University Way NE) is only a block from the hotel and hosts myriad late-night dining options. I returned to my room (401) and got situated. You can tell that the building was built in the 1930s, but the 2007 renovations keep the interior feeling contemporary.

The closet was pretty simple, with a pull chain light switch and a curtain (rather than doors) separating the closet from the room. Sufficient enough for me. The bathroom was a little confined, but I wasn't looking to spend a whole lot of time in there anyway. As far as I can remember, all the furniture was nice enough to keep me comfortable throughout my stay.

My only minor complaint during my stay was the noise level. Perhaps it's a byproduct of a 1930s building, but the doors and windows were thin. 401 is right next to the elevator, so I could hear sounds outside my door. On the other end of the room, through the not-fully insulated windows, I heard someone fire up a leaf blower at 6:20am on a Wednesday. My suggestion? Ask for a higher floor and maybe one away from the elevator lobby.

I was able to explore The Ave the next 2 days as well as some of the UW campus. I liked that I was able to go to campus, come back, go grab a bubble tea, come back, go grab dinner, come back, etc. All without feeling like I was ever going out of my way to go back to my room. I never got a chance to visit the University Village shopping center (easily could have walked there), but I wanted more to explore the unique areas of the University District than shop at stores found in any mall in the US. I can't reiterate how great Hotel Deca's location is. With only my feet (and Shuttle Express) as my transportation this trip, Hotel Deca was perfect for me. It was also nice to come back to a lobby that smelled like coffee every time (Tully's is conveniently attached to the hotel).

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank KCKC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear KCKC2,

Thank you for your incredibly detailed review. I am not sure what else to say but thank you for choosing us. It sounds like we made a fantastic first impression and a lifelong fan. Thank you so much.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

714 - 720 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2013

I booked via Hotwire and was very pleasantly surprised when we checked in! Friendly staff, clean, nice rooms and great location in the city. It was close to the interstate and we got anywhere we needed within 20 minutes! The coffee shop in the lobby is amazing! Booking via Hotwire can always be a little nerve wracking because you never know what you will get, but this was amazing. I would stay here again and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Seattle.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view!! Amazing - especially at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hello Alexa W,

“Awesome” seems to be the word of choice lately for so many of our guests. I LOVE IT!!! Thank you so much for your incredible review. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to tell our future guests about our amazing hotel. It sounds like we may have made a guest for life.

Please come back and visit us anytime.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I have stayed here 3 times in the last year. Each time I attended a concert at the Neptune which is across the street. The location for visiting the University of Washington or attending a show at the Neptune is perfect! The Hotel Deca is fun, funky and comfortable! Parking is easy, access to I5 is close and University Village shopping is also very near.

Room Tip: Just stayed in room 608-- large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetboar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Chetboar,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad you continue to choose to stay with us during your visits to the Neptune. We are a perfect location for that venue. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have stayed here over and over again. This property, although not the newest in town, is going through a facelift. We love the staff and the experience every time we visit. Would love to see a better food/bar/restaurant option as the potential is there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Hello Alen F,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our amazing team. I have had the privilege of running a number of hotels and I have never worked with a more dedicated group of people. They are a wonderful team. I also want to thank you for your comments about the restaurant downstairs. Our Food and Beverage partner always enjoys hearing feedback so that he can create the most amazing experiences for our guests.

Thank you again.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My stay at this hotel was definitely solid. It's right in the middle of Seattle's University district, which made getting to things downtown quick and easy regardless if I was busing or driving myself. The rooms are classy, the rooms make you want to stay in and just grab a coffee from the shop downstairs. There's also great restaurants and shopping immediately around the hotel, so you don't have to go far for anything you need- I highly recommend Portage Bay for lunch. The staff was definitely a delight- Bronte was professional and great to talk to. Next time I need accommodations in Seattle, I'm coming back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogueLegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear RogueLegend,

Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are so glad you had such an enjoyable visit to the hotel and found the rooms extremely comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Right by the Ave in the UDistrict in Seattle. It's great whether for Business or Graduation at University of Washington. We did stay on the weekend of UW vs Oregon and there was some noise but nothing unexpected on such a buzzing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZenMaster852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear ZenMaster852,

Thank you so much your fantastic review. We are all thrilled that we continue to create such wonderful memories for you and your family. I hope we will see you soon for your fourth visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ok, I know this sounds crazy but when you travel across the country and through two time zones it would be really great it the chamber staff were required to fix the clocks in the hotel rooms after daylight savings. It's confusing enough trying to figure out the time!!!!

Hotel Deca sweet and clean. Ask for corner room away from elevators. The higher you go the better the view. Affordable and close to UW campus. Loads of parents with their student offspring around so it must be a favorite among alumni too.

We visited for a week because of a wedding on campus. Loved being able to walk every where!

Take public transport to down town ...parking and traffic are a challenge in Seattle.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have beveled semi circle windows. Ours looked out on Mt rainier...really neat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Annie C,

Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad you found most of your experience to be enjoyable. Our entire team strives to create truly fantastic experience for our guests so it is always fun to read when we have met this expectation. I am also so glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from the hotel. Although we are not right in Downtown Seattle, our location allows us to have some of the best views of any hotel in Seattle.

Now as far as the clocks go, I could not agree more. The day after day lights savings our housekeeping team went to the guest rooms to ensure the clocks had been changed to reflect daylight savings. Clearly we missed a couple so we are rechecking every room to ensure the clocks are corrects. Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,594 reviews
University District
The College Inn
The College Inn
#95 of 104 in Seattle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $191 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing