We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, comfortable,friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, AZ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Clean, comfortable,friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 2 days before getting on a cruise to Alaska. It was bright, cheerful, and a comfortable place to stay. I would go back and stay there again. It was reasonable priced and met our needs.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hikerbabe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    263
    65
    21
    5
See reviews for
258
156
46
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

we stayed at the University Inn for 3 days at the end of June. Our standard double room was clean, although the bed was a bit on the soft side. Bottled water, tea and coffee was provided every day. There was Starbucks coffee, tea, hot cocoa and apple cider packets in the lounger 24 hours a day. The complimentary breakfast was edible. Among the breakfast items were a selection of bagels, bread, fruit, and difference spreads and cold hard-boiled eggs. Laundry facilities were also available at the hotel and laundry powder could be purchased from reception for $1. The hotel is close to public transport and there was also a shuttle which took you downtown. However, you have to book early to be sure of a spot on the bus.

Room Tip: You may have to book early to be sure of a spot on the shuttle bus to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

small and basic but clean and friendly. Good value if booked at the $120 range.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginger1176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
222 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

my wife and i have stayed here many times. its location is convenient to the university of washington, the u. of w. medical center and its satellite medical facilities. there is nothing fancy about the hotel. it is reasonably clean and it provides the basics. parking is free, a big plus if you're driving; a reasonable breakfast buffet is also included in the room rate. however we found the (also free) wifi in our room to be under-powered -- had to take our laptop to the lounge for it to operate properly (this problem may have been peculiar to our room). the bed was ok but not as comfortable as what the marriotts and hiltons are offering these days. air conditioning/heating comes from an old fashioned wall unit. in the not-too-distant future the hotel will need a freshening-up. but you get what you pay for, so we'll be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hankbauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel was an awesome price for a very nice hotel (booked through expedia). We stayed at another hotel one night it was the same price and it was a horrible hotel.. the university inn is in a Very convient location to aquarium, zoo, space needle etc. We stayed with 3 young kids. Very clean and trendy hotel. Free breakfast and free parking. Cupcakes, tea and coffee in the evenings. We will always stay here from now on.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goinggreen08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forks, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

I recently stayed here with a handicapped friend who had doctors appointments at UW Medical Center and at Harborview. We were very pleased with our accommodations even though we chose not to have a handicapped room(which was offered and available). There are a lot of restaurants just a few blocks away(and some closer). The most convenient part for us is that there is a free shuttle to both hospitals that stops just across the street from here and it runs very often. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald_of_BearCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week while on a tour of the university with my daughter. The hotel is in a good location, and I think that the cost of the room is really based on the location only. That said, there is nothing special about this hotel. The room was nice, clean, and the beds comfortable, but pretty basic. Our room, had a commanding view of the wall of the apartment building across the parking lot. That's okay, its about the location. The staff was pleasant, friendly, and helpful. The breakfast they serve is fine, but certainly nothing special. This hotel is on par with what you would expect at a run-of-the-mill chain hotel in an average community, but at a higher cost.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us.

We're sorry you did not find value at our hotel. We hope to make all our guests' stays comfortable, welcoming and convenient. perhaps we missed the mark in your case. We hope that you will give us another try in the future.

In the meantime, thank you for your feedback. We strive for continuous improvement and your feedback is a valuable part of that growth.

Marco Baumann
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#59 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Property: University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#37 Family Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing