We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Museum!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seattle Art Museum

Seattle Art Museum
Book In Advance
Book Now
Ranked #26 of 435 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: SAM has been the center for world-class visual arts in the Pacific Northwest since 1933. Visit SAM to see a museum carved into the city, as much a part of Seattle's landscape and personality as the coffee, rain, mountains, Pike Place Market, and the Space Needle. Our three distinct locations celebrate the region's position as a crossroads where east meets west, urban meets natural, local meets global. Our collections, installations, special exhibitions, and programs feature art from around the world and build bridges between cultures and centuries. ​
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Lovely Museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is a really nice museum with some very interesting exhibits. It's easy to see in an hour or two, and then go on to do something else in the city. Fran's Chocolates across the street sells great coffee/hot chocolate for after your visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank craftyphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    390
    166
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berea, Kentucky
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Peru: Kingdoms of the Sun and the Moon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Must see to experience the wonders of the little known Peruvian civilizations from early BC to the present through to January 5, 2014. Discover. The diversity and beauty of one of the six cradles of civilization and 3,000 years through rare art, colorful ceramics, silverworks, and textiles.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hackbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
534 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Beautiful Peruvian Art Exhibit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

SAM is currently exhibiiting a beautiful Peruvian art exhibit that captures the native history and art of the country. It isn't a huge exhibit and will take you probably an hour to an hour and a half to get through but it is worth seeing for all of the precious metals used (gold and silver in particular). There's an impressive silver and jewel encrusted pelican (though it looks more like a big crane) that was used as an urn and a knotted recordkeeping and "writing" system that consists of colored twisted string with various knots. These are just two of the highlights.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good museum.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

The museum has a very good variety of art exhibits. During our visit they had a special exhibit on Peru which was excellent. We saw a good representation of the Peruvian art we had seen in Peru during a visit 3 years ago. They also had some good modern art and a great section on African art.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oregon_Coast_Duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
476 reviews
295 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“I stop in every time I'm in Seattle; always worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

SAM is a fine museum, and I have actually been a member for many years even though I live out-of-state. I make a point of it to visit SAM during my annual trips to Seattle. I always stay downtown, so it is easy to walk there. [Note: closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, but open until 2100 on Thursdays]

The museum’s permanent collections are quite varied, including works from Africa, Europe, the U.S., the ancient Mediterranean and most of Asia. There are also decorative arts (mainly Europe), contemporary art and galleries featuring native American and northwest (U.S.) art. My favorites are the African pieces and the paintings from 19th century America. Even though there are no iconic artworks equaling the status of “Night Watch,” “Guernica,” “The Scream” or “The Thinker,” there is much to see that is interesting. I always wind up spending a good two hours roaming the galleries.

One feature I really enjoy about SAM: there are always at a couple or more temporary installations showing concurrently, of which at least one is bound to pique my interest. The current one about Peru (special ticketed exhibition, on view through January 2014) far exceeded my expectations, and I would recommend taking a diversion to see this. Go to SAM’s website and look at the “Upcoming” page to see some of the amazing art that is heading to Seattle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seattle Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing