We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic UW area hotel”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My daughter is a freshman at UW and we have stayed at this hotel three times now during the process of her deciding to attend UW and ultimately moving in to the dorm. I plan to return any time I visit her in Seattle. The location is the best - one block from the Ave and within easy walking distance to campus. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the rooms are spacious, comfortable, and clean, with nice bath products. In addition to the proximity to the UW, it's easy to go downtown from this location via bus (and avoid the hassle of parking as well as the much higher downtown hotel prices). The hotel is also close to Wallingford and the zoo. I would recommend Hotel Deca to anyone visiting Seattle.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello Leslie D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experiences at the hotel. Considering you daughter has four more years at the UW hopefully we can become your “home away from home”.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

864 - 870 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying at "The Decca" the past 3 years on all my visits to Seattle to see my daughter-- its my home away from home. Beds are so comfortable, rooms are always nice & CLEAN, staff is helpful & friendly, location is perfect, easy parking, basement bar & grill has great food & local craft beers, and the morning coffee at Tulleys is the best way to start the day!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TommyGz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear TommyGz,

We are so excited we have become your home away from home during your visits to Seattle. Honestly, there is no better compliment we can receive from a guest. We strive to treat each guest to the highest level of comfort and care while they are with us. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at the hotel before our cruise to Alaska. Hotel Deca is one of a few hotels in Seattle that offer parking and shuttle service to the ship (which takes about 1/2 hour). Unfortunately, they do not offer a return shuttle from the ship. We shared a taxi ride back to the hotel with a nice couple who rode in the shuttle with us to the cruiseport. Although not in a great neighborhood, the hotel itself is lovely. Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a high floor corner room with fantastic views. A nice continental breakfast was included in the package price. The room was very large with comfortable bedding - bathroom was small but very nice with shower and bathtub. The free shuttle to downtown Seattle was a nice surprise. We were unable to book a return trip on the shuttle, but were given good instructions for a bus ride back. Overall, I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eeparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear eeparadise,

Sometimes the title of a post says it all. I am so glad you had such a “Great experience”! We cannot wait to see you again.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I don't know what other rooms were like, but we were in room #1504 with great views from our window out over campus and lake washington on one side and lake union on the other. Great location if you're going to be exploring the U. District, Greenlake, Freemont, Wallingford and those neighborhoods. Everything was just a 10 minute drive away. Only downside was cost, but I think it was a big college game day weekend so costs were higher due to demand.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjo_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello pjo_1968,

I am thrilled you were able enjoy the amazing views in one of our very best rooms. As we all say, although we are not right in downtown Seattle, we have some of the best views in the city. Not many hotels can claim you can see Mt. Rainier, Lake Washington, the Cascade and Olympic mountain ranges, and Seattle’s incredible skyline from a majority of the guest rooms.

Hopefully we will see you again in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 9 nights while I explored Seattle and the surrounding areas. I was definitely impressed with the room, very clean and I loved the design. The staff was extremely helpful with any questions that I had. Its in the university district with the University directly across the street so the area has a young crowd. There are definitely a lot of restaurants, stores, supermarket, pharmacies, coffee shops etc around the hotel which is great. The one downside is that it is not in walking distance to downtown. The hotel provides a shuttle but you have to sign up in advance to use it, they'll take you anywhere within a 4 mile radius. If you miss it or they have no space there are several different bus lines right around the hotel ($2.25). The staff that drive the shuttle were also very helpful and had great suggestions. Thanks Mark! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fancylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear fancylisa,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and our eclectic neighborhood. You are right that we are just outside of downtown but the shuttle is a wonderful way to get to and from almost all the major attractions in Seattle. We do always recommend reservations however we often have space for those last minute trips.

We look forward to your next trip.

Best Wishes,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Nice, clean and unique hotel. The entire staff was extremely welcoming, accommodating and professional. We had originally used a travel agent that had promised us a "package", which included a continental breakfast and shuttle to the port for a cruise we were taking. The so-called travel agent, Amanda Kent, with World Travel in Long Beach, apparently, did not book the "package" (which we confirmed with the hotel and the third party vendor who World Travel used), although World Travel insisted they did (in writing). We cancelled that reservation, but really wanted to try the Hotel Deca. I contacted the hotel about the problem travel agent, and they honored the deal the travel agent had offered us. We were able to book directly with Hotel Deca. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others visiting the Seattle area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WKKSLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello WKKSLK,

What a wonderful review. Thank you so much for recognizing our outstanding team. I truly believe they are what set us apart from the rest of the pack. It sounds like the trip may not have started the way you had expected so I am thrilled that we helped turn it around.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed one night on a quick trip to Seattle. My first impression of the room (especially the bathroom) was that it was extremely clean. Needless to say, that's not always the first impression for hotel rooms! Modern, but not stuffy, feel. Friendly, helpful front desk staff. And obviously great housekeeping. Would definitely return & recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2dledoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear 2dledoo,

I am so glad we made your quick trip to Seattle a little more enjoyable. We look forward to your next trip. Maybe we can convince you to stay a little longer next time.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $137 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing