We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try a change of pace in the U-District”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #63 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Flossmoor, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Try a change of pace in the U-District”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I'll admit I have a bias for this hotel's location, as I lived a block and a half away when I was in graduate school -- it feels like I'm on home turf. That said, I love the feeling of being in the U-District, which has great transit links to downtown and Capitol Hill. You get to experience one of Seattle's neighborhoods, rather than the tourist areas downtown. But you can get to the Market, Fremont and Pioneer Square easily enough and avoid parking. The University of Washington is close by, and is pretty campus to roam around. There are also lots of cheap eateries on University Way --"The Ave", but no luxury restaurants. Consider the Deca if you want something more than a typical downtown.

We had a junior suite on the 14th floor, which had great views to the west. The room was spacious, with a king bed and a sofa. It was fairly quiet, though we heard random voices now and then. The most noise I heard was from the construction across the street on my last morning: for some reason they picked that day to start work at 4:30AM.

The staff were all pleasant and helpful. Their car service arrangements are a very nice service, especially since not all Seattle cabs take credit cards.

We go back to Seattle regularly and will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrewingRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello BrewingRover,

I am so glad you had such a wonderful visit during your trip back to Seattle. I guess you could call it a sort of homecoming considering you once lived so close to the hotel. I can tell by your review you know a lot about the area because your description of our proximity to the University, Capitol Hill, and all the major tourist attractions in Downtown Seattle is spot on. We are definitely a nice change of pace and alternative to those guests looking for a hotel outside of downtown.

As you also mentioned, we have a fantastic shuttle service that is available to all our guests. From the hotel we take our guests to and from almost all the major attractions in downtown. We always recommend reserving the shuttle as early as possible because it does fill up fast.
Thanks again and we look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    411
    183
    104
    76
See reviews for
295
314
127
396
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

The hotel is located 5 minutes from the University of Washington, making it very convenient for students, parents, visiting professors. The rooms are small but the service was exceptional. I asked for an upgrade and got it but the room was still too small. It however, is probably the best hotel in the vicinity of the university. If you are in seattle on a holiday, I would however recommend you stay downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tharin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear tsethi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for recognizing our outstanding team. Our team takes great pride in providing the highest level of service and care to our guests. We want our guests to feel like this is their home away from home so we make it as comfortable and enjoyable as we possible can. I will make sure the team gets a chance to read your post.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Some intelligence is involved in gathering up the myriad details of hotel management and decor into a motif. What a pleasant surprise to find a novel excerpted beneath the towel rack. The van service gives Deca the advantages of a downtown locale. Then there was the late afternoon hostess, Caitlin, whose stylish dress and stylish manners heighten the artistic themes.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norman r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello norman r,

What a fantastic title to your post. It is truly an elegant description of our wonderful hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Deca. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The King reservation I had, wasn't available, so I got 2 queens - and was comped parking. The hotel is pretty nice, the room clean and very comfortable. Central location, restaurant/bar 'good' service, and good food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Hello Peter B,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your trip to Hotel Deca. I am so sorry we were not able to guarantee the room your originally reserved. Our personal goal is to ensure all of our guests receive the room type they booked when they made their reservation. Thankfully, this happens very rarely. It sounds like our Front Desk team was able to make a wrong into a right and you were able to enjoy your visit.

We do hope you choose us again during your next trip to Seattle. We would truly enjoy seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We booked this room for two on Hotwire, got a great rate, and checked in for a two night stay. Our 7th floor corner room was attractive, but really much too small for two adults. After one night figuring out how two adults could get in and out of the bed, which was pushed up against the wall, we asked for a room change. The hotel honored our rate and gave us a terrific room about three times larger a couple doors down. The desk was gracious and generous. Thanks Hotel Decca--we'll be back!

Room Tip: The corner room we had (7th floor) was really a single--much to small for two adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Ringo V,

Thank you for your review. I am so glad our front desk team was able to make your visit comfortable. It is always nice when we have other rooms available just in case the first room does not meet guest’s expectation. I know our team will be thrilled to find out they helped make your visit so enjoyable.

We look forward to your next trip to Seattle and Hotel Deca

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have stayed at the Hotel Deca on several occasions and have not been disappointed. They are refurbishing so we always get stylish rooms. The lobby is beautiful. The staff is very friendly. The location is great. I love it!

Room Tip: Beautiful views of space needle and downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hello Cheryl L,

We cannot thank you enough for your continued loyalty and kind words. It is so important to us that we make a great first impression then continue to create wonderful experiences for our most loyal guests. I assure you the best is yet to come.

Thank you again and we look forward to many more amazing visits.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, Washington, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our first stay at Deca, I was pleasantly surprised !! I must say that it was one of the quietest rooms that I have had in a hotel for a long time. The beds were comfortable, the room was very pleasantly furnished, and extremely clean. The staff was absolutely wonderful from the time we checked in, until we checked out, greeting us with warm smiles each & every time we came & went. The location was very convenient, as was the shuttle service, which we utilized to and from the UW Medical Center. We received excellant customer service at a very trying time for our family. Thank you and we will stay again!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSBLONDE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear EMSBLONDE1,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Hotel Deca. Our entire team prides ourselves on creating the highest level of service and comfort during our guests visit. We are always thrilled to learn when we met this expectation.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 101 in Seattle
1,493 reviews
University Motel Suites
#72 of 101 in Seattle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing