We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd stay - even better than first!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We just spent another 5 wonderful nights at The Alexis. We spent our honeymoon at The Alexis and decided to return to spend our anniversary in Seattle - August is the perfect month to be in Seattle!!

We had a wonderful suite with views of the ferris wheel and the bay beyond. The entire staff was friendly and gracious. We had some great breakfasts in the Library Bistro and a nice dinner in the Library Bar too. The wine hour is very nice, just one of the little touches that Kimpton always has for its guests.

Housekeeping was great, the bed was comfy, and even with a wedding on Saturday night, the hotel was really peaceful.

There are bikes that you can ride and the location is great. We had a terrific stay and look forward to returning to further explore the natural beauty of Seattle.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebitNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

I'm so happy to hear that you guys had such a wonderful trip! We love to make regulars, and in that we hope to have you back for all of the following anniversaries to come. Let us know the next time you are heading back to the PNW!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,189 - 1,195 of 2,116 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Alexis after cruising to Alaska, we decided that we wanted to spend some time in Seattle before returning home. This hotel couldn't be more accommodating. The staff at the front desk are delightful, anything we needed was put at our disposal immediately.
I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It isn't cheap, but well worth the extra money. Our room was beautifully appointed and comfortable.
This hotel is close to museums, Pike Place Market, The Aquarium and terrific little bistros. All within walking distance.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor, very quiet, excellent sleep conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fyreandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write this review! I'm happy to hear that your trip was all around great. It's nice when things are in walking distance from where you are staying. Makes traveling much easier for guests! We hope to see you again in Seattle soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My sister and I stayed at the Alexis hotel for the weekend after finishing our Alaska cruise. It was a perfect location to explore Seattle - was walking distance to Pike Market and also to the monorail to get to the Seattle space needle. The staff was fantastic and our room was beautiful. We did not travel with our pets but really appreciated how pet friendly the hotel is - they even had a small sign in the lobby with the names of pets in the hotel that night - there was even a goldfish listed. The concierge was very helpful and even treated us to an appetizer at our dinner (Crush - a spectacular meal by the way). I had not stayed in a Kimpton hotel but I would in the future based on my stay at the Alexis.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with windows on both sides, was quiet and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedidoc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

I'm so glad to hear that you two enjoyed your stay! It sounds like a pretty amazing adventure. Next time we would love to have the pets too! Call us ahead of time and give us the names so we can add them to our rock star pet board. Till next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived to stay 2 nights at Alexis with our 12 year old granddaughter before embarking on Alaskan cruise. Helpful staff but on checking in got confused trying to find lift to our room which was down long corridor then around the corner. Once there elegant spacious room, comfortable beds, with a view on to the street with buildings beyond. Enjoyed short walk to the harbour front to restaurants, Pikes Market, Aquarium and cruise ship terminal. Restaurant attached to hotel where we had breakfast but had to wait some time before we were seated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

I'm glad to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay! It's nice to be close to delicious restaurants and the waterfront. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us! Take care, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I recently spent 10 days in downtown Seattle, dividing my time between three proximate Kimpton hotels: Hotel Monaco, Hotel Vintage Park and the Alexis Hotel. While the Hotel Monaco gets all the love from TripAdvisor reviewers, and all three hotels are very nice, the Alexis Hotel takes first place in my estimation. The rooms are large and very well appointed, with nicer materials and finishes used throughout. The Alexis is a great choice for an affordable, high-end hotel in a great location close to Pioneer Square, the waterfront and Pike Place Market. You can't go wrong with the Alexis.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thanks for such a lovely review! Our location is pretty fantastic for being convenient to all the hot spots in Seattle. Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Located part-way between Pike Place and Pioneer Square in downtown we could walk to many attractions and public transportation for further-out jaunts. The hotel is a re-purposed older building as are other Kimptons, with some confusing, truncated floor plans. We requested a suite for us and our two teens and we were quite pleased with the spacious ballerina-themed room. We could have hosted eight people for dinner! Service was excellent with only minor slip-ups (missing roll-away bed, mysterious honor-bar and wi-fi charges, and Seattle Tourism Fee tacked onto the roll-away bed as well as the room - maybe not their fault but weird). Check your bill.

There are many enjoyable freebies such as daily happy hour, coffee, newpapers in the lobby. You can get more things if you sign up as a Kimpton In-Touch member. To feed you they have the Library Bistro which was not very good when we tried it for breakfast - waited forever to be seated when nearly empty, food mediocre, and menu designed to capture maximum treasure from patrons. There is nothing quick or simple here. This is a big shortcoming for a hotel and just adds to the feeling of being milked for every nickel. Even in the hotel proper, and not exclusively this hotel, you are surrounded by temptations and for-fee items and services and you must be on-guard all the time. This place is not cheap with prices like New York.

The Bookstore Bar looked intriguing but we could not be seated there with the kids. Too bad. Nice atmosphere to enjoy a single-malt and gaze at the book-themed decor. Next time.

Our corner room was quiet for an urban setting. Linens and towels were very good quality. Wifi in the room worked splendidly. I'd recommend even with the minor issues but it is kinda expensive for mere mortals.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouzouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review! The PNW Ballet Suite is pretty lovely, definitely a favorite of many. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the great amenities we have here at the hotel. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Loved our stay at the Alexis Hotel in Seattle. It's in a perfect location -- in walking distance to everything -- the waterfront, Pike's Market, etc. Very accommodating with children -- our room was very well appointed, nicely decorated with many amenities. Loved the 5p - 6p wine hour in the lobby! The staff is great --we had some problems checking in -- our room was not ready until almost 5 and they forgot to call us to let us know, but other than that, everything else was perfect. A shout out to Keith the concierge -- that guy is awesome!!! So so helpful. Downsides -- overnight parking is very expensive -- $42 and the gym is very small. Other than that, I'd go back there for sure...a great hotel...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tvbobdeb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Sorry for the mix up with your check in! I'm happy to hear that this didn't put any dampers on the rest of the trip. Thanks for the great shout out for Keith! He is pretty fantastic when it comes to knowing everything about Seattle. We hope to see you guys again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,757 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.3 mi away
The Fairmont Olympic Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,864 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#11 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $231 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing