We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay if Family at University Hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

I stayed such a long time ago that I won't write a detailed review. However I wanted to mention a couple things and post my pictures because I notice there are not many for people to view. What I can say most about this place is the location. My Grandmother was at the University medical center having heart surgery and we wanted to be close and this was the perfect place to stay. The parking lot was small but we found a place and after we discovered the free shuttle to the hospital didn't need to move the car again. We were also able to walk to a couple places to eat. When the surgery didn't go as expected and we needed to stay another night the front desk staff were very helpful! The room was just ok and the beds not comfortable, but the lack of sleep probably had more to do with our situation that the place itself. The hotel was also 100% smoke free, has a great complimentary breakfast, free internet, and afternoon snacks. These things may have changed since my stay in 08 so please verify. Overall I would recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeAlwaysWander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 831 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

The University Inn is walking distance from the U.W. Seattle campus. Walking to and from the school was easy - plus there is a Starbucks and a variety of restaurants along the way. There is free parking at the inn so leave your car behind and walk ... a lot of people do! Continental breakfast in the lobby is nice - you can make your own Belgian waffles or have some fruit, cereal, yogurt. We also like the "breakfast-to-go" option where you can pick up some breakfast items or have them delivered to your room. If you prefer something heartier and have more time (because there's usually a wait), the Portege Cafe has *wonderful* breakfasts - their specialty French toast dishes are absolutely delicious!
Our room was on the Roosevelt street side, so it was noisy. The mini-fridge made strange noises as it cycled off and on so we ended up unplugging it at night. The A/C is wall-mounted, so the bed nearest it gets very cold while the other side of the room is okay. The bathroom is standard - one sink and vanity (with the wall-mounted hairdryer) is outside the door with another sink and a large counter space is in the bathroom itself. That makes it convenient for two people to brush their teeth at once. Wasn't crazy about having to hold down the button of the hairdryer to make it work, but maybe it was just that particular dryer.
The front office staff is young, helpful and courteous. They were always smiling and welcoming when we returned from our trips to the campus. We liked the big bowl of candy on the counter, too!
There is a small laundry room on the lobby level, and the use of the stacked washer and dryer is free for guests! Bring your own laundry detergent and fabric softener. Guests have use of the PC and printer near the front desk - also free. It's great for printing boarding passes or maps/directions to places.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam101059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

We spent 3 nights at the University Inn while touring local colleges, and loved it. The hotel was stylish but comfortable, and the staff was so friendly and helpful. It was also a good value for the $$. We appreciated that the computer and printer were available when we ran into flight & tour issues. We liked being able to walk to University Ave., the campus, and shops & restaurants, and were just a short drive from Seattle's sightseeing highlights. (I particularly loved the Ballard Farmer's Market, just a 10-15 minute drive west.) If we're back in Seattle we'll definitely return to the University Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank myfamilystravelagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were traveling with a family member who was going to have treatment at the UW medical facility, so we wanted something close by. The University Inn had been recommened to us, so we booked 3 nights there. It was very convenient, had adequate parking and if you didn't want to drive yourself, there was also a shuttle to the hospital. The complimentary continental breakfast each morning was adequate and they even offered an afternoon snack, although we were not around at those times to enjoy it. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The beds were one of the most comfortable we had stayed in recently. Lots of fun restaurants nearby. The staff was very helpful and polite at all times of day. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank mttinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I drove from Anchorage and was ready for some comfort. I was greeted with a warm, welcoming smile. The deluxe room was very comfortable and clean. Excellent beds. There is a fridge and microwave in the room along with the flat-screen TV and free WIFI. A feature I really appreciated was the opening window. The cool breeze was great during my morning exercises. Breakfast and late-afternoon snack in the lobby is included. Free parking in their monitored parking lot. It is located in the University District which means there are lots of restaurants, bookstores, and other amenities within easy walking distance. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We stayed at the University Inn in Seattle for two nights.

Upon arrival, you can park your car in the back where there is a big parking lot, but almost all places are taken all the time.
You need to put a flyer on your dashboard to make clear you are a visitor staying at the hotel.

When entering the room with two beds, it was almost immediately clear that the main problem with the room was the bathroom.
It is very very small. To make things worse: the door opens to the bathtub with shower and right in front of you when you enter the bathroom
is the toilet, so you have to get in, hardly have any space to close the door and get in the tub. We did not find this very comfortable at all.

When going to the lobby to ask for another room, they were very friendly but told us they were fully booked and all rooms in that wing had the same layout. The only thing they could do
was move us to the handicapped room, which had a big bathroom, but that could only be arranged for the second night of our stay. And so they did.
Room was as big as the first one, but the bathroom was very big, like 4 times the size of the regular room.

The rooms are very clean, but there is no special vibe. This could be any hotel anywhere in the world.

Breakfast was OK. You can bake your own waffles, toast your muffins, get some cereal, yoghurt, fruit, ...

I believe there was also an afternoon snack or drink, but we were out on the town, so missed that.

OK hotel, but would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktkromann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We took our son back to the University of Washington and decided to stay at the University Inn. As soon as we checked in we were welcomed by a very friendly staff. Our room had been upgraded and we had been chosen as their VIP for the day. When we got to our room , there was a very nice gift bag waiting for us filled with some nice items. They provided a nice food selection in the lounge at 5:00 p.m. Fruit, meats, cheeses with crackers. Breakfast was also made available in the moring with a great varity of items. Rooms were very clean, nice pool and very close to campus and resturants. All these were in walking distance of the hotel. We would stay again and would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollysmom84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 103 in Seattle
1,376 reviews
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $129 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing