We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2008

This hotel has an artsy feel to it and is located in the middle of the University District. So, if you are looking to visit this area, the hotel is a great location. It also too minutes to drive downtown and to the Pike Market.

The rooms are clean enough and colourfully decorated. The price was good (I paid about $100US for a night for 2 people). The hotel also provided free high speed internet service on public computers downstairs and free parking.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fayesuave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    402
    176
    99
    72
See reviews for
285
307
125
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Deca April 3 for two nights. We had stayed at the same property several years ago when I believe it was known as University Tower. The years have been kind to the hotel as the new owner has done a very nice job of remodeling. Although it is an old hotel it still has a nice feel to it and because it is an old hotel, there are concrete walls between units making noise from other units practically non-existent. Plus free parking!

The staff- front desk, maids, maintenance, drivers were all consistently courteous, friendly and professional in their duties.
We had a problem with our TV, within 1 hour the maintenance
guys came in to try and trouble shoot- and then replace the set.
The front desk gave great recommendations and directions.

If you are visiting the University area this location cannot be beat. easy walking distance to UW.

Great restaurants in the Wallingford area, 10 minute drive from the hotel.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing really bad
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank R.ching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2008

Figured this "hip" hotel would have a decent internet connection to allow me to work; wrong. Worse than dial-up, and the management denied there was a problem and would not provide any assistance. Lobby "access" just as bad. I would not stay here if you have any hope of conducting business.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — absence of internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank avocats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

While I've stayed in many sub par hotels that have had a retrofit, and re branded themselves a "boutique" hotel, the Deca certainly delivers on the promise at a excellent rate to boot. The real selling point for us was the proximity to many of the smaller surrounding neighbourhoods. The service was prompt, the hotel spotless, and the rooms while fitting of the "boutique" designation were still comfortable (which I've found is frequently lost in the translation). Now this is certainly not in the same category as our home grown Le Germain hotel, for the price it's a steal. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank torontotriptick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2008

Had a pleasant stay at the Hotel Deca in Seattle. Good for business travel-- comfortable chair with desk, helpful staff that was knowledgeable about the Seattle area. I was there for a conference.

Had a nice room on one of the top floors in the corner of the building. There are good views available like this one, so I recommend asking about it. There is a downstairs bar/restaurant. Small TVs, though. So if, for example, you are trying to watch the Red Sox in game 2 of the World Series, you should go somewhere else. :-)

Swanky lobby with a fireplace (can't remember if real fire) is a good place to lounge around and meet up with a friend.

In the University district. Plenty of good food nearby. I would stay here again.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Johosephat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

I had a very good stay here. I chose one of their smaller rooms for the price. I loved the tasteful modern decor and the room felt very cozy. The rate included wireless acess, free and easy parking and complimentary b'fast. ( I thought the b'fast was ok, but preferred to get my coffee in the starbucks-like coffee shop right there in the same building. ) My only problem was the heat vent was near the ceiling so upper half of the room was quite a bit warmer than the lower half. Since I was there in Oct/Nov. it was a little cool. Still, I really enjoyed my stay and would definitely stay there again!

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank Jruss_in_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2007

Nice, stylish hotel in the centre of University district.
About 20 minutes from Downtown in a cab
Good sized rooms with large TVs
Decent restaurant and bar on site
Not a whole lot to do around the hotel, so count on having to travel around

  • Liked — Decor
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MartyMcFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#73 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing