We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Street Construction Noise KILLED my experience”
Review of Belltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belltown Inn
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I would have given Belltown Inn a 4 out of 5 had it not been for the street noise which is directly attributed to the Inn's cheap, thin windows that do NOTHING to block out outside noise, unlike most windows in hotels or commercial buildings. There were two construction projects going on when I was there: 1) street restoration of Bell Street (Monday - Friday daytime construction); and 2) building construction of a condo building on 3rd Street (weekend 24-hour/overnight construction). I had a room on the top floor that faced both of these things, plus a dog park at the corner of Bell and 3rd. Please, some one tell me why I could hear in my room on the top floor, over my TV, a conversation of construction workers on the ground below?!!? I could even hear when a dog owner yelled at their dog to behave! I was on the 5th floor of Belltown Inn, folks!! If Belltown Inn had some proper windows in that place, it would have blocked or muffled the street noise adequately enough to win a higher rating. Because the Inn has such competitive prices, they were fully booked and there was no option for me to switch to the "quieter" side of the building. On top of that, I booked through Expedia and so I couldn't get any money back or any compensation for the noise. The front desk attendent upon my check out didn't even offer anything else in compensation for the noise -- like a discount on my next stay with Belltown Inn, or a magnet, or an apology....they seemed annoyed that I mentioned the noise and replied with "yeah, people have mentioned the noise." Thanks, front desk guy, your glib comment is so comforting given the three nights of disturbed sleep I got from the craptacular Inn windows that do nothing to regulate the noise from the outside.

Here's some advice....shop on Expedia for a competitive rate, but book directly through the Inn. Ask about the progress of construction, and request a room as far away from it as possible. Bring some ear plugs with you. Don't bring batteries for your hearing aids. Bring your own utensils and dishware for the kitchenette -- there aren't any or some one stole them.

Aside from the noise.....the Inn was pretty good for the rate. The kitchenette was great, the room & grounds were in good condition. The rooms had nice finishes -- countertops and window sills that resembled granite or was low-grade granite. Furniture was good - bed was firm but clean. Clearly from my previous comments, they skimped on quality windows. Great location. Great places to eat all around -- try 360Local on 1st for brunch. Walking distance to the Public Market, Space Needle, Seattle Public Library, Seattle Art Museum, and everything else Seattle has to offer. Tula's Jazz club on 2nd was good too. Overall, I'd consider staying at the Inn again....once all the construction was DONE.

Room Tip: Request rooms AWAY from the Bell & 3rd Streets construction zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,083)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,083 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

Belltown inn is a 15 minute walk from westgate station on the light rail which makes it very accessible for travelers. Additionally it is very central in the Seattle downtown in a trendy neighborhood and within several blocks of the waterfront on the west, Seattle tower/EMP museum to the North, and pike's market to the south. The queen size bed single room was affordable at $70-100 per night and the furnishings were average. My main complaints were that the room was musty and the pillows were too big. The rooms also did not have internet which is inconvenient but the computers in the lobby were free. Overall I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank restless1ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Awesome location with very helpful and friendly staff. They we very flexible and found a way to get us checked in 2 hours early so we could be on time for our friend's wedding. Pike's place market, the Olympic Scupture Park and Space Needle are all about a 10 minute walk away and the Belltown neighboorhood has a ton of great restaurants, bars and intertesting shops. I would definitely recommend it to friend travelling to Seattle.

Only thing that could be improved is the bedding, could be a bit snugglier.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zachary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in Seattle for three nights after our Alaska cruise ended and chose the Belltown Inn as our base of operations to explore the city. It was convenient to all Seattle attractions and bus routes. The staff were extremely helpful, with tips on restaurants for a quick breakfast and what to see first (Chihuly Gallery!). Within two hours of our arrival, I'd finished a week's worth of laundry in their little laundry room. There were Starbucks coffee packets in the room. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.

We'd read the reviews about street noise so had requested a courtyard room. No problems whatsoever. Belated thanks for a very enjoyable trip!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cannemcleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

located right near all restaurants and short bus ride to everything else. They have higher rates in the summer than the guide book tells you. No air conditioning, however they did provide two fans, barely adequate. It was relatively quiet with the window open . Only one woof as they permit dogs. Oh, and the dog park is right opposite the lobby entrance. Clean and comfortable even in its age. Freshly painted and they don't charge for water and soda from the fridge. Easy to use laundry machines and computers. Folks were really nice with no smoking making it much more comfortable.
Homeless folks are everywhere, lots of smoking locals however none in the restaurants, even the outside part.
I definitely return to this one.

Room Tip: choose an inside room, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sondra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

This place smells awful. It's located above an Egyptian restaurant and the leftover smells linger. The staff try to hide the smells by overdoing it with cleaners. The lobby and rooms are dated but clean, although smelly. Vagrants hangout in front and in the hotel. They yell to each other all night. Also located very close to a fire department. Expect yelling or sirens all night. Only one elevator. No free breakfast. Easy walk to several points if interest.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SD_marylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Good value and convenient location. Nice touch to have bikes available. Room was clean and well appointed. Being on the inner courtyard is a must. Refrig, microwave & sink made it easy to eat in room. Helpful staff at desk provided map and restaurant tips for neighborhood. I had a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cricketcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#36 of 104 in Seattle
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 104 in Seattle
1,963 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltown Inn

Address: 2301 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $106 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belltown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful guestrooms in a fantastic central location. We're located within easy walking distance of the historic Pike's Public Market, the Space Needle and Seattle Center grounds (including the Opera House, Key Arena, the MoPOP museum, Pacific Science Center and more), the Symphony Hall, the Convention Center, two major malls, the cruise ship terminals and central waterfront, and so much more. Our lovely guest rooms include beautiful, crisp linens, spacious work desks, and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belltown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing