We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Retreat”
Review of Hotel Max

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Max
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We asked for a room with a view of the Space Needle and we were not disappointed. We were able to see most of the New Year's Eve pyrotechnics in spite of the fog that had settled in that night. The room was clean and comfortable although very small, providing very little space in which to walk around in. We were pleased with the room temperature, the view from the window, the cleanliness the and how quiet it was at night. The only real drawback was that we could smell wood smoke in the room which we assume emanated from the fire grill in the Miller's Guild restaurant in the same building on the first floor. We were on the 7th floor!

The "happy hour" in the lobby with complimentary craft beer was a nice touch. The "beertender" was informative and friendly.

We were lucky to have a corporate reduced rate for the room and would be hard pressed to pay the regular rate. It's a nice place but the size of the room and the smoke odors suggests a lower rate.

Room Tip: Take steps to eliminate the smell of smoke entering the rooms at night. Include a small fridge and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thanks for choosing to ring in the new year with us, Steven! It's great that you were lucky enough to see the fireworks show through the fog that evening, but I wish you would've felt more comfortable with your space. We have a number of designs and configurations to choose from, and we're always willing to accommodate our guests with larger rooms if they're available. It sounds like you had the chance to explore more of the hotel — I'm glad you could join us for happy hour! We love talking beer over beer and hope you discovered a new favorite brew.

On another note, we appreciate the comments about the smell from downstairs. The restaurant just recently opened up and we were still working out all the fine details of its operation, and I apologize if the smell was an inconvenience. It was great hearing from you, and I hope we'll be able to host you again during your next trip to Seattle.

Cheers,,
Kevin Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,307 - 2,313 of 2,376 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

the hotel is in a great location, and the bed is fantastic. the staff was really helpful, but that's where the good points stop.

the rooms are so small that you almost can't walk around the bed, and with two people needing space for their things, the room was a disaster in a matter of two minutes! and i even took the queen room hoping it would be bigger than the standard - paying more for a room that doesn't fit you and your partner? not cool. no space at all. in the bathroom, there isn't even a place for your toiletry bag - i had to put it on the floor! so many things in our room were broken, a corkscrew, the blinds, plugged tub... it was in disrepair overall.

the kicker was the parking. apparently the lot is tight, and because of the little room, my car was dinged/scraped in TWO different spots! this is definitely something i'll take up with hotel management, but beware if you plan to hand over your keys to the valet!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustLoveAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Hey there MustLoveAva!
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us and for the shout out when it came to how much you enjoyed our new beds, our awesome team and our unbeatable location.
I am sorry to read that you didn't favor the room. As a building built in the 1920's we definitely have some unique room layouts but we like to think we have something for everyone. In the future please do not hesitate to ask. We are here for you!
Additionally, I am very sorry to read about your car. Please email me your name and reservation details and I will be happy to put you in touch with our Garage Manager.
Best wishes for 2014!
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised when I walked into this hotel! It looks like it's been recently renovated and everything looks very new and hip. I expected this hotel to be older or look more bland because it was definitely cheaper than other hotels in the area, but this was actually one of the best hotels I've stayed at in Seattle because of the modern interior design and friendly service. Every detail seems to be thought of, even the desk lamp has a nice blue glow to it!

I stayed in a room with 2 beds - other reviewers mentioned that the rooms were small but I thought it was a reasonable size. There was a pillow menu which I didn't take advantage of, but the beds were quite comfortable. Internet seemed pretty fast too. One thing that I wasn't a huge fan of was the really expensive parking, but no lots around the area are cheap. I would suggest parking on the street a block away because it's free after 8pm.

The location was great, it was close to a lot of nice bars in Belltown and also close to Pike Place market and the Westlake light rail station which goes to the airport.

Room Tip: If you are an average to heavy sleeper, any room should be fine. If you are a light sleeper maybe as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear jhclee,
Now that's what I'm talking about! What a way to start off the New Year. Thanks for the glowing review on TripAdvisor. We are THRILLED to hear that you both had such a great experience. Thanks for the kudos when it comes to our new beds and our famous pillow menu. Hopefully you get to experience it next time around.
Also, great tip to future travelers about the parking especially on the weekends.
Wishing you all the best in 2014!
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I decided to head down to Seattle for an impromptu New Year's trip. We just stayed one night and found a trip advisor deal for Hotel Max. We went with the King Premium room as I had read on past reviews that the rooms were small.

Customer service at check-in was nice, though we didn't receive the complimentary beer that other reviewers have discussed. Our room was on the 8th floor. It was on average a decent sized room and yes, the bathrooms are quite tiny, but doable. Our bath tub drain did not plug properly and I was unable to have a bath, which was unfortunate. The bed was very comfortable with a crisp, white clean duvet and lots of pillows and I appreciated the comfy bath robes. There is a coffee/tea area but no fridge. There is no thermostat but instead, each room has their own heat/ac unit that is quite loud. The walls are thin as we definitely could hear our neighbours next door, but overall our sleep was good. They provide you with ear plugs, just in case. The location is quite good and is close to lots of amenities - lots of restaurants, Pike Place, etc...

What I didn't appreciate about this hotel is all of the nickel and diming they do, especially given how much you pay per night. Even though we got a bit of a deal, it still was not worth the price. To have to pay for Wi-Fi at upwards of $200/night is ridiculous and the parking is astronomical - and then they charge you parking tax. On our total bill, we paid over $75 in parking and hotel/parking tax.

Overall, it's a funky hotel, in a good location with average rooms. If their prices were more reasonable, I would think about staying here again, but given what they charge for what you get we will look to stay somewhere else the next time we come to visit Seattle.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the higher floors, as the smells from the restaurant downstairs definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikks79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, General Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Nikks79,
Thanks so much for choosing to stay with us on New Year's Eve! Thanks for the kind shout outs in regards to the service provided, our location and our overall vibe.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't get to enjoy our Craft Beer Hour in the lobby which happens each night from 5:30pm to 6:30pm. It's such a cool and tasty treat!
Additionally, please know that NYE is the one of the busiest days in the year for Seattle leaving many hotels sold out which is why prices were inflated.
We would love to welcome you back! Please don't hesitate to reach out to me personally upon your next trip to Seattle and I would be happy to personally oversee your reservation.
Best wishes for 2014!
Cheers,
Kevin Scott
kevin.scott@hotelmaxseattle.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Staff was friendly and laid back (in a good way!). No better way to check in than with great music playing and a free beer handed to you! Rooms were very small but served their purpose. I thought it was a little weird that the shower was in a separate room from the rest of the bathroom (I thought it was a closet at first) but again, it served its purpose. Great location, great ambiance (if you're into art/music), and great service. That's what you are paying for. And compared to some other downtown hotels, price is really not bad. If you're looking for a nice place to sleep and leave your stuff while you're out and about, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellie0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin S, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Excellent customer service is our priority, and it means a lot to hear this type of feedback from our guests. I'm glad you enjoyed our craft beer hour too! If there's any issue with your rooms in the future, feel free to let us know and we'll do what we can to resolve it.

Thanks for choosing to stay with us, Ellie. We truly appreciate the compliments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Happy New Year!

Kevin Scott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pedir uma Suite nos andares mais altos e banheiro com banheira, já que são maiores.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann Jessica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James P, Manager at Hotel Max, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: N'hésitez pas à demander une chambre le plus haut dans les étages pour être plus au calme
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marine12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,282 reviews
The Roosevelt Hotel
#46 of 103 in Seattle
2,434 reviews
Belltown
Warwick Seattle
Warwick Seattle
#45 of 103 in Seattle
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,068 reviews
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 103 in Seattle
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Max

Address: 620 Stewart Street, Seattle, WA 98101-1212
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Seattle
#29 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#31 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $135 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Max 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Denny Triangle neighborhood of downtown, just minutes away from Pike Place Market, the Convention Center, Capitol Hill, and the Amazon campus, Hotel Max is Seattle's home away from home for art lovers, musicians and the creatively inclined. Showcasing the work of iconic local photographers on each floor and original paintings all guest rooms, Hotel Max mixes urban adventure with art, music and style. Within easy walking distance of the city's most iconic attractions, best restaurants and world-class shopping, the 163-room Hotel Max is the perfect place to stay while soaking up the hip Seattle scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Max reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Max Hotel Seattle
Hotel Max Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing