We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #45 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Stayed at The Roosevelt 7/2-7/4 and it is a nice hotel, not plush by any means but comfortable with a friendly staff and clean rooms. Does seem like they do have their "Price Line" rooms as when I called to confirm, they mentioned Price Line and we would be getting a single bed.
It was a single queen on the 16th floor the only down side was there were elevator problems and at most times only one of the two elevators were working.
It is a great location, easy walk to Pike Place Market and right next door to the shopping district. It also is across the street from the subway that can take you to and from the airport. Next door is Von's it has a great selection of spirits and beers, did not try the food but it looked good from what we saw.
Over all this is a great place to stay, would not be worth paying full price though and would recommend that you do the discount path.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rons1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,429)
There are newer reviews for The Roosevelt Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,247 - 2,253 of 2,429 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2010

We booked our room through the Victoria Clipper, not knowing where to stay in Seattle.

The location was awesome; the room was blah and spartan and the hotel really didn't have the character I was expecting. On the upside: It was clean and we slept well. It's an older hotel and it feels like a well-kept older hotel. No problems with noise from other rooms.

It was an awesome location, and for that reason I recommend it.

One elevator was being worked on when we were there, which they warned us about at check-in, and thus it never really bothered us.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the The Roosevelt over 4th of July Holiday for 3 nights and enjoyed the convenience of the location. The room decor was more traditional and all the fixtures have not been updated. We were given a large king size bed room with a separate sitting area. There was only 1 working elevator so there was always a long wait for it. It is across the street from Pacific Place Mall and about 10 minutes walk to Pike's Market. The location is central to everything.

We got a great rate through priceline but my husband and I usually prefer more modern decor so we probably wouldn't stay here again due to our own subjective taste but for the price and the location it's a great value!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggipiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

This hotel is in a great location. There's the one star.

The service is very below average at best. From the Expedia reviews, I knew that one of the two elevators were not working in April and May. It is now July and only ONE of two elevators are working. I asked them why did it take over 4 months to fix one elevator and their excuse was that they are "renovating" the "other one". Oh please. They don't even have a sign that ONE elevator is working on any of the floors. It's like they want to hide the fact that it hasn't been working for 1/3 of the year already. One elevator for 20+ floors is ridiculous. You share the elevator with any and all hotel staff and wait 10-20 minutes for it (not knowing why unless you asked since there are no signs or apologies on any elevator!).

I think the worst was when BF and I were told that we booked two queen (more like full) beds by the manager, Alicia. She was the worst. She told us to our face that we booked the two queens when we booked the one king bed. I asked her for proof, a print screen, anything that supported her statement that us, a couple, would book two queen beds and instead she told us to call priceline ourselves. She is the worst hotel "manager" I've ever encountered. Her young minion that looked like he was 12 was similar. He told us to go book a hotel elsewhere and good luck finding one on Fourth of July weekend.

I will never be staying here and I highly advise that everyone avoid the lack of professionalism and service, hotel management all under the age of 25 and who act like it and one working elevator for 20+ floors. Very rude and obnoxious. The non-apologetic behavior re the elevator and how they screwed us on our reservation was the worst. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imissyou012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

As you walk into The Roosevelt Hotel, you know you are going to be pleased with the accommodations. The front desk staff were very friendly. The conceirge was very helpful and had a great sense of humor. The atmosphere of the lobby is so relaxing. You can just sit in the lobby and admire the decor. It didn't matter that they were only operating on one elevator (due to maintenance). We were in no rush to get anywhere. Our room was absolutely gorgeous. We didn't have the best view but then again we were not in our room during the daytime to enjoy. The location was perfect, centrally located to many amenities like the Pike's Public Market, First Avenue, the Monorail, Barnes and Nobles just a step away from our front door, the Westlake Shopping Mall, had a free service transit system from certain points (which made it so convenient when we got tired) and had plenty of street entertainment. We played tourist and shopped until we literally dropped. Priceline.com did well for us.

The only thing that might be useful was an in-room fridge.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wow2much
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

We, too, got an excellent deal on our stay here, and were suprised to receive such a spacious and comfy room. We did not want to use a car while we were in Seattle, and were able to walk or easily catch a bus to anywhere we wanted to go in the city. Being located close to an airport light rail station is a big plus. There are more than enough restaurants and shops within a few blocks...and you can find plenty of restaurants with great Happy Hour food & drink deals,too. Yes, only one elevator was working, but it didn't ruin our stay. Usually TV reception isn't something I pay attention to because there are too many other things to do than watch TV on vacation. However, we had reception problems and it was only an issue because it affected watching World Cup! We found a sport bar around the corner and ended up watching the match there which actually turned out to be a lot of fun because of the crowd. We found everyone on the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrozin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

The room had a separate seating area with a partial wall, more like a junior suite. Flat screen TV could swivel to view from either the sofa or the bed. Nice decor and friendly staff. Convenient location across from Westlake Center. Bathroom is small but first rate amenities. Bathrobes and slippers provided. Our only issue was resolved promptly. Construction on the sidewalk in front of the hotel was only a small inconvenience.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bptraveler31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#34 of 102 in Seattle
2,364 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#5 of 102 in Seattle
1,782 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#17 of 102 in Seattle
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motif Seattle
#43 of 102 in Seattle
368 reviews
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#44 of 102 in Seattle
1,932 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 102 in Seattle
2,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $176 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing