We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Work & Pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I love this hotel, cause it's right next to the highway and a short cab ride (or long walk) to the Pier. When I travel to Seattle for work I always stay here. The breakfast is amazing and actually has a lot of options, the rooms are a good size, and they give you a free pass to the 24 Fitness Center across the street. I wish the parking was a little cheaper (though I like that its valet).

Room Tip: The elevators can be slow, so I like to be on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chicavm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 815 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband & I came to Seattle after visiting friends in Yelm. (We had tickets to the King Tut exhibit the next day.) the valet took the car right away, and we had no problems checking in. The hotel was crowded because of a Mariners game, a soccer tourney, Tut and a few other events in town, but other than the heavy traffic at breakfast, you'd never know it. Our room was QUIET, clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was hot, well cooked (eggs, sausage, pancakes) and well supplied. The coffee was great. Sunday newspapers were plentiful, and (from what i could tell) the airport shuttle was on time. When we checked out, the car was waiting right at the front door. If you are looking for a nice place, with good service and beautiful accommodations, stay here. It's close to Seattle's attractions, and a short/cheap ride to Safeco Field or Seahawk Stadium.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank MeeshB503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed there one night, and could not sleep very well with the water dripping in the shower area left over from the previous guest. Also, several times the television signal seems like the voices were dubbed not natural, and the channel guide did not match the actual channels on thetelevision.
Nice that there was a free hot breakfast for all guests including making your own waffles. Also, a complimentary shuttle operates til 9:30 pm to transport guests to the Seattle downtown or the Seattle center area with reservations required. The front desk staff seem to be friendly, and accomodating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Globetrotter10079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was my first stay at this Seattle SpingHill Suites and it was amazing from the moment I arrived. The staff was friendly and eager to help me find my way around the city and get to and from the Seattle Convention Center for my convention; including their free hourly shuttle to various sites. The morning breakfast buffet offered plenty of popular hot food choices and there is also plenty of sitting areas for just sitting back and relaxing with your morning cup of Java or tea. Having the self service laundry on-site was a real time and money saver! The hotel even provides dryer laundry sheets for you if requested. The restaurant and bar were worth staying on property for, well at least for some of your nights. Obviously you want to explore as much of Seattle dining and wining as you can while in the city. I highly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure, with or without families. I definitely recommend and will return to this hotel. Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevators. As with any hotel, rooms by elevators tend to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were able to get a decent deal on this hotel by booking through Expedia. We really wanted to stay downtown, and this was the cheapest prie we could find. It was very much worth it! The breakfast every morning was delicious, plenty of hit foods as well as the typical cereals and fruits. There was a nice indoor pool and hot tub that we were able to enjoy inf the evening. The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating with everything we needed.
There was room service that we tried one night, and it was priced as expected, not cheap but not too expensive either.
Our room was a sgreat size, with a sitting area, desk, pull out couch, etc.
The hotel offered a shuttle service. Tis was the only downside (though not enough to be a complaint.) it only offered service to the shopping area and the space needle, only operates at the top of the hour and half past the hour, and you need to reserve your seat ahead of time (well ahead of them.) We used it once, nd the driver was a little reckless for our liking, and he was not very friendly.
We took a cab to the waterfront one morning, and it was only six dollars. It was just easier for us since we were on our own timeframe. It was only a fifteen minute walk for us to like place market, and on the days we were there, the weather was gorgeous so we really enjoyed the walk. You can also walk about ten minutes to the monorail, which for five dollars round trip will take you to the space needle area.

All as all, I have no real complaints about the hotel. We felt very comfortable and safe, and it was close to everything we wanted to see and do!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malmals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajols628, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

malmals,

Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites and for providing such a thorough review of our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Seattle.

Best Regards,

Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Got myself some Marriott points and scored a suite for a night!

Location-wise, just off the freeway. Noise was not an issue in the room though. A few minutes drive to most Seattle downtown attractions. Reached the waterfront/Pikes Place in about 5 minutes drive.

The suite was pretty good sized. Two full beds, with a separate sitting area with a couch, a full work desk and small kitchenette with microwave. The decor is a little dated, but it was alright. The bathroom area could be a little nicer. Smallish sink area. Free wifi in room!

Hot breakfast included! Scrambled eggs, sausage patties, pancakes, pastries. Good buffet spread. And there's always a free coffee/tea bar available 24/7 in the lobby area.

Parking, no need to pay for valet ($20+/night). There is a street parking available, usually max 3 hours during the day, but free after 6pm! Or, there is a parking lot right next to the hotel that is cheaper than hotel valet parking. Have to wake up early to pay the next morning by 8am though.

Outside area, nothing much to look at. Across the street is a 24-Hour Fitness center. That's about it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khamen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Sure, I could have stayed in a nicer or cheaper place, but they were all booked or I couldn't afford them. After exploring the area on foot, I discovered that this place is in a great location. I'm here for 11 days and I'm having fun walking to Pike Market, the shopping areas, ethnic restaurants, etc. I'm a single female in her late 40's who likes to escape once in a while from the kids to travel alone. Yes, there are homeless people around but not just in the immediate area but even around the fancy places. They don't bother anyone and no one bothers them. The staff is very helpful and have an upbeat attitude. The hotel is clean and the room is spacious for me but probably not for a couple with 2 adults and kids.

I like to walk but the shuttles to the Space Needle and the Westlake Mall is a nice service. I've been in other Marriotts without breakfast so I appreciate the free hot breakfast despite the dining area being crowded. I enjoy watching people. I like the happy hour specials and as a single female I don't feel uncomfortable going to the bar since it's very cozy and homey here. The pool is more for little kids but the hotel guests have access to the 24-hr gym across the street. My rom is quiet and at the end of a long walking day, I just crash.

I really love Seattle, but of course they haven!t had rain since I got here. The rate I'm going, I'll be 10 lbs. bigger from eating everything in sight -- Ethiopian, seafood, Asian, Russian piroshki, European pastries, delis, etc! Anything leftover I warm up in the microwave the next day. I recommend this place for a visit to downtown Seattle.

Room Tip: Put on your walking shoes and explore the different neighborhoods on foot. The Greyhound bus termin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grass_Hut_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajols628, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Van_Kedisi,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing such an honest and thoughtful review. We are thrilled that you were able to enjoy all of our terrific complimentary amenities such as shuttle service, breakfast buffet and 24 Hour Fitness as well as joining us for happy hour in our popular lobby bar. It sounds like our convenient location allowed you to explore all that Seattle has to offer by foot including the great culinary scene that you mentioned.

Thank you again for your detailed review of our hotel, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Seattle.

Best Regards,

Aaron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hilton Garden Inn Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union

Address: 1800 Yale Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-1433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $100 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. Just minutes from the Westlake Center via light rail, the Convention Center, The Space Needle, Waterfront, Pike Place Market and the Cruise Terminal's, our Seattle hotel's accommodations offer easy access to many of the city's top attractions. Start your day with a free hot breakfast buffet, and end it with a specialty cocktail at our Bistro on Yale Bar (happy hour is from 4-7 p.m.), or enjoy fresh regional fare at the Bistro on Yale Restaurant. Guests can also enjoy our Seattle downtown hotel's swimming pool, spa, fitness center, and free shuttle service. We are also proud to offer Complimentary access to 24 Hour Fitness located across the street. On-site parking is a valet-only service for a fee. All of our Seattle hotel suites offer spacious living and sleeping areas separated by a privacy wall, as well as kitchenettes with mini-refrigerators and microwaves. We look forward to welcoming you to the SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Seattle Downtown/South Lake Union Hotel Seattle
Seattle Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing