We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got better and we had a very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Roosevelt Hotel
Ranked #40 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Margaret River
Level Contributor
87 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Got better and we had a very pleasant stay”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

To be honest, our first impressions were not good! We arrived after 12 hours travel at 3.10pm and were told that our room was not ready until the statutory check in time of 4pm! Then we asked about booking a Boeing tour and were told this not possible as the concierge was off duty. Later they took our name and said they would look to it. In the meantime we asked about the Visitor Centre and were told how to get there (just up the street in the Convention Centre- and we did all our bookings there. then there are no toilets on the lobby floor so it was up to floor 2 to find one!
However it did get a lot better! The staff were friendly and helpful on all subsequent occasions. the room was very nice and light and had harbour 'glimpses'. The bathrooms were fine- although we had previously asked for a shower not over the bath and we didn't get that- but were not going to argue when we finally got our room! Yes, there were a lot of goodies and pots of things etc but it was nice to have the shower gel etc in an alcove in the shower area where one could reach it.

The complimentary breakfast was useful- and quite sufficient. Although of course we are alway appalled at the US throwaway culture- everything in cardboard and plastic UGH!! While common, this does not quite fit the gracious hotel image of the Roosevelt. Currently there is no restaurant in the hotel- hence the breakfast arrangement.

The location is excellent- right by the Westbay station. And the Italian restaurant over the road in the shopping centre- Il Fornaio, proved a good choice. The only drawback of this area is the number of beggars and drunks in the streets especially at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view towards the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,035
    750
    264
    95
    75
See reviews for
351
863
179
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAS VEGAS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I traveled with my family, consisting of my spouse and two daughters. I was very happy with the location and the hotel itself. It is an older hotel that is well kept and the staff is very welcoming. Felt safe and slept well.....I will stay here again for sure; and it's military friendly too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEORGE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First off, I learned of this hotel through Groupon. For the price I paid, the place was spot on. If I had paid full price or close to it, I would have been a bit upset. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom small with few places to put toiletries and there was the resident pubic hair behind the door (I never understand why hotel management does not require their housekeeping staff to shut the bathroom door and clean behind it. It is the one place most guests see when they are using the bathroom with a shut door.) The hotel uses a heavy fragrance throughout the hallways, perhaps to take away an undesireable smell but this fragrance is not pleasant when the sprayer sets off right as one is under it, as what happened to me. I am chemical sensitive so this was a horrible experience. I wrote the manager, filled out their forms and no one got back to me on this issue.

The parking is a pay lot. The shopping is right across the street. Pike Market is walking distance. If it was not for the fragrance, I would stay if I could get the same deal.

Room Tip: Don't come to this hotel if you are chemically sensitive due to the automatic fragrance sprayers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissT115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are so glad you discovered us on Groupon and enjoyed your stay! We will share your comments with our staff and look to find a less fragrant air freshener.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a corner room on Level 13. Spacious suite at a motel price comprised of an entrance hall, sitting room and bathroom.

Pro's - Location, walking distance from Link Light Rail, department stores and attractions. They throw in a light buffet style breakfast which is good at this price point. Fast free WiFi. Older style renovated Hotel which is only obvious in the bathroom which is quaint but functional. Really luxurious bed and lovely linen. Quiet room with effective heating/cooling. Staff were efficient.

Con's - The building is only serviced by two smallish lifts. When bus groups arrive their can be a delay in accessing your room through the lifts being unable to service the throng. The reception area is small and can get crowded at check in/out. The breakfast quickly runs out of stock during peak times and is only periodically replenished.

Summary - Good offering in good location at a good price. Can't ask for much more really.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Roosevelt was a great night's stay for my first night in Seattle! The key benefit is it's location: close to public transportation (Link Light Rail, bus station and monorail) - no need for a car. It's also located near shopping, restaurants and tourist attractions. The hotel is a renovated older building, with all the updates needed for an overnight. The room was an efficient use of space with comfortable bedding and essentials for the bathroom. The basic continental breakfast was a nice start to the morning. I also utilized the baggage check while exploring the area before my next destination and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, a great stay in downtown Seattle and I would return.

Room Tip: When making my reservation I requested a higher floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tskinn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon B, Manager at The Roosevelt Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Roosevelt Hotel! We are pleased you found our location, guest rooms, breakfast and helpful staff ideal! We appreciate you choosing our hotel and can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed only one night but this hotel was in the thick of things yet quaint and quiet. It is directly across from a large shopping complex and only steps from several good restaurants. It was also about $50 per night cheaper than everything else we looked at and seemed much nicer than a 3.5 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenMill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We came to Seattle because our room mate was going through a transplant at one of the local mega hospitals. Tired and having been up for over 20 hours, my other half and myself booked a room here.

We lucked out and the lady checking us in was very nice as well. We ended up getting a room on the 16th floor overlooking Pike Street. We could even see the Pike Place Market sign from our room. Everything was very clean, very nice looking and also very comfortable.

The only bad thing about the entire visit was the shower. The first morning we got into the shower, a few minutes in we ended up getting sprayed with a burst of scalding hot water. This repeated on a near regular basis for the entire length of the shower.

Other than that, it was a very nice stay and I would come here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ericsansone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Hotel Max
Hotel Max
#33 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,101 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#6 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roosevelt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt Hotel

Property: The Roosevelt Hotel
Address: 1531 7th Ave, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Seattle
#28 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#34 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Roosevelt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic and iconic hotel located at the corner of 7th & Pine, literally the heart of everything downtown Seattle has to offer. The Washington State Convention Center is one block away, Seattle's retail core including the flagship Nordstrom store is one block away, and the famous Pike Place market is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The vibrant restaurant scene of Capitol Hill, along with the burgeoning Amazon campus are both steps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Roosevelt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing