We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City, Better Hotel”
Review of Hotel Deca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Deca
Ranked #64 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
1 review
“Great City, Better Hotel”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We went to Seattle for a wedding in May and decided to stay in the University district. Hotel Deca looked like a charming place on the web.

We checked in and were tired after traveling across country, the staff was very helpful and upgraded our room to the 15th floor with a view. Woke up the next morning opened the drapes and saw the most amazing site, Mount Rainier with no cloud cover. An amazing site!

The staff was very cheerful and helpful, even showed us the free video rentals. They had some GREAT restaurant suggestions. There was a fair on University over the weekend and we got so see some amazing local artisans and sample some fine cuisine.

We will be staying at Hotel Deca next and every time we are in Seattle...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Mt. Rainier, you won't be sorry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGoddess333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear TravelGoddess333,
I am so glad you had so much fun during your stay at Hotel Deca. Although we are just outside the downtown, our location has some of the best views in the city. On a clear day you can see all of downtown, both mountain ranges, and Mount Rainier. It is an amazing way to wake up in the morning.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    405
    178
    100
    74
See reviews for
286
309
127
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Stayed four nights at the Hotel Deca and found it very accommodating with friendly staff, good shuttle service and in a great location in the university district. Will definitely stay there on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hello Karen G,
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. It always puts an extra pep in our step when we find out we helped make a guests visit a little more enjoyable. We cannot wait to see you again. Enjoy the week.
Thank you again.
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel is one of the best values in the U District, maybe the very best. I had an elegant suite with a great view for less than I would have paid almost anywhere else in the U District for an ordinary room. The suite did show traces of its older incarnations (older bathroom fixtures, etc) but they were just fine for me. The bedroom looked totally new and stylish. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Jim Z,
I am so glad to see that you were so comfortable in the room. We do have some of the best views in the city that overlook some of the best sights in our state. Not many hotels have views of the Space Needle, Mount Rainier, the Cascade and Olympic mountain ranges, and Lake Washington. Great views, great service, great amenities…what else can you ask for.
We look forward to your ext visit.
Thank you again.
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Deca earlier this year from July 28th to August 1st. I had no problems with that stay, Room 307 worked out great for us. Since they did so well on the last visit, I re-booked the place for my trip to Seattle in October. I was rewarded with a room on the 15th floor (great view of the Seattle skyline), a cheaper rate, and free parking. The hotel staff was very nice and remembered us from the last visit.

Almost all my stays in the Seattle area require that the hotel lodging is close to the Greenlake area and near the U-district. I don't have a need for staying in downtown. This was convenient for us. Our stay was originally for four nights, but family obligations stretched it to 6. We also saved some money by picking up some food items at the nearby Safeway, and using the fridge and microwave. The breakfast was fine downstairs, but seemed a little pricey. One of the best things was that the bed was extremely comfy, especially after a long drive.

I've stayed at the University Inn and the Watertown in the same area. They're okay, but a bit more pricey and the staff seems more reserved. This place gave me a warm feeling. They did great, and I know I will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms that end in 07 are your best bet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUZZAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hello BUZZAlison,
If something is great the first time then why not try it again. Chances are it will be just as good the second time as well. We love to hear this message from our return guests. We really enjoy seeing familiar faces around the hotel so please come back anytime. I guarantee we are like a fine wine. We only get better over time.
Enjoy the week.
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Hotel is nice. The room could have been a little cleaner. The 2am staff showed they really cared for my every need. Young man was vey professional and polite. No name tag though so never got his name. Thankyou for the accomodations and making us know u cared about us.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y_wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Hello y_wonder,
I wonder y…just kidding. I am really happy to hear that we made you feel so special and cared about. That is our main purpose for doing what we do so thank you for letting us know that. I will also follow up with our housekeeping team to make sure that our rooms are always spotless.
Enjoy the rest of your week.
Jonathan Bartlett
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Some of the other reviews make me wonder if they're about the same hotel. This was one of the best hotel experiences I've ever had, so this review will have a lot of superlatives.
The decor throughout the hotel was stunning. My friend and I had a room with 2 (extremely comfy) queen beds - it was stylish, huge (with a walk-in double closet) and very quiet. The view of the Space Needle was fabulous. The room rate was great value.
The staff couldn't have been more efficient or helpful. Great location (near Trader Joe's!) with a range of good, reasonably-priced restaurants nearby. Having a Tully's coffee shop off the lobby was another plus for me.
The FREE shuttle service was amazing: no need to stay downtown - they'll take you there and bring you back. All you have to do is ask.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Dear Lastri,

Thank You! Thank You! Thank You! We are so glad you had such an amazing time at Hotel Deca. We cannot wait to see you again.

Take Care,

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
130 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

My husband and I stayed here because we got a good deal using a hotel app - total including parking was about $126, not bad for Seattle!

The hotel has a European feel - it's an older building and a bit on the small side, but it's been updated with some pretty quality items (windows, window treatments, furnishings, and decor are all really nice). The room was spotless and the bed comfortable. Tullys coffee is provided.

I always make it a point to request the quietest room available, and Richard at the front desk was kind enough to put us on the 15th floor (there are only 16) away from the elevator. Light sleepers, take heed: away from the elevator puts you on the I-5 side of the hotel, so the street noise is pretty substantial. The noise doesn't bother me, but my husband slept with the AC on so the fan would help cover it. The walls are very, very thin, and we could hear the folks next door pretty well; however, they were early to bed and we only heard them a couple of times.

Our view was great, and our room had big windows that were low enough so that we could turn our chairs toward the window and enjoy looking out over the city at the Space Needle while we drank our coffee.

I have to say, the water bottles in the room are the coolest ever - despite the price (a standard but still expensive $3 and $5 depending on size), I bought them both. They are "Aquadeco", bottled in Canada, and they look like they ought to be holding a liqueur instead of water.

There's a restaurant on site - we didn't try it but the menu in the room showed reasonable prices. There's also a really nice Tully's connected to the lobby. If you're staying in the U District, I don't think it gets any better than this!

Room Tip: You'll want a high floor because of thin walls and street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettibiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jbartlett, General Manager at Hotel Deca, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Bettiviz, thank you for your review. I think you hit all the best parts of the hotel. The water is called AquaDeco and it is the coolest bottle out there. I hope you get the try the restaurant the next time you are here. It is a great menu and on certain dates there is live jazz music to enjoy.

See you soon.

Jonathan Bartlett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Fremont
Staybridge Suites Seattle - Fremont
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deca

Property: Hotel Deca
Address: 4507 Brooklyn Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-4508 (Formerly Hotel Deca, A Noble House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Seattle
#43 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Deca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since its origin Hotel Deca has remained a fixture among Seattle’s University District hotels serving the needs of leisure and business travelers for 75 years. Our contemporary lobby with its warm fireplace, bold murals, and book strewn mahogany bookcases welcomes everyone as a distinguished guest. Elegantly appointed guest rooms feature boldly patterned textiles, a corner bay window, luxurious down blankets, wireless internet access, and of course every other modern convenience. For guests lucky enough to stay in our Sky level rooms (floors 7 thru 15), the hotel offers some of the best views in all of Seattle of the downtown skyline, the University of Washington campus, the surrounding lakes, or the beautiful mountain vistas. If you are looking for something even more unique, try our Penthouse floor. Featuring three unique suites with their own fireplaces, marble baths, flat-panel televisions, and wrap around outdoor decks, they are the pinnacle of luxury. Located in the heart of Seattle’s University District, the Hotel Deca is situated just two blocks for the University of Washington’s main campus. A brief stroll through our historic neighborhood leads to the discovery of a unique blend of architecture, culture, and outdoor adventure. Whether it is the Burke-Gilman trail where hikers and bikers alike enjoy 27 miles of scenic adventure, the Burke Museum of Natural History, or the many eclectic shops, restaurants, and theatres, there is always something new to discover. We are just 3 miles from downtown Seattle where some of the finest restaurants, antique shops, boutiques, and museums in the country enjoy spectacular views of Puget Sound. While in town guests can also enjoy leisurely sunset cruises, Duck tours, golfing, winery tours…the possibilities are endless! Hotel Deca is a 30-minute ride from SEATAC International airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Deca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deca Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing