We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Ranked #3 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful.”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and I were traveling to celebrate our thirtieth anniversary. We were greeted with congratulations and a bottle of champaign. The staff was wonderfully helpful and attentive. The location of the hotel was perfect, convenient to Pike Place market, downtown, and the waterfront. The hotel was a restored old building. Small, but beautiful, and extremely well furnished. The attached restaurant and bar were warm and comforting. We would stay there again if we returned to Seattle.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrose1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
We love to celebrate occasions big and small, so we hope to see you back in Seattle soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,516
    369
    100
    33
    23
See reviews for
365
862
113
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Alexis is where you need to stay. A perfect mix of on-the-spot location, simpering relaxation, classic style, elegant romance and you-come-first customer service. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: The Spa Suite will romance you like Johnny Castle romanced 'Baby.'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for the kind review- we strive to reflect the many interests and needs of our guests in everything we do, and I'm glad the we struck a good mix!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Excellent vacation, the staff watched our dogs while we were able to go out, they are very nice and accommodating towards people with dogs, highly recommended, awesome location right on first street, a 3 min walk to pike market

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Nothing makes the front desk staff happier than a puppy to play with, so never hesitate to bring your pets along! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My client suggested the Alexis for a recent business trip--& I am thrilled they did. I love Kimpton hotels because they never feel like a chain. The Alexi was no exception. Great staff, gorgeous room in the older part of the hotel (w/an exposed brick wall), great pub called The Bookstore (hey- Barnes & Noble - are you listening?) that locals clearly frequent, and great service.

The location is walking distance from the business district, across the street from teh Art Museum, and a few blocks away from Pikes Place.

Room Tip: I love the atmosphere of the older part of the hotel. I had a room facing traffic, but I enjoy "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
One of my favorite parts of this hotel is the chance to peek at an older Seattle with all the modern luxuries. We do not think of ourselves as a chain, and I'm glad you don't either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We love the Alexis hotel! We've stayed at all three Kimpton family hotels in Seattle and all are good, but the Alexis is our favorite by far. The location on 1st and Madison is great for walking distance access to Pike Place Market. Pioneer Square, and one of our favorite steak restaurants, the Metropolitan Grill. The beds are always super comfy, the staff from the bell man, to the bartender, to the front desk are always so friendly. We also enjoy the complimentary wine hour from 5-6pm which features a Washington red and white wine for enjoyment. I highly recommend joining the Kimpton rewards program, it is free, and you get a $10 mini bar credit and can eventually earn a complimentary stay.

This particular stay (on April 28th) was to celebrate my husband's 37th birthday. I emailed the concierge, Keith Dowsing, just to say it was my husband's birthday and mentioned that he really enjoyed craft beers, especially a good IPA. Keith was in email communication with me before our stay suggesting a couple of IPA's from Pike Place Microbrewery and some fresh mixed nuts from the market on the house. He had a great personality about him in his emails, was even funny making a "hoppy" joke :-) We went to check in and they said our room wasn't quite ready but they gave us a couple drink vouchers for the Bookstore Bar which is right in the hotel and we love that place. We went and had a beer and the front desk agent (I can't remember her name but she was extremely nice and hospitable) called me not too much longer to say our room was ready. We went up to our room and they had surprised us with an upgrade to a spa suite! When we came back from dinner and going out on the town the turn down service had left the mixed nuts and IPA's which was so nice. Woke up the next morning and had breakfast in the Library Bistro which is always so tasty. They have the best restaurant coffee and fresh squeezed orange juice!

Thank you Alexis Hotel and to all of your fabulous employees for yet another truly memorable stay and we look forward to our next return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iluvmyshihtzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Isn't Keith just wonderful? We have an entire staff who not only ensures the basics are covered, but who truly enjoy going above and beyond to make your day special. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Hotel is very comfortable and management is quite helpful. Location is central to downtown but the hotel is quiet. Room was plenty large for 3 of us. Booked the room on Hotwire and got a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DukeFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Perfect for any family, we hope! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We recently spent two nights in Seattle at the Alexis for a quick romantic getaway before the holidays. It was an incredible experience thanks to the remarkable setting and service of one of the finest hotels we have ever been to. We travel regularly, both with and without children, and have high expectations. The Seattle Alexis definitely met ours!

Location – An ideal location for all travelers, the hotel is near great shopping, Pike Place Market, the Seattle Art Museum, everything. The views of the city and Puget Sound are also stunning, particularly with the sights and sounds of Seattle! We walked all over the city on foot but public transportation was easily accessible as well.

Design - The modern twist on the typical Northwest architecture and look really appealed to us. The use of natural resources and earth-toned materials are absolutely beautiful. The lobby is very warm and welcoming with a unique blend of art and design. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable - full of incredible art work and unique touches. The in-room business area is very practical with more than enough space to work comfortably. We were also impressed with the bathroom – there’s a huge bathtub with shower, along with many other amenities.

Service - The staff definitely lives up to the Alexis (Kimpton) standard. Every staff person seemed to know our names, from the doorman to the wait staff to the concierge. We were in Seattle to celebrate our 10 years of being married together. The staff did everything they could to assist us in making this our best trip yet. Thanks Chris, Ali, Lisa, Keith, and the team members at Alexis

Food - The food was fantastic...the best part was again the service - Thanks alot Lisa for the king size ice bucket...haha

All in all, our stay was amazing! The Alexis is your best option if you are in Seattle for business or pleasure.

Wesley and Kelly Brown
Langley, British Columbia Canada

Room Tip: Request a theme room..... Privacy Please signs should only be used if you DONT want your room cle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jenne_neptune, General Manager at Kimpton Alexis Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. I have sent a link to your review to the staff so they can see your great comments about them! See you next time~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
0.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,072 reviews
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,667 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Seattle
0.0 mi away
Loews Hotel 1000, Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Alexis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Alexis Hotel

Property: Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Address: 1007 First Ave., Seattle, WA 98104-1007
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Business Hotel in Seattle
#3 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#4 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Green Hotel in Seattle
#12 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Alexis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently on Conde Nast's Gold List, Kimpton Alexis Hotel knows how to raise the bar with stand out hospitality and amenities (including Amazon Echo Dots in every room and suite) making it the ultimate luxury boutique hotel in Seattle. The hotel's commitment to the Seattle arts community and its savvy, unfaltering service combine to make this Kimpton Hotel a unique downtown destination. Near the waterfront, the Kimpton Alexis Hotel is close to Pioneer Square & the Stadium District, Pike Place Market, the Seattle waterfront and the Seattle Art Museum. Adjacent to the hotel is the intimate Author's Corner & Bookstore Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Alexis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexis Hotel Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing