We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating lecture and tour of Seattle's surprising colorful history”

Bill Speidel's Underground Tour
Ranked #16 of 153 Tours in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Underground Paranormal Experience gives you the expertise and equipment to do your own investigation. Search for paranormal activity in the famous Seattle Underground using the same sophisticated investigative equipment employed by trained professional paranormal investigators. The Underground Paranormal Experience may haunt you for the rest of your life. Don’t Watch Ghost Hunters. Be One!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fascinating lecture and tour of Seattle's surprising colorful history”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The story in the beginning of the tour is the very best amazing what the city went through to become what it is today enjoyed it totally

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank shirl934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,770
    1,165
    458
    163
    103
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Good Tour For History Of Seattle”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My friend recommended I do this tour as have visited Seattle a few times but never did this tour.

It is a great insight into the history of Seattle. I found it fascinating it was Seattle was built on flats and that the level of the city had to be increased in height to prevent flooding. Our guide Mary was very knowledgable and had a zing about her. She always had a few good one liners and kept the group entertained. Lots of going up and downstairs (mostly outside) and since it was raining and it was a large group, we all got wet. Rain is the typical weather of Seattle though. Probably the only downside of the tour.

Other than that it was an interesting tour and well worth trying.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank rc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yes! Yes! Yes!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I attended the "after hours" tour, which just means that certain less savory aspects of Seattle's history were spoken of in plain language and not just innuendo. I thoroughly enjoyed learning of Seattle's early history and seeing what remains of the early city.

There's a lot of walking, including up and down stairs and over uneven flooring.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really?”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

As a lifelong resident of Seattle I was completely unaware of our unusual history that involves tides, Mr. crapper, fires and deadly entrances to store fronts. The tours I have been on with out of town guests have all been with equally funny and interesting guides. If you haven't done it, do it! It's so Seattle.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank campaignpremiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I mean - the stories were a little interesting ... but it's kind of like wandering through a basement and sometimes you are in a place where it is too noisy or you are too far from the tour guide to hear what is happening. I prefer the ghost tour. Much more fun and they talk about the gruesome details of what early Seattle life was about.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank InsolitoDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Speidel's Underground Tour also viewed

 

Been to Bill Speidel's Underground Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing