We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beyond our Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #5 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lake Mary, FL
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beyond our Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel set in the heart of downtown Seattle. Every part of the hotel that we encountered was luxurious and immaculate. The room was beautiful and ours had a fireplace and comfortable couch in a sitting room with a library of books perfect to read by the fire on a rainy evening. The room also had quite a few thoughtful touches such as extra pillows, towels, and other necessities hidden away. I was most impressed by the staff. The front desk staff almost seemed disappointed if you passed by without requesting anything. They were so friendly and helpful. The valets were also wonderful and did a great job of helping with travel directions and asking other questions. I've never stayed at a hotel where we were made to feel so special and appreciated as a guest. I plan to look for Kimpton hotels on my travels around the country because this hotel made such a great impression on me.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a deluxe room because I was a member of the Kimpton Rewards club.
See more room tips
Green Features: I loved how there was a recycling bin right in the room.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liliemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
"The front desk staff almost seemed disappointed if you passed by without requesting anything." Haha, that might just be true! We are here to take care of you, and each request is an opportunity to make you feel at home in our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    345
    95
    30
    21
See reviews for
330
778
107
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just stayed one night but we had an excellent experience. Even though we arrived early and our room wasn't ready, the front desk staff went out of their way to make things right. We never complained but they apologized for the wait and upgraded us ... the really was no need so I take that as going above and beyond. Hotel is centrally located, downtown close to everything we needed. Wine hour hostess (sorry I forgotten the name!) was very friendly and chatted with us about things to do and see in Seattle whilst there. Thank you, Kimpton!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TucsonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I'm so glad you took advantage of wine hour to get the local scoop! Seattle has so many unique areas, and each member of the staff can point you towards their favorites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My trip to Seattle in February was a complete surprise. My husband had planned the trip for my birthday and Valentine's day. All I knew was it was a two day trip and that he would pack my bag for me. We boarded the train to Portland and arrived in Seattle that same night and he suggested we stay at this hotel as we were walking through the city. Of course, he made reservations, and we were warmly greeted and very taken care of. During the planning phase, my husband told them that I loved tea and explained the reason for our visit, and asked if there was anything they could do to make it special. They know how to do special things for their guests--we were upgraded to they honeymoon suite (HUGE jacuzzi, champagne, and strawberries) complete with a little electric teapot just for me. (It was a nice touch to have complimentary tea in the lobby each morning as well. The room was gorgeous and really clean. I'm super picky (and freaked out) by hotels, but this one was perfect. This may be petty, but they actually had full size (and pretty darn nice) shampoo, conditioner, and body wash in the shower rather than the dinky ones every other hotel gets. We had a nice view too--we could see the water and the ferris wheel even though our room faced the office building next door. We even checked out the little "book" bar within the hotel--AWESOME atmosphere and cool cocktails. We would love to stay at this hotel again when we return to Seattle and would stay at other Kimpton's just because of this experience. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite was fantastic. We went in the middle of the week, so naturally, it wasn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are always excited to learn a little bit about our guests and customize your stay. Share your story with the team so we can make it a memorable visit and make sure your hotel experience has everything you need, including tea : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Nice hotel - nice large room well furnished and modern. Facing the river so didn’t encounter any noise at all. Fairly central to most things although there’s not a whole load of touristy things to do in downtown Seattle – you would need a car to explore the parks etc outside the city. Got a nice room on the fifth floor – very spacious. Staff are all friendly and we stayed here for 3 nights. Had drinks in the bar which was nice – cosy kind of atmosphere. Didn’t eat in the hotel and there are many places for breakfast in the nearby pike market. We got the light rail link in from the airport – its maybe a 5-10 minute walk from the nearest stop to the hotel so it’s fine. Free wifi worked perfectly throughout. If I was returning to Seattle I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
You don't have to have a car to explore the city--just swing by the desk and we'll get you set up with easy, quick, and cheap public transportation routes to just about anywhere you could be going. Greenlake? Catch the 48! West Seattle? Water taxi! UDistrict? Route 73 and you're there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Great staff (especially Keith and Lisa) perfect place to stay for our Alaska cruise. Have to try the blackend Manhattan with a bowl of the best mac and cheese I've ever had. Can't beat the location location location at a great price.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mark55fremonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Agreed--it's just the best mac'n'cheese around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

In our view this is one of the finest suites hotels in America. We've never had a bad experience here. The quality of service and the friendliness of staff is exceptional, and the rooms are (invariably) tasteful, spacious and sensitively designed. Kimpton's has gone out of its way with this hotel to create an outstanding place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePrivacySurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We are proud to be a Kimpton, and to have such kind guests like yourself. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose the Alexis for our first couple nights in Seattle and could not have been happier.

We arrived late, coming in from Philadelphia, and were glad to see everything was ready and waiting for us to get up to our room. It's always great when the late night front desk staff is friendly and energetic. We booked the author's fireplace suite and this is the room we got.

The room starts with a small hallway with an entrance to the bathroom and opening up to a huge living area. It's too bad we weren't entertaining anybody in the room, but it did give us lots of space to spread out and relax. The highlight of the room is the fireplace. They even left us a fake log to burn in it. I'm really glad we found some time in the morning before we checked out to enjoy a light breakfast and read by the fire. The bedroom is a bit small, but you don't need much in there besides the bed anyway. The bathroom was large enough and opens up to both the bedroom and entrance hallway. This room was definitely designed to be able to host a small dinner, but was just as great for us to relax in.

The room was clean and ready for us when we arrived. On the second day we arrived to a great thank you note from the room attendant and a dog towel sculpture. Definitely a fun thing to come back to. Of course the room was cleaned up nicely and both days the bathroom was very clean. The temperature control worked well in the room and I was actually glad to see one of the 'old school' not INNCOM motion sensor units. This meant it kept us warm and cozy all night and day.

What really made this hotel great though was the staff. Every single person we interacted with wanted to help us, whether it be to ask if we needed any help or to offer some tips for things to do around town. We got some great ideas just talking to a lady bringing up room service in the elevator.

The person that really stood out though was Carlos, our server for breakfast at the Library Bistro. We came here one morning for breakfast. We had to leave in an hour and thought that should certainly be enough time for breakfast. Unfortunately we were wrong. I think Carlos realized it was starting to take a while and asked us what our plans were for today. During all the wait he kept us updated and the way he handled the service recovery from our food taking nearly an hour to arrive was excellent. If only every server out there wanted to take care of their customers as much as Carlos.

Overall our stay at the Alexis was excellent. Minus a small hiccup at the restaurant, we left with nothing but excellent memories of our weekend at the Alexis. Next time we make it out to Seattle, the Alexis will be at the top of our places to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We have filled the Alexis with people who truly want to take care of our guests, whether it be in the hotel, or the restaurant. I am happy to see Carlos made a difference during your visit, and will share this feedback with him!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#11 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,472 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.2 mi away
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing