We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean and in a great location”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'm a bit of a cheapskate and am most concerned with getting a good sleep when I travel. So after having a not great time at the Ace Hotel on our last trip to Seattle - I was happy to find this affordable hotel near the University. Not only is it chic and full of ambiance, it was clean, incredibly quiet and super comfortable. Our room was beautiful, and although it was quite cramped, had a big walk in closet with 2 suitcase racks to store our luggage (!)- so we could close everything up in there and not trip over it in the night. We didn't need to be near the University for any reason, we just came to Seattle along our road trip along the coast, but found the area to be great. Lots of restaurants and a great shopping area nearby. Several buses were easily accessible to take us downtown and back. I would definitely stay at Hotel Deca again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sisero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello Sisero,

I am so glad you had a wonderful experience at Hotel Deca. I hope we are now your hotel of choice when traveling to Seattle..or just passing through.
We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

We usually stay at the Watertown, but it was booked. The Deca is more expensive, plus it charges for everything from parking to printing documents except for boarding passes---which are free at the Watertown. Our room was not very clean, beds were too soft for our taste, and common areas seemed dark. It was ok, but not great. At the price we paid, it should have been great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeenFoodiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear TeenFoodiesMom,

I am so sorry your visit to the hotel was not as you hoped it would be. I assure you we never want a guest to feel that the price they paid for the room did not match the experience they had. We feel we have a wonderful hotel are always disappointed when our guests do not feel the same. If you do see yourself coming to Seattle again please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. I would love to see if I can turn a disappointing first experience into a fantastic second visit.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Just spent 2 nights here while visiting Univ of Washington. The location is great - easy walk to the school. The room (upper floor) was nicely furnished, great view, and quiet. The front staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They have a free shuttle to downtown Seattle which was very convenient and they also arrange for a reasonably-priced car service to get you to/from SeaTac airport. Overall it was a very nice stay!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise and better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plumeria54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear plumeria54,

I am so glad you had an enjoyable visit and was able to take advantage of our fantastic shuttle service. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This hotel is near the university which isn't bad, but all restaurants and venues are geared towards college kids. We stayed here because we got a deal and it seemed to be close to downtown Seattle...it is nor that close. The hotel provides free shuttle service but it is a pain to use. The rooms are small and the bathroom is smaller. The decor was nice and colorful. I could stay here again but it wouldn't be my first choice. The staff was nice. Also free shuttle to pier for cruise departure.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWilson37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello CWilson37,

I truly appreciate the opportunity to learn a little more about your visit to the Deca. I am sorry that your visit was not exactly what you had expected. Hopefully our wonderful team made enough of an impression that it convinced you to stay with us again during your next trip to Seattle.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Stayed here to attend a show at the Neptune Theater right across the street. Staff was very friendly and the room bright and spotless. Would stay here again. Recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear blacklab1601,

I truly appreciate having the opportunity to learn about your recent visit to the hotel. We do have the best location for people looking to spend the night in a hotel after seeing a show at the Neptune. Along with the parking the quick and easy walk across the street makes it ideal for a night out. Hopefully we will see you again when you attend your next show at the Neptune.

Sincerely,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Really nice room - clean and comfortable very nice staff

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carladds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello carladds,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the hotel and for taking the time to recognize our outstanding team.

We look forward to you next visit.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. My little boy was sick and the cleaning staff offered him a teddy bear, so nice! Nice rooms, friendly staff, little pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Hello Crystal P,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at the hotel. I hope that your son is feeling better. Our housekeeping team truly cares about each guest they encounter and take great pride in finding opportunities to really WOW them. I hope your son felt a little better after when he was able to squeeze that bear.

We look forward to your next trip.

Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,594 reviews
University District
The College Inn
The College Inn
#95 of 104 in Seattle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $191 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing