We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and room if you don't mind lobby smelling like truck stop bathroom.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

They use a chemical fragrance emitter in the lobby with overwhelming sickly sweet smell. If you don't mind that you'll like this place. Our room didn't smell that bad bc we asked on arrival for them to not spray the "air freshener" they otherwise would have. But good location and value. Good breakfast though no gluten free options.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane D, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Lori,
Thank you for your viewpoint. Our hotel is kept clean and fresh so evey guest has a sparkling clean environment in which to rest, relax, and enjoy Seattle. Some of our cleansers have a fresh scent, and all are hypo-allergenic, while our fresh lilies in our lobby can have a strong scent when blooming as well. I am so sorry you found it overwhelming.
Our complimentary breakfast served 7 days a week includes gluten free items such as our scrambled eggs, breakfast potatoes, yogurts and fresh whole fruit, so I do hope you will return to us and try our breakfast again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

495 - 501 of 820 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our first trip to Seattle.
It's don't really a downtown location. Can't complain about the room, bedding very comfortable and clean.Staff very courteous & friendly.
I have to comment on breakfast which I guess the hotel needs to better organize itself when it is full as there were long queues waiting for breakfast that weekend.Shuttle not convenient as it is a small one where you have to prebook. Always fully booked!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liane D, Guest Relations Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I know the Easter Weekend was quite busy with many guests enjoying our complimentary breakfast buffet, and service between 7am to 10:30am has some peak times where lines can form. I apologize for these delays but hope you enjoyed a delicious hot breakfast, and took some time to make a homemade waffle!
Our shuttle can become busy as well as we take our guests to the attractions in the area such as the Space Needle, Westlake Center in the heart of downtown 10 blocks from us, as well as the Seattle Convention Center. Beginning May 1st we will split these destinations and shuttle our guests on the top of the hour and the half, so that more guests may make reservations at these times.
We are so glad you chose our hotel for your first visit to Seattle, and we hope you will return to us when your travels bring you back down South!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is located a bit of the beaten path however if you don't mind this the hotel offers several attractive amenities: FREE INTERNET, BUFFET BREAKFAST, FREE SHUTTLE TO 3 MAIN SEATTLE ATTRACTION LOCATIONS. You can't go wrong with this. If you want to take the shuttle especially in the morning book early as they only have 12 seats available. We only took the shuttle one day to the Seattle Center. Otherwise we walked everyday to and from the hotel even at night. We have lived in NYC and West/North Philadelphia so we were not uncomfortable. If you are uncomfortable walking at night I would advise take the shuttle or a taxi back to the hotel.

The breakfast had good variety with hot and cold food. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit, bagel, muffin, bread and waffles everyday with different hot entries ie. scrambled eggs, sausage, French toast, hot oatmeal and of course coffee/tea. The staff were very professional and helpful.

The room size was a bit bigger than average with a small sitting area with sofa/couch. The bathroom was a moderate size however a bit dated. The sink is outside the bathroom which is different. If you are a light sleeper this hotel borders a road sometimes the noise could be loud. The hotel also provides free access to a 24 hour fitness. I wish I had brought my gym clothes. It was a really nice gym. There is a business centre with two computers and a printer where you can print for free. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leticia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

There are several choices of hotels in the Seattle area. We chose this one due to the free shuttle/internet, proximity to the city and cheap parking.

They don't tell you that although the shuttle is free, it's hourly and there's a limit of how many people they can transport per hour. They don't come back for the rest so this will only work if you plan your day ahead of time and know that you are going to come back at that exact time. Also, the area of the main pickup spot is a shopping area, that gets sketchy for the 9p pickup. I wouldn't wait there again with my kid for sure.

The room was clean but tons of highway noise. Our view was of the highway and the REI building. Shower water was hot with good pressure. The "suites" is misleading, it's not really a suite but a larger hotel room with a partial privacy wall.

My husband said the breakfast was mediocre, my kid and I couldn't go due to food allergies. The cereal is all in large containers rather than the individual boxes.

Overall, we would not stay here again. While the staff was nice, the hotel didn't really meet our needs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank puff007NewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

puff007NewEngland,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate the feedback. We are pleased to offer complimentary shuttle service to local attractions but as you mentioned, we are limited to transporting 12 guests at a time. I apologize if there was higher than usual demand during the time that you were staying with us, it certainly is a popular amenity. In May as occupancy picks up, we will offer service twice an hour, once an hour to each location (Top of the hour to the Space Needle, bottom of the hour to Westlake Center and Convention Center). Unfortunately, traffic and wait times do not allow us to get to every destination more than once an hour, but the increased frequency will certainly provide our guests with more opportunities to utilize this great complimentary amenity.

We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating and I thank you again for your feedback.

Regards,

Aaron Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I chose this hotel because it offered the best value for our money. Free internet, free breakfast and free gym access across the street. It is walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The friendly front desk staff is happy to loan you an umbrella - it's likely you'll need one at some point during your visit. The free breakfast buffet was plentiful and a step above average with several hot items available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagasunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to Seattle. Not only was the city great and welcoming the hotel was as well. We are a family of 5 and I was concerned about finding a hotel that fit our needs in a good (safe) local. We have to have certain things when we travel, non-skg flrs for allergies, indoor pool (a must w/kiddos) continental breakfast and it has to be clean, clean, clean!!!

Springhill was all of that. The staff was friendly and efficient. They will give you a ride to several locations downtown (no charge) which made our day easier. We parked the car at the hotel (valet only but reasonable) and didn't get in it until the day we left. Also, seems like they just underwent a makeover carpet smelled brand new. If you have kids or don't this is a great hotel, you can't go wrong. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wajindc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

wajindc,

Thank you so much for the flattering review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family had such a wonderful time in Seattle, and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,

Aaron Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We originally choose this location because it offered the best value for our money. Free internet, free breakfast, and a low parking rate. We originally booked two nights but only stayed one night. We've stayed at a variety of Marriott locations in the past and did not feel that this location met Marriott Standards.

The staff at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

When we arrived there was a fire alarm and the automatic announcement said to evacuate. Since our room was right in front of an emergency exit, we took those stairs all the way down and outside. It was so gross as the stairwell smelt like urine and the exit door was slightly open due to homeless clothing preventing it from locking and being secure. The was also vomit in the doorway that we had to step over to get outside, which lead to a dumpster area. We walked around to the lobby and waited to take the elevator back up as I was no longer willing to walk the same stairs again.

We found the set up of the room to be uncomfortable. The placements of the TV and the full length mirror were in inconvenient locations. It also smelt like cleaning chemicals.

The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the retail area - which is great - however the hotel's immediate surroundings are shady. There are a lot of empty buildings and parking lots. If I was alone, I would not have felt safe walking back to the hotel.

Due to our initial impression of the hotel, everything else just fell apart. Our feelings of comfort and safety were broken. The front desk clerk was understanding and tried to help us book another Marriott Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Morehappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aaron O, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Morehappytravels,

Thank you for taking the time to provide the detailed feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. I am pleased that you found our front desk staff to be so helpful, but must offer my apologies for having to endure a fire alarm. While we are glad that there was no emergency, we do understand what a stressful experience it is to be evacuated from your hotel room. Having our guests exit into an alley shared by other businesses is certainly not an impression that we would prefer to make. We have shared your experience with our staff to ensure that area is always presentable in the rare event of a future evacuation. I deeply apolgoize for the impression that this left you with, as we take a great deal of pride in providing a clean, restful experience throughout our entire hotel.

As you mentioned, our hotel is located within quick walking distance of the retail district which can also be accessed by our complimentary shuttle service. The majority of our guests find our location to be extremely conventient to all that Seattle has to offer.

Thanks again for providing this valuable feedback. If your travels bring you back to the Seattle area, please don't hesitate to reach out to me for assistance.

Best Regards,

Aaron Olson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Seattle Downtown/Lake Union
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $117 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing