We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glam at the SAM”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Seattle Art Museum

Seattle Art Museum
Ranked #25 of 438 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: SAM has been the center for world-class visual arts in the Pacific Northwest since 1933. Visit SAM to see a museum carved into the city, as much a part of Seattle's landscape and personality as the coffee, rain, mountains, Pike Place Market, and the Space Needle. Our three distinct locations celebrate the region's position as a crossroads where east meets west, urban meets natural, local meets global. Our collections, installations, special exhibitions, and programs feature art from around the world and build bridges between cultures and centuries. ​
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glam at the SAM”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were in the city for a few days prior to our cruise and decided to see the Japanese Couture Collection. Upon arrival, there is a woman sitting at, what we thought was the reception desk, but it was not (still not sure the purpose), and were directed to another desk up a few stairs . The woman seemed bothered that we were there and was not friendly. The reception desk attendant was nice enough, a young man, but was wearing a low cut sweater with his chest hair hanging out, very inappropriate and something I would have rather not seen. The Japanese exhibit was very interesting and nicely arranged. The staff were very protective of the art work - which of course is their role - but they seemed to almost make one feel as though if you looked at something in the "wrong" way you would be reprimanded. Just didn't feel welcomed. We browsed through the remainder of the museum but moved quickly and went on our way. A shame really - just got bad vibes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Butterflyshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    399
    168
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good museum in an interesting city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed this museum. They have a very diverse collection of modern art to antiquities. The collection is not as large as in some museums in other major cities, but it was enjoyable, and whenever we visit Seattle, we like to check out the SAM. Their special exhibits in July 2013 were very good - Japanese fashion design from the 1980's, as well as a variety of African masks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daejeon, South Korea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I really enjoyed SAM's collection. I liked the diversity of cultures (Japanese, Native, American, European, African), ages (classical to modern) and genres (painting and sculptures to multimedia and fashion). It was also very well curated with each room providing a clear "theme" as soon as one passes through the gallery's archways. Descriptions on the wall linked everything together so seemlessly that it was equally condusive to folks who just want to casually breeze through as well as to those who might take their time and soak in the pieces. I especially appreciated the balance of information and the focus on the work itself. I have never been a bit fan of too much editorializing and like the opportunity to "react" to the pieces on my own. I really enjoyed the Japanese designer exhibit that was on when we visited as it furthered my appreciation for fashion as an art form, but I think my favourite must be the Porcelain Room. It was so impressive that they organized everything by colour and size rather than by country and age. It was such an unconventional yet aesthetically-appropriate approach and the result is stunning. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmuse78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ecclectic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The collection included a wide range of post-modern art, modern art, and antiquity from various cultures. I can't say I have visited an art museum with a varied collection. The spectrum was refreshing, moved us along. We left saying we would have to come back because we just didn't have enough time to spend with every exhibit. The price is right. Parking is hard to find and expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting collection but funky welcome”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Went there for the Japanese Beauty of the future exhibition. Pure magic. The regular collection is very interesting too.
But some people at the ticketing counter and at the cloak room had a quite obnoxious attitude. Sorry.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jean jacques j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seattle Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing