We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, location, price”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Deca on two occasions and both were great stays. On both occasions we were able to check in early upon arrival, which was extremely helpful. It's located in the University District, but the metro stop is 2 blocks away, cheap and very easy to use (theres an app for your smart phone as well). We were able to navigate the city quite easily. There was also a shuttle available on a first come, first serve basis. As for the rooms, the linens were clean and the bed was comfy. We didn’t mind that the rooms were small - we were in Seattle to enjoy the city not hang out in the rooms! The staff is knowledgeable and accommodating. Extra points for a Tully's coffee shop in the lobby! Would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Margarete H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Margarete H,

Great hotel, location, price…not sure how to add to that. I am so glad you enjoyed your trip. We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,389)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

751 - 757 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited Seattle over the Memorial Day weekend and had a very nice time. The hotel was in the University District which took us out of the touristy area that has it's positives. Great coffee shop and breakfast up the street. Couple of blocks away from a supermarket made it easy to stock up on snacks...and wine! Getting to the main points of interest was easy by our rental car and the shuttle provided by the hotel. The only thing that was a bit disappointing is also a bit personal... it was part of a honeymoon trip and even though I shared that information with the front desk, they made no mention of it or did anything special, which was unfortunate. That said, I filled out my review (that is sent by hotel) and manager contacted me immediately and took the time to hear about our visit.

I would recommend this place...

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank veebeewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hi veebeewhy,

First of all, very fun TripAdvisor name. I see a number of these and fun names always make me chuckle.

I am so sorry that we did not make an attempt to highlight your special occasion. We normally take great pride in doing everything we can to make a special trip as special as possible. It is such an honor that you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon so it disappoints me we did not go out of our way to make you night even more amazing. I am glad the manager reached out to you. I will make sure our staff understands the importance of recognizing special occasions and feel empowered to do what is necessary to make the event fantastic.

Thank you again. Hopefully we will see you on your first anniversary as well.

Thank you and CONGRATULATIONS!

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I often find boutique hotels lack warm service, but not the case here, very eager to help, and all the staff very friendly, rooms very small but nearly all rooms are in Seattle boutiquey hotels.
Tully's coffee bar in hotel is wonderful to have, hotel breakfast a little limited but good value. Lobby very nice and comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pheephox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Pheephox,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your visit. I am so pleased that you found the staff to be warm and helpful. We try very hard to make our guests feel at home. Traveling can be difficult so we want to you be comfortable and know that we truly cared that you chose to stay with us.

Please come back soon.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is unique in it's decor and the staff is tremendous! You must see their website to get the idea. http://www.hoteldeca.com/ It is in the University District of Seattle, which is a little downfall if you want to sight-see in the city. Unless you rent a car, you must take a city bus or arrange for a shuttle from the hotel to take you anywhere. The shuttle is not always available. The hotel itself is nice but old. The room I stayed in was okay but the bathroom was very small, not likely to pass AAA's standards. The bathtub must have been original to the hotel it was very deep and stained. Clean, but stained. The beds were very comfortable. The room was clean. There was a restaurant in the bottom floor (very good) and a coffee shop (Tully's) next to the lobby. there is a fitness room but no pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kak3et
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear kak3et,

Thank you for your review and for taking the time to point out our tremendous staff. I truly believe that we have one of the best teams in all of Seattle. Our goal is to create amazing experiences so we are thrilled when we learn we have met or exceeded that goal. I will make sure the staff reads your review.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were able to get a package from Orbitz that included car, flight & this hotel. Nice place in the University District. Boutique hotel, so not like a chain. Good service. Parking lot cost extra & spaces very small, but it's nice not to have to worry about parking. Lots to do walking around here is you are a walker. Trails and waterfront nearby. Nice Art Museum at the University. Lots of restaurants around. Coffee shop downstairs was convenient and friendly. Staff at hotel very hospitable, helpful & friendly as well. Exercise room downstairs...a bit larger than a closet, but 2 treadmills and a few other pieces if you need a quick workout. Good value for the $$$

Room Tip: Our room was on a lower floor & we sometimes walked the stairs. Their elevator requires use of y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Hello Lynn D,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are so thrilled that we will be seeing you again in the future. Hopefully it will be much sooner than later.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice looking room, black and white, good views on upper floors. Nothing fancy & not a lot of services but room was clean and nice looking. All art deco as advertised. Good access to University and has parking

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequenttravel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Davidbel,

Thank you for your review. We always enjoy hearing about our guest’s experiences. I am so glad you enjoyed your visit and the amenities we have to offer. We all hope that you come back again next time you are in Seattle. Hopefully we will earn that fifth star. I think we can.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

If you need to be near the Univ of Washington this may be your best bet, I don't know enought about the area. As far as a hotel, this hotel is just average. It is in need of an update as this are a bit worn and some basic services (like wifi in the rooms) don't work. The rooms do have digital safes, movies, flat screen television (although the input is not HD), and a local hotel bat w/ happy hours. If I were to go back to Seattle, I'd opt to stay downtown next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hello Larry C,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hotel Deca. I am so sorry you felt your visit was just “ok”. We never like to see that a guest felt only “ok” about their experience because it means we did not meet our goal of creating truly exceptional experience for a guest.

I wanted to let you know that we are already well underway solving some of the concerns you noted in your review. Shortly we will offer a much stronger wireless signal and hopefully by the end of the year all of our guest room televisions will have an HD signal and an enormous channel lineup. Also, while we did just complete a guest room renovation, our hope is that we will be refreshing our lobby early next year.

Hopefully these changes will convince you to try us again the next time you are in Seattle. We would love to hear your feedback after your next visit to see if we can turn that “ok” into “exceptional”.

Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $214 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing