We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Construction and Street noise”
Review of Belltown Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Belltown Inn
Ranked #46 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we checked in - he said you have 2 choices.. Street Noise rooms or CONSTRUCTION noise rooms.. We choose construction - they start at 7:30 ish, so we could shower and go out for coffee. The construction workers can look right into your room, we were on the 3rd floor. The good thing is there is Free water bottles!! so we got lots every day.. NO AIR CONDITIONING either.. so the rooms were HOT, as all they have is a Celing Fan, and a stand up fan in the corner. We walked everywhere.. Lots of restaurants close by. Doggie Park across the street, was the highlight.. fun to watch them play.. Street construction right on Bell too, so hotel hard to get to. We wouldn't stay there again.. I am NOT a complainer, but Someone should have told us about all THE CONSTRUCTION NOISE.. we woud have chosen another hotel.. nice enough people at the front desk. local 360 was our best meal.. $$$$

Room Tip: go as high up as you can.. away from street noise and construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CloverdaleCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

The only thing going for it relative to other hotels in the area is price. Bus service is good an there is a lot that is within walking distance, so if you don't have a car, it works. If you do have a car, be prepared to pull out some bills, but it's the same at the big hotels downtown. There is no a/c, so you have to decide if fresh air is worth keeping the window open and getting the full street noise as opposed to partial. I was surprised at the amount of noise when the window was closed. Not well insulated. The bathroom door was not hung properly, so it was awkward to close. The mattress was okay, the pillows were balloonish and the bedding was on the rough side. We were woken up a little after 5AM by the elephant in room above us.

In the future I'll stick with getting a room in a B&B on Capitol Hill. The accomodations are better and when you add in parking a meal, less expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

There is NO PARKING provided. Was very disapointed to find that my parking choices were either street parking or in a lot 2 blocks away.

To go along with that there is no loading/unloading area so your choices are to either circle the block until you can find street parking, or park 2 blocks away and drag all your luggage to the hotel.

Other issues with this hotel: Air Conditioning (usually not a problem but is occassionally needed), lots of homeless in the area (was concerned about car parked on the street), was disapointed that we were not given notice of construction happening next door to the hotel as the noise from that (and the traffic) was excessive. Also had poor blinds that didn't stop the room from being bright at 6am.

To top it off, we had a prostitute working down the hall from us (we know this from the 3 different johns we saw her with and listening to her talk about making "easy money" on the phone outside the hotel)

It isn't without some pluses though, as everybody has said there is ample landmarks and restaurants around.

We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I've started staying here as the business hotels get full and expensive during the summer. I love Belltown so keep that in mind. This hotel is centrally located to belltown and downtown Seattle.

Good: Its rooms are large enough to work in. They have business desk in room with high speed internet. Coffee, small refrigerator and water as part of the room. Clean rooms with plenty of non-AC services (ceiling fan and standing fan).

Bad: Neighborhood is edgy (not dangerous). No AC (but it is Seattle). TV is only 19in and cable channels are limited.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank semimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

No air conditioning in the rooms!!! No mention was made of this in any of their advertisements. The room was dreary, the blind did not close completely and no curtain over the blind to keep the light out during the night. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. When we checked in, the two clerks made sure to let us know that this was a 100% non smoking hotel (no problem with us); however, I did mention while standing at the checkin desk that I did smell smoke, to which they both gingerly replied, "oh, that's us, we're both smokers." Lovely...

Room Tip: Make sure your hotel has air conditioning in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bridgeplayer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for one night in May before a Celebrity Alaska cruise. The location was perfect for this as one could walk down the hill to the embarkation wharf in 5 minutes. Room was comfortable, staff very helpful, the free bikes were a great benefit. There is a building site right next door which could be a problem if you wanted to rest during the day. Use the stairs rather than waiting for the slow elevator. There is a small supermarket across the street for all your supplies. Would have stayed there after the cruise as well except that the room rate jumped up at the start of June when we were due to return, so we stayed at the Inn at Queen Anne instead

Room Tip: Stay on a low floor for quick access to the lobby by the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoddaSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Parking awkward
Staff only just friendly enough, not friendly, simply acceptable
Room moderate, clean enough, but a bit tired
Noisy at night from courtyard -was warm and no A/C, so had to sleep with window open - fountain and people below took some getting used to
Location pretty good and price pretty good
I guess it is what it is

Room Tip: Courtyard noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#31 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#37 of 104 in Seattle
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 104 in Seattle
1,963 reviews
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belltown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belltown Inn

Address: 2301 3rd Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1711
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $106 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Belltown Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer beautiful guestrooms in a fantastic central location. We're located within easy walking distance of the historic Pike's Public Market, the Space Needle and Seattle Center grounds (including the Opera House, Key Arena, the MoPOP museum, Pacific Science Center and more), the Symphony Hall, the Convention Center, two major malls, the cruise ship terminals and central waterfront, and so much more. Our lovely guest rooms include beautiful, crisp linens, spacious work desks, and kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Belltown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belltown Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing