We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot!”
Review of Gaslight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gaslight Inn
Ranked #7 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ladybugthepug
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect spot!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Gaslight Inn was the perfect spot for our recent stay in Seattle. We walk a lot and traveled all over the city. The Gaslight Inn gives you a sense of "local life" and is accessible to excellent coffee, ice cream, baked goods and restaurants. A real value and our host, Bennett was superb. He gave us a quick orientation to the area and away we went...he also pointed us in the direction of the best espresso/coffee my husband has ever had. If you want a more private, charming setting and to feel like you're at home, this is the place. The arts and crafts decor and a balcony off of our room, overlooking the pool, were added treats!

Room Tip: We highly recommend room 105 - has a semi-private balcony overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybugthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    26
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
130
64
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Grande Dame of Seattle B&B scene. Bennett, the innkeeper, was attentive to our needs in spite of our 8:30 p.m. arrival and helped us sort out our parking conundrum in no time. Try to spend at least two nights at Gaslight to enjoy all of its amenities, such as the heated outdoor pool, which is open between 8 a.m. and 8 p.m. during the warm months. Our room was spacious and fresh. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with the guests over the simple continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Gaslight Inn is an absolutely gorgeous example of arts and crafts architecture, beautifully furnished with authentic Stickley furniture and other pieces of the period. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location on Capitol Hill is perfect for visiting all the Seattle's sights. And there is a beautiful pool should the weather be warm, as it was during our visit.

Room Tip: Room 104 is a two-room suite. Perfect for a lengthy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a vacation planned to Seattle and realized fairly last minute our accommodations with friends weren’t going to cover us for the whole trip. I started exploring options on the Internet and was lucky to find the Gaslight Inn. We were hoping to stay in the Capitol Hill neighborhood, and the location turned out to be perfect. The owners were out of town, but the staff on hand took extra great care of us. We stayed the first night and ended up coming back and booking two more nights over the weekend! The innkeeper was very gracious in finding the rooms for us and gave us a great rate. We got to stay in three different rooms and each one was clean, cozy, and comfortable. Even sharing a bathroom on the first night was no big deal. The continental breakfast was always fresh and plentiful and helped kick start our day with coffee.It was fun to talk with other guests over coffee about where they were from and their plans around Seattle. I took a dip in the pool, which was refreshing even on a cool Seattle summer day Like other reviewers have said, the staff was very helpful, but let us have our space. The décor was very fun, lots of art including prints, Native American artifacts, and colorful glass pieces. We easily found our way around the Pike/Pine corridor and enjoyed the many local cafes/bars/restaurants.The Gaslight Inn was the perfect base of operations for a relaxing getaway from the Bay Area, and I would definitely stay on a return visit

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

My partner and I spent 2 nights at the charming Gaslight Inn in March 2012 and wish we could have stayed longer! This is truly beautiful property in the centrally located Capitol Hill area. I have always wanted to stay here on my Seattle visits and finally had the chance this trip.

Bennett is an excellent host and made us feel welcome in every way. Wish we had the chance to dine at his restaurant recommendations, but I had our restaurant week choices all planned in advance. This will have to wait until our next visit.

Room 108 had a shared bath on the level below, but we found this to be no problem at all. The room was cozy with a dreamy bed and the whole house was spotless. If you can't tell, we loved our stay here.

The weather turned out to be beautiful, except for the day we left, and we had an amazing time in beautiful Seattle.

Thanks to Bennett and his staff for a memorable stay, and look forward to the next one!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandSPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just spent a very comfortable three nights at the Gaslight. Had time for sitting by the pool and enjoying the weather on this visit. Once again, Bennett and the staff were very welcoming and made us feel entirely at home. We stayed in 105 which had a balcony and a view over the pool and garden. It was spacious and very well appointed. In all, a great place to stay. Thanks to all!

Room Tip: Not all of the rooms have an en suite bathroom - so if this is important to you, check the configura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seanog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently visited Seattle for the first time. I chose the Gaslight Inn because I like the personal touch of a B&B. The service was beyond my expectations. Before I arrived the host emailed me with detailed step by step instructions on how to get from the airport to the Inn. Once I arrived I was greeted by Bennett and Daren. The inn was amazing with a few common areas to relax and enjoy a book, ipad, etc. As I sat by the fireplace with my iPad peacefully reading the world news I felt as if I had escaped into my own world.

Daren was a great host. He was very attentive to my needs. The host and staff were always eager to assist me if it was calling a cab or figuring out the train schedule for a trip to Vancouver. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Gaslight Inn and would definitely book there for my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottycole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,080 reviews
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Pike Place Market
Pensione Nichols B&B
Pensione Nichols B&B
#9 of 28 in Seattle
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaslight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaslight Inn

Property: Gaslight Inn
Address: 1727 15th Ave, Seattle, WA 98122-2614
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gaslight Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Gaslight Inn! The Gaslight Inn is conveniently located on Capitol Hill, Seattle's most exciting neighborhood that also happens to be closest to the center of the city and only about 20 minutes North from the airport. All of Seattle's main attractions including Pike Place Market, are either in walking distance, a short taxi ride or a metro bus ride away. The Gaslight Inn's interior is appointed in exacting detail, with strikingly rich, dark colors, oak paneling, and an enormous entryway and staircase. The comfortable and unique guestrooms are furnished with quality double or queen-sized beds, refrigerator and television. Many rooms in our bed and breakfast feature private baths and some also have decks with fabulous views or fireplaces. The living room, with its large oak fireplace, is always an inviting room, as is the library.Through the late spring and summer, we encourage you to relax and unwind at poolside with a glass of wine after a long, busy day. This private, in-ground, heated pool with several decks and interesting plant arrangements is found at the back of the inn. The Gaslight has high speed Wi-Fi for all it's guests at no extra cost. Our aim at the Gaslight Inn is to provide quality bed & breakfast accommodations in a relaxed atmosphere at a sensible rate, and to offer guests, whether they are visiting for pleasure or on business, useful information and assistance when needed.Our continental breakfast features coffee, juice, fruit, scones, and croissants. It will get your day in Seattle off to a great start! *In October 2015, the city awarded The Gaslight Inn with landmark status, the only Seattle B&B to granted with such. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Gaslight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaslight Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing