We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TravelBear990
New York City, New York

It's a great hotel experience, but it's not W Special :(

Review of W Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 25, 2019
I love staying in W hotels because they're usually very special properties. The room almost always feel much cooler than a regular hotel room, and the bar area is a place a lot of people (not staying at the hotel) want to be. This W is by all means a nice hotel, but doesn't live up to the expectations set up by the W name.

As an Ambassador member I was upgraded to a Marvelous Studio Suite. It was larger than a regular hotel room, and there were a good number of windows affording lovely views of downtown, with the mountain out in the distance. Hard to complain there. However the room itself was nothing spectacular, and it's hard to call it much of a suite. It was still one room.

I will say the service was excellent, with great communication, an awesome doorman, and help every step of the way. Additionally one of my favorite things was turndown service, which I wish would happen at more hotels.

The bed was obviously very comfortable, the bluetooth speaker was nice, the cool things that you can buy in the room were ever present and well themed for the W, and there was complimentary use of the nespresso machine, which beats out almost every other in room coffee offering there is. he couch was cool, the lights were cool, but nothing all that special, it would not have felt too out of place in a Sheraton Grand.

Everything from service to bedroom to onsite food makes this hotel a great hotel. Just not a special W. The one big issue I have with the property however is the restrooms. They're just old and not exciting. Often times W hotels provide a bathroom that is more integrated with the room, with a big window, or something like that. This was just a regular bathroom. The shower in this "marvelous studio suite" still had a curtain instead of glass. The products are the typical W Bliss products which I love, but one could hope for a little more from a W inside of a city center when it comes to the bathroom.

Lovely hotel, will probably stay again, but needs a bathroom refresh, and I'd really appreciate some more "unique" qualities to make it more W and more Seattle.
Date of stay: September 2019
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this review
Responded Sep 26, 2019
Thank you for the review, Hajir S! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and you taking the time to provide us with this feedback. We are pleased to hear that you thought the service was excellent and will pass along these nice comments to our team. We really value your feedback on the room and overall hotel design and will be addressing these comments as well. As a W it is important to be unique and bold in our designs and want our guests to be wowed! Thank you again for your loyalty, time and feedback and we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
$329
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $329
  • Agoda.com
    $285
  • Expedia.com
    $329
0.4 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Room service
$275
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $275
  • Agoda.com
    $204
  • Expedia.com
    $275
0.4 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$309
  • Vio.com
  • Skyscanner.com
    $254
  • Embassy
    $309
0.7 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Pool
$229
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    $224
  • Expedia.com
    $224
  • Skyscanner.com
    $224
0.3 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$253
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $253
  • Agoda.com
    $207
  • Hotels.com
    $253
0.4 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Fitness center
$349
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    $349
  • ZenHotels.com
    $338
  • Hotels.com
    $349
0.5 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$268
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $269
  • Agoda.com
    $233
  • Expedia.com
    $269
1.5 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Fitness center
$239
  • Hotels.com
    $238
  • Algotels
    $229
  • Expedia.com
    $238
1.5 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Pool
$233
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $233
  • ZenHotels.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
    $233
0.7 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Fitness center
$187
Fully refundable
  • Choice Hotels
  • travelup.com
    $161
  • Hotels.com
    $187
12.3 miles from W Seattle
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Seattle
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,721 results
Traveler rating
967
453
162
76
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
967
453
162
76
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nespresso machine front desk great location room service high floor enjoyed my stay happy hour great room pike place heart of downtown across the street central location pike market valet parking few blocks space needle lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
440 - 445 of 1,721 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2019

Quality was second to none. I stay in hotels close to two hundred nights a year and this property is by far my favorite. Easy choice to stay again for future trips to the area. The staff was perfect and the lounge made for the ideal spot for a night cap.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank abjjba2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2019

Thank you for the great review, abjjba2016! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate your business. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019

The entire stay was very disappointing. I will start with the price of their parking- twice more expensive than any other hotel in the area. While checking in I asked a question, the answer was spoken so quick, that I didn't really have the time to process the information, I didn't bother asking again, because they were clearly rushing us, even that there was no one else checking in at the same time. The lobby had a separate nice lounge that wasn't clean at all and half the tables had empty cups on them, without people seating around. The room was clearly renovated recently, but in a very cheap way. The headboard of the bed seemed made out of wood on the pictures, very warm and stylish, actually it was some cheap print cardboard. The mattress was old and caved in (I am only 115 lbs) it felt that you are sleeping in hammock, not a nice hotel, needless to say, I didn't get any sleep. The window was very dirty on the inside. The bathroom had a new vanity and fixtures, but the same old tile all over. It looked like it has been cleaned in a hurry, because the sink, tub and toilet were clean, but baseboards, door and vents were very very dirty. Overall the hotel is very overpriced for what they offer, I do not recommend staying there, you could find much better hotels for the money.

Date of stay: July 2019
3  Thank Tina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your review Tina A, we appreciate the feedback and will discuss the challenges you experienced during your stay with our team in order to review policies and processes for maintaining the standards we've set for ourselves and our guest expect. If there is a possibility of us regaining your confidence, please reach out to me directly as I would be happy to discuss. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2019

This hotel is in a good location, easy to get around to all the sights. Service was good but not outstanding.
The beds and pillows were really great.
Our rooms were over 30 minutes late on being ready, which after a long haul flight is the last thing needed!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank jamesna2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

Thank you for the review, jamesna2017! We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your room not being ready at check-in. We understand your frustration and will work to improve this for future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

We have stayed at this W hotel several times and there are always pros & cons. The front desk staff could use some customer service training, but the manager was helpful. The room service was very friendly, though ridiculously expensive, and the room was as expected, clean & comfortable. It isn't exceptional, but it's comfortable. I love the Bliss bath products! The location is great for being in downtown Seattle.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mary99WM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2019

We appreciate the honest review, Mary99WM! We will pass along your comments to our team and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2019 via mobile

I enjoyed a wonderful girlfriend getaway weekend at the W. It was our first time visiting the city and the hotel. The location of the property was excellent super close to the harbor and a short walk to pike place market. The lobby bar was super lively and the rooms were super clean and spacious. The concierge recommended wonderful places for dinner and drinks. Will defiantly comeback!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank 249gisselm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mike B, Manager at W Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2019

Thank you for the great review, 249gisselm! We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews