We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, great venue”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel is ideally located halfway between Pike Place Market and Pioneer Square, on the same level (this is important in a city as hilly as Seattle). The hotel itself is lovely, with large rooms and a very comfortable atmosphere. I strongly encourage anyone staying at this hotel to become a Klimpton InTouch member on the Klimpton Hotels website before checkign in. This will mean free wi-fi and some discount coupons for the mini-bar and the lobby bar. The lobby bar is called the Bookstore and has a wonderful mix of single barrel whiskeys and locally crafted beers. There is a one hour wine tasting each day in the lobby that is a lot of fun, with a musician there some days. We were given an upgrade on the room as we were staying there four nights. The room (about $200/night) was large with a separate seating area and a king-size bed. The bed was very comfortable and had a mix of foam and feather pillows. The shower had nice pressure. Wi-fi was available throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndyTravelingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We're all about the local experience--including serving locally brewed beers and Washington wines. And ask any of us at the hotel for our insider tips on things to do in the city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,475
    359
    100
    32
    21
See reviews for
353
839
112
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Me and my wife spent our wedding night there 10 years ago. Spent a couple nights there this past weekend and it was just as great as the first time. Central to everything in downtown Seattle. Great staff, great location, great everything. Can't wait until we can come back!

Room Tip: Centrally located in downtown Seattle. 3 minute walk to Pike Market Place, 5 minutes to Nordstroms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hope we don't have to wait another 10 years to see you back at the Alexis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Alexis with my fiance for a long weekend after Valentine's day. Every single aspect of our stay was just fantastic. The professionalism of the staff was outstanding, but beyond that, the level of customer service was made even more exceptional by the sheer friendliness and cheerfulness of the staff. Not only were they great and knowledgeable at their jobs, they were all fantastic human beings. From Katelyn, Adela, Kye and Nathan at the front desk to Katie, Damian and Jessica at the Bar, Bones at the Library, the guys in the front, Madison, Steve, Christian and Anthony. Keither the Chef Concierge will blow you away with his knowledge of 'neat things to do' in Seattle. The list just goes on. Since the first trip, I've been back just to eat the Mac and Cheese at the Bookstore. It is my first and only choice to stay in Seattle. I

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
WOW! You've got the whole hotel blushing! I am thrilled the staff made such an impression. Welcome to Kimpton : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's just an all-around nice hotel, with helpful staff and a neighborhood that's really convenient to downtown Seattle--the market, the museum, and restaurants. It may not be the fanciest hotel in Seattle, but it may be the nicest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WJClinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We think it's the nicest place to be Seattle--glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Perfect location, warm and helpful service, comfortable beds, cozy bar -- and pet-friendly! It was my great pleasure to spend a spur-of-the-moment night at the Alexis last weekend while in the city to attend Seattle Opera's magnificent production of La Boheme. As always, the hotel and its staff exceeded my expectations. If you go, be sure to make time for a beverage in the Bookstore Bar as well as for long walks around the city's famous market, waterfront and Myrtle Edwards Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleLaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Our guest bikes are a great way to enjoy the waterfront and the market, especially in the spring sunshine we've been having lately!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Came back to Seattle for a few days. Decided to stay at the hotel we stayed at for our honeymoon 10 yrs ago. Still love this hotel. Great location, close to the waterfront. Staff is wonderful, very friendly. We have stayed at other Kimpton hotels. This is one of our favorites. Rooms are spacious and nicely appointed.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dizizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Come visit more often! There is always a reason for an Alexis stay : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We simply love the Alexis! It's our go to place to stay when we want a getaway from regular life. This visit was great as they all have been. When we checked into our room we were upgraded to a beautiful fireplace suite. Plenty of room to lounge around. We've stayed in a number of their room types and they all are beautifully appointed. The beds are extremely comfortable.
The service at the hotel has always been top notch. Everyone is so welcoming and accommodating. Keith, the chief concierge, is extremely knowledgable about the Seattle area and a great "go to" when you want to find a particular shop, restaurant, music. The nightly wine reception is a nice relaxing touch that we look forward to tasting good wine and relaxing and plan our evening.
The Bookstore Bar has a good selection of draft beer and the Cosmo I had was just right and tasty! We had breakfast the next morning in the Library Bistro which was delicious and it's a part of our stay we look forward to. Mmmm fresh squeezed orange juice.... :-)
Thanks again to the Alexis for your continued devotion to customer service and we look forward to our next visit with you!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvmyshihtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We simply love our guests! I'm happy to hear you checked out both the Bistro and the Bar--we're lucky to have such quality and unique dining right in the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,584 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#12 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,966 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing