We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient although not downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Our recent stay at the University Inn was fantastic! We loved the "feel" of the cozy small hotel and the people at the front desk. They always were so helpful and answered all of our questions. The mattresses on the beds looked brand new, along with the entire room. It was a very clean room. The towels are brand new and SOOOO soft!

The free shuttle was fantastic picking us up right on time and whisking us away to the Space Needle to catch the Duck tour. (We took the 3:00 shuttle for the 5:00 duck, but only needed the 4:00 we got there so fast!) I had made reservations for the shuttle 2 days before arriving since there was 6 of us. I would still reserve early if you are on a tight schedule like we were. We stayed only one night in Seattle.

Right next door we ate lunch at the Portage Cafe which had a delicious banana foster french toast..... The toppings bar was LOTS of fresh fruit. I was in heaven. It was very quaint allowing us to eat lunch outside. It was very convenient too being able to walk there from the hotel.

Overall, this was a much more affordable option than staying downtown. The free breakfast the next morning was good with yogurt, cereal, muffins, waffles,etc. We were going to leave before it started, but the nice young man at the front desk had it ready a few minutes early, which made us happy. When in Seattle, we will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachermama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your detailed review! I’m pleased to see that our amenities, especially our complimentary local shuttle service, were able to make your stay more enjoyable. We look forward to your return the next time you visit Seattle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 869 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've visited Seattle almost monthly for over 8 years & do not know how I missed this place. Several blocks from the University of Washington, great restaurants all around (Shultzy's has the best hamburgers and fries...and the barkeeps know how to pour...for something fancier it's a few block walk to Iver's and some classy food), and a short bus ride into downtown. The rooms are a little tight, but cozy, & the TV was on the small side, but the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very friendly & helpful and the morning continental breakfast was very well attended...a good time to make friends and exchange itineraries. We brought our dog and he was welcomed (pet room was surprisingly clean). Good bargain. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubhlann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The hotel is somewhat located outside of downtown, but they have fine parking space and a free shuttle service. You can find some nice restaurants in the neighbourhood.
We liked the room (highest floor, parking side) it was quiet. Staff was very helpfull.
Minusses were temperature of the outside pool and not enough tables and seats for the (complimentary) breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, streetside is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deeBartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a good location as it is so close to the University of Washington campus. It was also very close to a bridge which was a huge plus on July 4th as we watched the fireworks from the bridge. But the room was disappointing. There was no bathtub! Who would ever have thought you would have to specifically request a bathtub? ("Shower/tub combination" apparently means shower only). As I am a tub person this was a major shock. The staff in the hotel were disinterested. The lack of a restaurant hurt as the restaurant next door was not open all day. There are a lot of other restaurants within walking distance if you don't mind a bit of a hike. But the Portage Bay Cafe next door served my travelling companion the worst breakfast he has ever had. A month later he is still talking about how absolutely dreadful it was. Cold, over-cooked and tasteless. To give them credit, they did not charge him for it, but it put him off his food all day.

Room Tip: Ask about getting a bath tub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElaineEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights on a recent business trip. The hotel was well maintained and clean. The rooms are pretty good size with a good internet connection. The breakfast was very limited, mbut there is a cafe right next to the hotel. There is free on site parking, the lot is a little tight. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Near university so good for local restaurants. A litle out of town, but not difficult to find by car from the centre. Not luxury but very cost effective. Breakfast OK but a bit of a scrum when busy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Neat, free parking which is a plus in Seattle, near the University, downtown, the waterfront, zoo, shopping and restaurants. Staff friendly. Free laundry facilities. Great morning breakfast. Clean and comfortable. Have stayed here twice and will stay again as I have family in the area. The swimming pool is heated and family friendly - my grandkids love to come and visit us at the hotel when we visit just so they can swim! They also offer a shuttle to some of the area attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 32724Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda G, Manager at University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thanks for choosing University Inn when you visit your family in Seattle and posting such a nice review. Your comments summed up everything we strive to provide to all of our guests, “Awesome, Friendly, Convenient”. Thank you for the kind words. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 104 in Seattle
1,389 reviews
University District
Residence Inn by Marriott Seattle University District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel

Address: 4140 Roosevelt Way NE, Seattle, WA 98105-6436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Seattle
#30 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#47 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $123 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn. Where mod meets modern. Hip and happening, eclectic and groovy- The University Inn is a throwback to times when travelling was a supreme adventure and dazzling service came standard. Complementing our fun and funky decor are fantastically comfortable guest accommodations, award-winning organic cuisine and a location that can't be beat. Here you're just minutes from the University of Washington and a short drive to all Seattle has to offer: The Pike Place Market, Space Needle, Seattle Waterfront and more. We invite you do be our guest. Can you dig it? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Seattle
University b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing