We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Deca during the first week of our honeymoon in the States, and they gave us a beautiful room on the 15th floor with an amazing view of the city, including the Space Needle. The room was lovely, if a bit tired - the carpet had seen better days - but it just sort of added to the charm of it! The bathroom was beautiful, but what is it with baths in American hotels being so shallow!

The staff of the front desk were lovely, and we made good use of the shuttle service into Seattle. They were always happy to help, and one guy who drove us in was amazing, going the back way downtown and showing us loads of different things.

There is a bar in the basement as well, which is really nice, and the food is good too. We just shared a Reuben and salad one day, and although the waiter had to check our order once because he phased out, and then forgot our chips, it was nice food and the chips would have probably been too much anyway!

Nice hotel overall - would recommend it to people wanting a base to explore Seattle. Because it is a little bit out, you can explore the University District, Wallingford, Ballard etc as easily as the downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthapants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Marthapants,

Thank you so much for allowing our team to be part of such a wonderful and memorable time for you. We are truly honored to help you celebrate the first week of a long and happy life together.

I also wanted to let you know that we are extremely excited because we have just started a major renovation to our guest rooms. The renovation started earlier this week and by the first week of February all of our rooms will be completed and available for our guests to enjoy. We recognized that some of our guest rooms have been well appreciated over the years and needed updating. I am confident once the renovation is completed the room will still be lovely and extremely comfortable.

Hopefully we will see you again during your next trip to Seattle and America.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    389
    164
    92
    65
See reviews for
270
300
119
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
College Place, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We visited our son who lives in the University District and looked for a hotel that was close. We found Hotel Deca to be only a few blocks away and booked it. Our room was a bit smaller than others we have stayed in at other hotels, but it was perfectly adequate for the two of us. The view wasn't anything special, but that was because construction was going on nearby. One of us likes to sit at a desk and the other one likes to sit in a comfortable chair and we both got what we like. I would recommend Hotel Deca. We will be staying there each time we visit in Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler4159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Traveler4159,

Thank you so much to letting me know about your recent visit to Hotel Deca. We love to make great first impressions that will hopefully help lead into long term relationships. It sounds like we may have done just that for you and your family. We are the closest full service hotel to the University of Washington so it is a perfect location for families who have kids attending the University. Hopefully your review will sway others to try us as well. We truly enjoy being your home away from home for four years..or maybe more.

Thank you again.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The front desk staff was very welcoming and even upgraded us to a deluxe city view on the 15th floor where we had a wonderful view of Mt. Rainier on a couple of mornings. They were also very accommodating when I extended my stay by 2 days.

The room was very comfortable with a soft-but-not-too-soft king size bed with down pillows and duvet, iPod friendly alarm clock, flatscreen t.v. with DVD player, two sitting chairs and a desk and table. The bathroom was clean and old fashion, with a porcelain pedestal sink and bathtub. The bathroom amenities were pretty nice too.

In the hotel's lobby there is a Tully's Coffee shop and a restaurant/bar on the lower level. The restaurant also provides room service to the hotel for dinner.

The location is pretty good, being in the University District, with a few restaurants in walking distance from breakfast to dinner. There is also a Safeway right up the street. If you don't want to drive, there are usually cabs waiting outside, with the most of them being around in the evening. The hotel also provides a shuttle service to and from the airport. We didn't use any public transport, but there is a bus stop out front too. They do have a parking lot and they charge $15.00 per day. Look for specials on their website though, we were able to get a deal for $7.50 a day.

I look forward to visiting Seattle again and would definitely stay at the Hotel Deca.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Alisha B,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am so happy you found the amenities, service, and outlets in the hotel so enjoyable. We constantly review our services to ensure they meet the high expectations of our guest. If there is ever anything we can do to make your next trip even better please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenai, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I had a couple of my friends stay here while I was at Seattle Childrens Hospital. They were great. The shuttle drivers were even better! Thank you Daniel, Jimmy and others for all your help getting around the city!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Ben S,

Thank you, thank you, thank you for taking the time to recognize Daniel and Jimmy who are two of our many outstanding employees. I know they were thrilled to read that they helped make your visit so enjoyable. I always tell our guests that the hotel shuttle is a fantastic way to get around the city. We recommend reservation so that the shuttle can take you to and from almost all the sites in Seattle. Plus, our drivers are outstanding ambassadors for the hotel and the city.
You can have your personal tour guide for a few minutes.

Thank you again,

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I loved staying at Hotel Deca. I had an interview at the University of Washington, the school recommended the hotel. The hotel is walking distance from the school. The hotel staff was very friendly, brought me up toothpaste, ordered a cab, and gave easy directions. The room was very clean and I had a great view of the city. I ordered dinner and lunch there. While the restaurant was small, the food was very good. The bed was very comfortable and the internet in the room was free!! The only downside was I could easily hear my neighbors converstaion when I was in the bathroom. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sasha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sasha G,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to Hotel Deca. I am so happy that your visit was enjoyable. I hope your restful night sleep and carefree visit helped prepare you for a successful interview.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Hotel Deca is a bit out of the mainstream, and to me, that accounts for some of the mixed reviews. Yes, you pay for parking, breakfast, etc. This is marketing, folks., The room rates are much lower than comparable properties in the area. Then, you get to choose what extras you want/need, rather than having them built into a higher room charge. We had a Junior Suite, and were very peased with it. The staff was professional and we received top notch service. Our room was comfotable and, yes, quiet. The building is far from being new, but the management has done a marvelous job with the Art Deco theme. If you want traditional and can't handle trendy, stay elsewhere. If you're ready for a unique experience, try the Hotel Deca. We did, and have no regrets whatsoever.

Room Tip: Use your AAA or AARP when you reserve, and upgrade to a Jr Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Global-track
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hello Global-track,

As a Senior Contributor to Trip Advisor I recognize that you have a high yet realistic understanding of today’s hotel world. That is why I am so thrilled we were able to meet your high expectations. The entire team is so appreciative of the wonderful comments and outstanding description of the hotel. The staff strives to create amazing experiences for our guests by treating them to the highest level of comfort and care. Clearly we exceeded this goal during your visit.

Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We loved everything about our stay at Hotel Deca. The location, the decor, the friendly staff, but it was the amazing view from our room which we will remember the most. We would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone, especially if you are visiting a UW student.

Room Tip: Pay more for a higher room... it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Nancy L,

Thank you so much for the OUTSTANDING review. I cannot thank you enough for taking the time to recognize our FANTASTIC staff and the AMAZING views from the hotel. I always tell people the two best things about Hotel Deca are the staff and the views. I am thrilled we made such an amazing impression that you will recommend us to everyone.

Thank you again. We cannot wait to see you in the future.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#71 of 102 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Hotel Nexus Seattle
#70 of 102 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel

Property: Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing