We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,267)
Filter reviews
2,267 results
Traveler rating
1,684
401
114
40
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,684
401
114
40
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bookstore bar spa suite pike place market wine hour pioneer square seattle art museum boutique hotel front desk staff ferris wheel happy hour bottle of champagne mini bar few blocks an upgrade wonderful hotel we've stayed sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 2,267 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018 via mobile

The Kimpton Alexis is a boutique hotel. The location is terrific, as the hotel is within an easy walk to Pike Place Market, Pioneer Square and the Waterfront, among other attractions. We had a suite, and the living room area was large and comfortable. The bedroom and bathroom were smaller, though adequately sized. The WiFi signal was strong, although outlets were not abundant.

Service was excellent, and the restaurant is very good.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MarkP115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thanks Mark! This hotel has 17 different room styles and being an old classic building - all rooms are different shapes and sizes. Makes every stay an adventure is how I like to look at it.. The wifi can fluctuate with the location of your room but it tends to be a good experience. We are in the midst of working on our new look for next year - and more outlets is top of the list! The team here have a great time and it shows in these reviews, they will be thrilled you mentioned it.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

We had selected the Kimpton Alexis Hotel for the central location to the main tourist attractions and we found the location to be excellent because we like to simply walk to the local attractions vs. taxi or rental car. Only 6-minutes walk to the Underground Tour, 19-minutes to Pikes Place Market, 6-minutes walk to the Pier area ferries and Pier restaurants - so convenient! There are great restaurants all around the Alexis hotel that we did not even bother with the hotel restaurant.

The check-in service was fast and easy. Free WIFI for IHG Platinum members like ourselves and the WIFI speed was very good. The Hotel offers iced water in the lobby in the afternoons and free coffee in the mornings - very nice feature.

As for our accommodations, we had reserved one of the Executive Suites to give ourselves a well deserved treat, and we were not disappointed - the room was HUGE, comfortable and clean. Our suite was on the second floor and did not have the large glass windows in the living room overlooking the city but it did have a great looking skylight over-head the huge meeting table (see attached photos). This large table area is where we had our morning coffee - either made fresh from the in-room Kurig or purchased from the near-by Starbucks. The living room has a huge sectional sofa and there is a large flat-screen TV on the wall - very nice touch!

Adjacent to the living room, there is a handy half-bath which is convenient for guests who comes by to visit or have a meeting. Even the half-bathroom was more spacious than most half-baths that I have seen.

As for the master bedroom, what can I say? Simply HUGE and COMFORTABLE. We have stayed at many high-end hotels and this was one of the nicer bedrooms. The bedding was very comfortable - we slept right away. The master bathroom is again HUGE and very nice - large shower and separate Jacuzzi bathtub. Nice quality toiletries as expected from a high-end hotel.

Upon check-out, the front desk was very courteous, fast and efficient. Even as we were leaving, the bell-desk person asked if we needed transportation to the airport? We had indicated that we may need a Taxi or UBER. However, the bell-desk person offered a Cadillac Escalade service for about the same price as UBER - of course we accepted and we were again happy with the Kimpton Alexis service.

We had stayed at the Alexis for four (4) nights and enjoyed it the whole time - 5-Star rating from me - no doubt about it.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AZCasualTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thanks for this AZ. The Hotel location has always been one of the great assets, the other one is the team who works here and then there is a classic look and feel to the building. Check out any of the other Kimptons in the city - kimptonhotels.com - many of our hotels have been created from alternative use buildings and that is what allows each Kimpton to tell a story. The hotel provides a different look and feel to all the other 'beige' hotels out there and then we add on a restaurant that people want to talk about and you have a winner.
Your room was one of the largest and as mentioned, we have 17 different room styles. Delighted you could use and enjoy all that space!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018 via mobile

Booked through a third party last minute for a getaw ay night. We ate downstairs at The Bookstore which is super convenient for this hotel's guests. The room exceeded my expectations. It was impeccable and very beautiful. The employees were very warm at check in and check out. We were not charged the amenities fee, because I asked about a noise we heard at night...but, after we left the hotel, I realised what the noise had been. It was construction work on the high-rise a block away. Pneumatic tools sound like helicopters and unbalanced washing machines from a distance. I know to bring earplugs when staying in the city, but forgot them this time. I probably could have even gotten some from guest services if I had thought to ask!
I am happy to give a 5 star review to this hotel. I only hope I am lucky enough to stay there again soon!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Undrwtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thanks Underwrtr. What a nice note. - Yep there are 63 'cranes' in the city and we are building all around us - general big city noises and we are thankful for the double paned windows! Come back soon, check out the programs, specials and great rates at Kimptonhotels.com - things change everyday.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We paid a fortune to stay here. Our check in experience was mediocre to say the least and we sat and waited for our room to be made up but found that no one came to let us know it was ready. Once in our room, it was large, it had a lounge area and a long hallway but the fixtures and fittings were old and out of date. The room was dark and the bed was very very hard! So much so that I had to ask for a topper for our 4 night stay. The bathroom was old fashioned and it needed a bit of love and attention. All the lamps were turned on and off by their own switch so to get any light you had to go around to 4 or 5 different lights and turn them on and off again. Very disappointing and very expensive.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank mitchie_last
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thanks Mitchie, glad you had a great journey to Seattle. I am certain that just like your airplane fare you likely noted that the hotel rates were very high due to the demand in the city. Those cruise ships, Mariner fans and millions of tourists make a room a rare sight the last days of July. I took the liberty of checking our records and see that we called your cell phone at 1.21 pm to let you know the suite you had reserved was ready. As checkin isn't until 3, we were thrilled that you were able to get into your room early and delighted that you picked up your keys 1 minute later. Those huge rooms are a challenge, with all that space and so many lights, I believe there is a master switch, but some guests like to turn different lamps to highlight the features of our historic building. The hotel is a gracious old building and not for everyone, but hope you will return and check out one of the 3 other great Kimpton hotels in the city on your next journey to Seattle!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018

What a great hotel to stay in! We were there for 2 nights. Modern and just blocks away from the pier! The staff was amazing! Jimmy and Cheyenne's food recommendations were on point. The room had great amenities and very comfortable. We had a slight problem with the bathroom door and it was fixed immediately! Their workout room is a bit small, but then again you're not far from the pier to get in a run!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomtheGMguy, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018


Thanks Judy, as a building on the historic sites of America, we try to combine the new and the old. Our location close to the waterfront gives a visitor a true sense of the Great Pacific Northwest and all that we offer. The Market is just up the street, the lite rail around the corner and if you just want to embrace the street scene - the bookstore bar is the place to hang. One blackened Manhattan will change any day! Meet me there.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews