We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location! Location! Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #41 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Yakima, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Location! Location! Location!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The Roosevelt is in a perfect location to enjoy shopping, dining, convention, theatre, and people watching! The rooms were well appointed, clean and comfortable and the renovations were done keeping in mind the history of this downtown landmark. From check in to check out we saw smiles from staff and fellow travelers alike. Definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Our corner, double queen on the 17th floor gave us nice view of the harbor. It was roomy with a sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBeav19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
I am delighted that we met your expectations during your visit and appreciate your comments about our wonderful staff. Seattle has so much to explore, we hope you return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,052
    768
    272
    100
    82
See reviews for
357
883
182
541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastsound, Washington
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Roosevelt is advertised as a 3.5 star hotel, but it approaches 4 stars. It has an excellent location-two blocks from the convention center-and from Nordstroms! The staff are very polite and helpful, and our corner room was very large. The bed was super comfortable, as was the sofa. The hotel does not currently have a restaurant, though it did, so you will need to go out for meals. My only tiny quibble-a hotel at this level should have cream for coffee in the rooms and in the lobby-not that horrible powder! i do recommend this as a small boutique hotel with as central a location as you can get, and you are only steps from a variety of quite good restaurants, especially Asian.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: The standard kings are big, more like a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed our central location and accommodations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We came down to Seattle from Vancouver for a little romance and leisure time. The Roosevelt is located in the ideal spot. It's close to shopping, restaurants and Pike Place Market. We got the Stay, Dine & Shop deal, which was excellent. Our room was lovely, the bed excellent and nice bathroom. The staff were very courteous and quick to respond to any request. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We got a suite, which was spacious, bright and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank svermett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for providing a review of our Stay, Dine & Shop package. I am pleased to read your trip to Seattle was enjoyable. I hope you will stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter until your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We just stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel in downtown Seattle and had a wonderful experience! It is a perfect downtown location for shopping, shows, eating, walking, just enjoying that beautiful city. We went to see the Lion King at the Paramount which, by the way, is AWESOME! The location of the Roosevelt was only 2 blocks away. They have valet parking which is nice and the beds are so comfy!! The room was very, very clean. They are small but not that bad. We had two queen beds, a chair and ottoman and a big TV. The bathroom is TINY, though. We would definitely stay here again. Good price, excellent location. The restaurant is being renovated and no continental breakfast but there are places very close by!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lem0naide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. I am pleased that you enjoyed our location and accommodations. Thank you for mentioning our close proximity to Seattle’s many attractions. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Location is fantastic, the hotel was clean and the room was a decent size.
The showers where so tiny, they had to cut the door a bit so it can open all the way and not stick on the sink
No breakfast which is a shame, parking is right next door but very expensive, and when I needed to check out to the airport the vale disappeared, and gym was not so good, but did the job

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jonny1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for the compliments regarding our location and accommodations. I appreciate your input and hope your travels bring you back our way again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Roosevelt is an older building - nearly 100 years - but well maintained and nicely modernized. The rooms are small, as was the standard when the building was constructed, but they have fit the modern amenities in nicely. It is clean and welcoming and although you can tell that everything is new (fixtures, wallpaper, carpeting, etc.) it maintains a very "vintage" feeling; it was modernized with a careful eye toward maintaining the historical significance of the establishment.
The staff was amazingly friendly and came across as very genuine in their desire to be helpful. There was no restaurant on site at the time of my stay but I had plenty of help finding a good one in the area, partly from the brochures and partly from recommendations from staff members based on their personal experiences. It's right in the middle of downtown Seattle, surrounded by malls, shops, restaurants, and the convention center, so there were plenty of options.
My room was clean and cozy, and I had no issues with noise from other rooms, street traffic, or nearby high-level restaurant patios. Although they provided the standard small bottles of shampoo and bar of soap, there were pump bottles in the shower with shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel; they even provided a shower cap.
I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely keep this hotel on my short list for when I am in Seattle alone. I do have to say, though, that the small room size might be less comfortable for two people or for people with claustrophobia issues. If you can work with the smaller floor plan it is definitely a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind endorsement and thorough review. I am thrilled that you appreciate the historic nuances that make The Roosevelt so special. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed at The Roosevelt for a conference that was held at the Seattle Conference Center, which is only half a block away. There is a mall half a block in the other direction that has a metro rail stop for travel to other parts of the city or the airport. Walking to sight-seeing areas (the aquarium, Pike St. Market, etc.) is very easy and the city is relatively safe- I am female and I felt comfortable walking alone at night. The hotel itself is very nice, clean, and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Even though there is no hotel restaurant or bar, there is dining and bars very close by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Seattle.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels

Helpful?
Thank AdoptGreyhounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending a conference in Seattle. We are steps away from Washington State Convention Center and I am happy to see our close proximity was convenient for you. I look forward to sharing your compliments regarding our friendly staff with the rest of our team. I hope your travels bring you back our way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 100 in Seattle
2,310 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
1,701 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Motif Seattle
#56 of 100 in Seattle
147 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing