We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! Great Location, nice rates.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous! Great Location, nice rates.”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed our 3 stays at the University Inn. It's located very close to UW and has the best rates around. The staff is eager to help with anything and very friendly. We've stayed there 3 times and wouldn't even consider anywhere else!

Room Tip: Portage Bay Cafe is attached to their building, so eat there; you'll be glad you did. Yeah ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review! We're so pleased to continue to welcome you back and thank you for your continued support of Pineapple Hospitality!

We look forward to your next visit to Seattle,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    289
    72
    23
    5
See reviews for
286
173
51
140
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I'm a frequent visitor to Seattle for business (3-4 visits a month) and usually stay in Bellevue. During my latest trip, I had meetings at the university and, given the generally positive TripAdvisor reviews, decided to give this place a try. All I can say is that it's difficult to believe I was staying at the same hotel!

Biggest issue: The size of my room. It was tiny by Seattle standards. The bathroom was literally the size of a broom closet. Mattress was worn and uncomfortable. The 'desk' in the room was not worthy of the name: With a lamp and coffee maker sitting on top, there was hardly any space left for my computer and work papers. I always ask for a room distant from the elevators, but the building is configured such that all room doors are close to the elevator. And noise is an issue here for a second reason: The walls are thin.

There was no ice or vending machine on my floor, so I went to the front desk to ask about these. I discovered they were in a separate wing that looked far superior to my own. So it quickly became apparent that I got stuck with the lousy wing. I suppose I could have complained and asked to move, but by this time it was already evening and I was entirely unpacked.

Still, I made the decision to ditch this place in the morning and head to a more congenial hotel. I was supposed to stay two further nights - but frankly, I'm on the road too often to put up with poor accommodations like this.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pds209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hello PDS209,

I thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I do apologize that your stay was not a wonderful one, this is never the experience that we want our guests to have.
I invite you to contact me directly if I can be of any assistance to you, 206.632.5057.

Again I apologize for the inconvenience and I look forward to hearing from you.

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a nice little hotel which was well kept and clean. The hotel itself and room were nicely decorated and spacious. The staff were all very helpful and friendly and genuinely seemed like they enjoyed working there which is rare! The complimentary shuttle was really convenient as it goes to a number of spots and the hotel is located relatively close to a lot of attractions and sites. Breakfast was good as they had a nice assortment of pastries and some juices and the food items were constantly being re-stocked as they ran low, even shortly before shutting down the breakfast. The only suggestion I would have is to have another protein choice (eg. sausages, bacon) as they only had hard boiled eggs. But overly, it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 604bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hello 604bob,

It's great to see that you enjoyed your time in Seattle and your stay with us! Thank you for the very nice review and we hope to welcome you back for a future stay!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

If you have kids attending UW you won't find a more convenient place to stay than The University Inn. The rooms are clean and quiet, the staff is very friendly & helpful, they offer a daily complimentary breakfast bar, it's within walking distance to the campus and they have free parking (Which is hard to come by in the city) Prices are very reasonable and they're a pet friendly establishment as well..........:)

Some of the other nice features are -

Complimentary Wireless Internet
Complimentary Shuttle Service
Seasonal Outdoor Pool
Free Laundry Facility
Complimentary Bicycles for Guest Use

Room Tip: Book your room way ahead of time on a weekend when there's a football game at Husky Stadium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Baytrader,

Thank you for taking the time to review the University Inn. We're glad that you found our location convenient for you needs and that our staff was very welcoming. Great tip to make your reservations early, there are always different events going on in the city and at UW that can make last minute reservations a little hard to come by.
Thanks again and I'm sure we'll see you again soon,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed here before. It is nicely located for the university area. Good restaurant next door. Short walk to shopping. It is also not to long a drive to downtown Seattle or the Green Lake area. It was also a great place before we drove up to the San Juan Islands. Large, clean rooms and a nice pool that we did not use. Continental breakfast in the lobby which we did use.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travel-4funNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
2Travel-4funNow,

Thank you for the great review and for choosing to stay with us again! We're pleased that we continued to live up to your expectations and could offer a great home base while you were in Seattle.
Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This 'boutique' hotel near the U of W campus was a good fit for us over an extended Memorial Day weekend. We were there to watch our granddaughter play in a volleyball tournament on campus, but added a couple of days to make it a mini-vacation. The price was right and we managed to get everywhere we wanted either by walking, using the complimentary bright yellow cruiser bikes (which got a LOT of positive attention on the great, nearby Burke-Gilman trail!) or their free shuttle. The shuttle only goes to some designated stops (not real clear on the website...it says 'within 5 miles' and we thought we could go anywhere w/in 5 miles) but they are well placed. We spent a day exploring the waterfront, Seattle Center (happened to be there during the Folk Life Festival) and walking to the top of the Queen Anne hill. We visited the University Village shopping center a couple of times and found good restaurants, and of course were at the volleyball venue which was in the sports area of campus which was right on the lake and had good places to explore between games. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, rooms were clean, the free breakfast was nothing to write home about, but decent and they did have pineapple mini-cupcakes at 5:00 every day. :) The shuttle drivers were friendly, prompt and called us if there was to be any delay or problem. Reserve your shuttle pickups as soon as you know when/where you want to go, as it's first-come, first-served. We didn't bring swim suits as the website said the pool was open in June, and we were there during the (early in May this year) Memorial Day weekend...we wished we'd known it would be open. We would definitely stay there again if the occasion arises. They do have specials on their website, and will price match, so plan ahead and check prices.

Room Tip: We were facing 42nd Street and it was fairly noisy, I imagine the rooms facing the pool would be qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hi Susanfrey,

Thank you for the great review! Sounds like you enjoyed your time exploring Seattle and some of the fun stuff our city has to offer, we're pleased to have been a part of that for you. You are absolutely correct in that we will always match the lowest price for our rooms so just give us a call next time you're headed to Seattle 1.866.866.7977 we're always here to help with your travel plans!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We chose the University Inn because of their proximity to Seattle Children's Hospital and were happy to have a short commute.

Pros:
Super friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed that the rooms seemed very solid and not flimsy construction. Our room was overlooking the pool and was very quiet for how noisy it was outside. We loved that the beds were extremely comfortable and the room was a decent size. We were also thankful for free parking, even though it is on a first come first serve basis.

Cons:
I wish they had a refrigerator in the room, I had thought this was pretty standard in most hotels and was wrong to assume there would be one. The breakfast.. well, isn't breakfast.. it's toast and bagels. The bathroom was very small. We enjoyed the larger tub, but it didn't offset the fact that there is hardly any room to put things on the counter. The room also reeked of some sort of air freshener when we got there. It took about an hour to get it all aired out.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank social_travlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaceyKing, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hello Social_Travlr,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We're pleased to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I do apologize if our complimentary breakfast didn't meet your expectations. We offer a basic quick breakfast selection for our guests, you can find the items listed on our webpage. Unfortunately we do not have the abilities of a full kitchen/restaurant. Most of our rooms do have a refrigerators and hopefully after our renovation this winter we can offer them in all of our rooms.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future to our freshly renovated rooms!

Lacey King
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#62 of 101 in Seattle
1,349 reviews
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing