We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”
Review of Belltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belltown Inn
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had to add a roll-away bed because the room had just one bed and the room had very limited space. No air conditioner but a fan. No stairs only elevator use. Overall not a bad hotel. Good location about 10 minutes to the space needle, EMP museum and chihuly garden. In the opposite direction the Pike place market and the Gum wall are in close walking distance too. You can take the light rail to monorail from airport.

Room Tip: Other reviews have said to get a higher level, courtyard room, and that's just what I did. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jessabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2014

I stayed here on the understanding that it was at the cheaper end of the market hotel but it was still expensive due to it being SeaFair weekend. I arrived in the evening and it was BOILING hot in the room, I assumed the air con was broken so when I asked in reception the following morning if I could change rooms I was greeted with a shrug and 'none of the rooms have AC, you have a fan right?' I tried to book myself into the hotel my friends were staying in at a similar cost (with AC) but no joy so had to stay put. I resolved trying to sleep in the unbearable heat by putting my bottom sheet & pillow case in the fridge before going out in the evening :) Being charged $5 per night for wifi was pretty poor especially as they didn't point out I could have it for free in the lobby.

There was one guy behind the desk Jim who was great, very knowledgeable about the area and and really helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

There was a lot disappointing about my stay at the Belltown Inn. Based on some of the reviews, I expected to find an interesting place in an up-and-coming neighbourhood. One website called Belltown "funky," which made me think Bohemian, with lots of arty shops and good restaurants. While there are parts of the area that are neat, there are other spots that fall more into the category of "sketchy."

The Belltown Inn itself is nothing special. The room was small and the bathroom was cramped.

The worst part: no air conditioning. It was hot and humid and the only source of air was a balcony door overlooking the street. With the ceiling fan and a floor fan going non-stop, nothing cooled the room off. Having the door open meant hearing the traffic on a fairly busy street, and the balcony door hung almost directly over the traffic. Between buses going by every 10 minutes and the oppressive heat, I had two pretty much sleepless nights.

The upside was that the room was clean and the service was very friendly. The location is pretty convenient for being a tourist - close to the Seattle Centre, to downtown, to Pike Place. Century Link Field and Safeco Field are a healthy half-hour's walk away. So, not a terrible place. But overpriced for what you're getting.

I am generally pretty forgiving. I knew it wasn't the Four Seasons. But a small, cramped, hot room with no sleep tends to make me a little cranky.

Room Tip: Insist on a room overlooking the courtyard. The street noise is incessant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fernwoodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This place is all about location! It is centrally located and walkable to downtown Seattle, The Space Needle, Pike Place market, ferry terminals, the waterfront and many other places you would visit in Seattle.

The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a small kitchenette as well. It is a little noisy if you get a roadside room but not so bad with the door closed. The sliding door was vital to circulate air as it was rather warm when we were there! There is a ceiling fan though so that does the job once the hot air is flushed out. A few free welcome drinks in the fridge were appreciated also.

Most staff members were extremely helpful and friendly and there are loads of great restaurants in the area to eat at too. There is a convenience store right across the road, great access to public transport if you don't feel like walking and free bikes for cruising around too. WiFi in the lobby is hit and miss but there are computers free to use also.

Overall, this is a great choice for Seattle with reasonable prices and in a prime location. Take a drink up to the roof top deck while you're there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stacey81HongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Only stayed here a night. Tired from a long flight from London I was keen to get a quiet and cool room for a decent nights sleep. Having read reviews I was dreading a roadside, hot room but I got quite the opposite; a ground floor courtyard facing room which didn't seem to get that warm (thanks to the blinds being left shut and the ceiling fan). Seattle was very warm but I slept well and the room was very quiet. Some lovely touches; free drinks in the fridge, fabulous towels, offer of bike hire and a peaceful rooftop terrace (a perfect suntrap). The room was nothing special but it was clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The TV offered multiple channels (much better than much higher spec hotels I stayed in after the Belltown) and wifi was 5 dollars. Breakfast tip;- go to Bedlam (a 1 minute walk away). They do amazing cinnamon toast and with a cup of tea it was very cheap but yummy. Really interesting decor, could have spent hours in there! Staff were helpful and efficient. Hotel in a good location, 5 minutes from the waterfront and 10 minutes walk to downtown. Grocery shops on your doorstep and a great restaurant pretty much next door. All in all a good find although I think I was a little lucky with the room I was allocated.

Room Tip: Courtyard room is a must Check out the rooftop terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ljw77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel is cute, with very friendly and helpful staff. It is well located, with easy access by foot or public transportation to key sights in the city. BUT....too many disappointments during our stay....(and I am usually very tolerant for hotels that are not perfect)... for one they doubled the room prices because there was a major event going on in the city that weekend; the room was small, and the one window looked out on what could only be described as an air shaft, straight into someone else's window about 12 feet away. The" a/c" was an open window, a ceiling fan and a floor fan. They charged $5 a day for WiFi in the room. At the inflated price we were charged that weekend it was not worth the price.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window that doesn't look out on an airshaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ArezzoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Half the price of other hotels in the area. And it shows. No air, so you have to open the window to a very busy street. Cleaning staff does the bare minimum. Other staff seems apathetic. TV channels very confusing to navigate.

It does have free bikes and a roof top deck area which is nice.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 104 in Seattle
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 104 in Seattle
1,963 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltown Inn

Address: 2301 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $106 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belltown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful guestrooms in a fantastic central location. We're located within easy walking distance of the historic Pike's Public Market, the Space Needle and Seattle Center grounds (including the Opera House, Key Arena, the MoPOP museum, Pacific Science Center and more), the Symphony Hall, the Convention Center, two major malls, the cruise ship terminals and central waterfront, and so much more. Our lovely guest rooms include beautiful, crisp linens, spacious work desks, and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belltown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing