We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Gorgeous Alexis.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #6 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Thornhill, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Alexis.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

This is our second stay with Kimpton Hotels and Alexis totally lived up to our expectations and exceeded them. We were upgraded and stayed at the stunning ballet suite that overlooked the bay. At night we got to see a lit Ferris wheel and during the day enjoyed watching the ferries go in and out. We also had enjoyed the most comfortable sleep and took advantage of our beautiful dining room by ordering a take out on Valentine's day. This hotel was superbly located and was close to the Pike Place Market, tonns of great restaurants, Seattle Art Museums and West Lake shopping centre. We attended a conference at the convention centre but preferred to walk from Alexis and stay in a pretty part of town. What makes Kimpton hotels more special is their staff who went out of their way to do make our stay über comfortable. Thanks guys and ladies!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Queen_Marg0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We think it's our incredible guests that make Kimpton special!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,396
    348
    99
    31
    21
See reviews for
335
795
107
345
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I travel to Seattle ~ quarterly on business, and the Alexis is now my first choice hotel. Great location -- walking distance to the waterfront even with a 4 yr old (who was with me on my last trip). Clean rooms. Wonderful staff (although this is somewhat redundant with saying "it's a Kimpton"). Free "raid the mini-bar" for Kimpton In Touch members. Good breakfast experience at the Library Bistro (standard hotel breakfast prices, but better than standard egg white omelet).

Now for the biased part of the review: On my most recent stay, my room was upgraded. I can only say - Wow. I have no idea if the EMP suite is good value generally, but as an upgrade it was absolutely fantastic. Corner room on top floor. You can see the waterfront with the Ferris wheel (aka Seattle Great Wheel) and the ferries docking. The suite is huge, which provides sound insulation from the usual hotel noise (doors closing, etc.), and the high floor reduces street noise. It made me want to go to Seattle in February more often!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImALightSleeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Isn't the EMP suite a treat? We love to "WOW" our guests and show them what Kimpton style really is!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Found this Hotel on Trip Advisor. Excellent value. Very well located Hotel that is within walking distance to most sights. Took the advice on TA and signed up for the free Kimpton Club before we went. Do not pay extra for upgrades they send you prior to arriving. We were upgraded to a larger room immediately upon arrival. Everyone was very friendly. Room was large and clean. We had a couple small issues which I brought up nicely the next morning. The staff bent over backwards to make us happy and address our needs. I could not have been happier with the service and friendliness of the staff. Very helpful concierge.

Room Tip: Do not buy the upgrade options prior to arriving and they will upgrade for free if possible. Ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsasser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Yes we love giving out suprise upgrades whenever we can! If you book a suite at a discounted price before check in, it guarantees an amazing room. If you are the gambling type, definitely roll the dice on the upgrade. But make sure to pack your lucky socks, because we don't have enough upgrades for everyone!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet hotel centrally located in downtown Seattle ... Close to waterfront and Pikes Place. Short walk to fabulous shopping and monorail. Rooms spacious, clean and very comfortable. Very enjoyable happy hour tasting local wines every evening. Staff very helpful. Restaurants very good and reasonable

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OzJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Wine hour is so much fun, I'm glad you joined us for it! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend get-away. Staff went out of their way to make sure we had a good time. So, now for the fair and accurate part, we had two small issues (not worth any reduction) ...
1. not always a concierge on duty, but the front desk staff tries really hard to give good restaurant information.
2. Housekeeping made small oversight in leaving clean coffee mugs.
Would we stay here again ... you betcha.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I wish we could have Keith the concierge here all the time! I'm glad to hear you'll be back--we'll get those mugs cleaned up for ya : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary when we stayed here and the room is huge! The bathroom and the elevated soaker tub therein is also enormous and no detail is overlooked. We felt very pampered and though it was only one night, the city and the hotel and the ambience of both were wonderful. We received a free glass of wine just for checking in and they had more in our room to celebrate the occassion. The Library Bistro is a great place for breakfast. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoganTheHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
The details are what make a celebration exceptional, and they really stand out in our spa suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I got the Honeymoon Suite during a business trip, and at first I was thinking it was going to feel strange (by myself), but it was such a gorgeous room, and the big jacuzzi tub was relaxing. Just such a pristine, relaxing, comfortable, luxurious, beautiful room! Loved it, can't say enough about it. The staff was excellent as well, from the valet, front desk & bar...just Excellent!!! Thank you Alexis Hotel for exceeding my expectations!

Room Tip: Opt for the Honeymoon Suite even if you are not on your Honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Isn't that room stunning? There's no reason not to let us spoil you at the Alexis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel 1000
Hotel 1000
#10 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.6 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#5 of 102 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,611 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast’s Gold List, the Alexis Hotel recently completed a $10 million renovation, making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel’s commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Library Bistro & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing