We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Seattle Art Museum
from $20.52
More Info
from $12.31
More Info
Reviews (1,554)
Filter reviews
1,554 results
Traveler rating
769
512
213
42
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
769
512
213
42
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews permanent collection special exhibit porcelain room on display gift shop rainy day few hours couple of hours louvre aboriginal northwest galleries admission century objects diversity downtown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 1,554 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2019

Everything about the gallery was well done. We wanted to visit an art gallery whilst in Seattle and chose this one as it seemed to be the one most mentioned. We saw a touring exhibition (victorian radicals) and then visited the main galleries. The works are well lit and well labelled and the gallery is spacious enough for one to not feel crowded. There is a good cafe and gift shop.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank whtndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Collection is about what you'd expect for a smaller city museum. Some outstanding pieces, some lesser works by masters. Definitely worth visiting if you're in Seattle, but not worth a special trip.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Mudge828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

We went to see Radical Victorians. Very well curated special exhibit. Best part of our visit was the contemporary art permanent collection. The Mask Collection is amazing and well worth spending extra time with.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank MOB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019

You can't go wrong spending a few hours in the Seattle Art Museum. There are some quality pieces here. The Museums is not a star amongst the Best American Art Museums, but, it is no slouch either. Like the museum itself, there are few star works, but, again there is plenty to enjoy. The Porcelain collection is impressive. There is an interesting African Art exhibit. The modern collection has some interesting works. During my visit there was an exceptional Pre-Raphaelite exhibition. Some stars there!!!

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Lance H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019

SAM excels in objects and display techniques. Both their permanent (e.g., Islamic Art) and special exhibits (e.g., Victorian Radicals) were extraordinary. In fact, we were able to visit twice -- both before and after -- our cruise; a special discount is given for cruise passengers. Their gift/book shop on the lower level is also worth a visit as it's spacious and has a great selection of local artists in different mediums. In short, I'll happily return the next trip to Seattle.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank GlobalGypsy_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews