We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wyncote, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I booked because I am an In-Touch member, and was in town with my kids for Spring Break. The hotel is wonderfully located a few easy blocks from Pike Place market, and feels like a real destination. My kids were overjoyed -- and spoiled by the staff there, who went out of their way to welcome us. The beds were comfortable, the room huge, and the restaurant (which we enjoyed for dinner) very welcoming. I would highly recommend for both business and pleasure travelers -- it is a rare hotel that crosses both audiences easily.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarlowFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thanks Garlow Family! We loved having you guys here and are so happy that your family had a great time. When we have guests with kids, we do try our best to make sure our Kimpton Kids have as good of a time as the parents. We definitely do tend to spoil...we just can't help it! But in the end, it just makes us so happy to hear that you as a family had a great time. So we look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    369
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
365
862
113
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
surrey, british columbia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

I stayed the evening of April 22, 2014 at Alexis Seattle - A Kimpton Hotel. It was not my first stay at the Alexis Seattle, and it will not be my last. The hotel has great charm and character. It is well situated for all major downtown Seattle attractions: Pioneer Square, Pike Place Market, the Wharf, the Space Needle, Chinatown, all major shopping malls, ferries, etc. And the staff are genuinely friendly and helpful.

I was upgraded at no cost to a large one-bedroom suite, room 322. It had a working wood burning fireplace (yes, I lit the provided log and enjoyed a real fireside experience with a book I was reading), King bed, high ceilings and a great vibe. Linens and towels were very good, and the free internet throughout the hotel (internet is free of charge when you are a member of Kimpton's free to join "InTouch" membership rewards program) was well received.

I enjoyed the locally sourced "double pork chop" dinner and a taster flight of Scottish whiskies in the hotel's Bookstore Bar & Café. Service was excellent, as was the food and drinks. And of course, like all Kimpton Hotels, there was a "free of charge" Hosted Wine Hour from 5 to 6 pm in the front lobby of the hotel, featuring wines and appetizers.

My one and only criticism of the Alexis Seattle is their outrageous overnight parking charge: $42 base rate, plus $5.25 parking tax, plus $3.99 state tax, for a total parking charge of $51.24 per day. Note: parking is free from 8 pm to 8 am on the street outside the Alexis Seattle, and neighboring parking garages are significantly lower in price for overnight parking.

On a scale of 1 to 10, where 1 is terrible and 10 is excellent, I give the Alexis Seattle a solid 9. High praise indeed!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators. Also ask for a free upgraded room, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

When we travel to Seattle, we usually stay at the Alexis. The staff is terrific: friendly, helpful. The location is great: easy walking distance to the art museum, Pike Street, the waterfront. Because we've stayed over the years, we've also noticed that the owners are not keeping the place up quite like they used to: the mattress sagged, the towels were a bit rougher, and little things like not replacing broken elevator buttons took some of the sparkle off of what has been a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the water side. Quieter, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iambic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
I am please to hear that you had a good stay! It seems that we didn't meet some marks... If you could please reach out to me personally at jenne.neptune@alexishotel.com, I would like to discuss your response further. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I look forward to your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Alexis this past weekend when we were in Seattle for business. The staff was all wonderful and extremely helpful. Our room was gorgeous, and we didn't even get the upgrade that we'd requested. If there was any down side, I'd say that we were on the 2nd floor, overlooking the street, so we experienced a lot of noise from cars and trucks going by. Thankfully, we were out of our room more than in, so it wasn't too much of a problem. We will definitely stay at the Alexis the next time we're in town.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to road noise, make sure you're not facing the street and on a low level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The pros; the people are the nicest, the most helpful and the cleanest rooms. The bellmen are the best ever.
The cons, beds not comfortable, noisy at every move. No view, except for the brick building across the way. More dog friendly than children friendly. No water pressure. It does have a refrigerator, but can not use because full of items to purchase. The other non refrigerator item to purchase was a tray on top of table, so had to tell the kids not to touch, for they were very expensive.
Walking through lobby every person drinking wine, a very stuffy crowd at motel. The walk was all up hill, five blocks to pike place. Dog friendly. Not kid friendly. I would not choose this hotel again, the rooms were clean, but no ventilation at all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cleesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I am so sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope you have received my email and that we will have the chance to talk more about the options available here to make your next stay absolutely perfect. The one thing that we can always offer is options! We have rooms with windows that open, rooms with great views, pet free rooms, and even rooms with complete kitchens. Just let us know what is important to you and we will do our best to find a room to match your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

A big shout out goes to Britta, Cody, Victoria, and Jon who helped make our birthday celebration very special. They were friendly, helpful, and an asset to the Kimpton hotel system. They suggested a very good restaurant, Tulios. Also suggested was a food tour of the Public Market that was not only tasty but packed with history. Our thanks go to you.

Room Tip: We had a room with the view of the new ferris wheel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gustaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing your stay with us! I'm so happy to hear that some of our team members stood out to you on your stay. We have a pretty amazing team and they sure do love to make our guests feel special! The food tour sounds pretty yummy! And of course, you can never go wrong with Tuilo, they are fantastic! We hope to see you back again soon!

Jenne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Province of Malaga, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My stay at this property was ok, I thought it was an average hotel from check in to check out, I didn't get the super treatment everyone is raving about here, room was spacious and clean(albeit a bit old fashioned), the windows aren't insulated properly so I could hear the noise on the street, in addition the mini bar was making a weird noise the whole time.
That being said the location of the hotel is ideal to exploring the city as its very central and in walking distance to all the places that need to be seen and for your morning caffeine fix once you leave the hotel just turn right and you will find a cafe called love everybody , that is the highlight of Seattle coffee scene

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
I am genuinely sorry to see that rather than exceeding your expectations we fell short. We pride ourselves on creating a truly unique hotel experience- I invite you to reach out to me personally at Jenne.Neptune@alexishotel.com, in hopes that we might regain your trust in the Alexis again. Thank you for sharing your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.0 mi away
Loews Hotel 1000, Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing