We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel with better staff than it deserves”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed August 2, 2011

It must be hard keeping up with renovations in a hotel that (seemingly) caters for overnighters - there were dozens of folk like us who needed a night in Seattle before or after an Alaska cruise. Our bedroom window was broken and it was not the only one. When, only half jokingly, I asked if the round hole in the window was a bullet hole (in addition to the crack from corner to corner) one of the folk at reception was quick to assure me they were sure it wasn't and anyway it had been like that since before they worked there! It is that sort of lack of maintenance that lets down this hotel. Staff try hard and they really deserve more support from Travelodge. Not a bad position, not a bad breakfast experience for the ubiquitous 'continental'. Just in need of some urgent TLC. Hotel is inside the downtown boundary so take advantage of the $32 fixed rate taxi fare to/from the airport. Better value than the shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed at the Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle this past July. We had stayed there previously and returned because the hotel is ideal for anyone wanting to go see a major league baseball game. The hotel itself is clean, affordable, the staff were wonderful. They have a complimentary breakfast that was really nice, hot and cold items, very nice. The pool is great and well maintained. The hotel offers a shuttle service to and from the stadium, for a $5 fee one way. You don't have to worry about parking and walking miles, and we especially appreciated this service. Great hotel, great service, we'll be staying there again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masha17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

After staying here several years ago, I was pleased to see the interior had received a good refurbishment. The lobby is very small so can feel rather chaotic, but the reception staff friendly, free newspapers and coffee in the lobby. The pool was out of action, but only because the areas was being repainted. Close to the Seattle Center and the monorail, or a reasonable walk into downtown. Breakfast was good compared to other Travelodges, including waffle machines.

No bath in our room (shower only), but everything worked, was clean and a good bed. Also with in-room coffee and a fridge. Parking costs extra, but then Seattle isn't very car friendly. Not a cheap stay, but good value compared to other motels at this time of year.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Upon arrival the first thing we noticed was the smell & the filthy carpets & this was in the lobby ! The room was minuscule with 2 beds squeezed into a space only big enough for one . My wife was horrified at the condition of this supposedly 3.5 * star accommodation . I wouldn't let my dog sleep in this dump . We felt it was neccessary to wipe our feet on the way out of the door . There is a lovely view of the local power station on the corner . You will need a pack mule to get to civilization ! Don't bother staying here uless you like wallowing in filth in 3rd rate accommodation .

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyabram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

where do i start? only one of the elevators worked and it looked like it was going to break down. once we got to our room, the smell of mold and fungus was disgusting. blood splatters on the back of the backroom door were found and the beds were damp. we thought we would check out the veiw, and little to our suprise, homeless people where eating 5 feet below our window. there were no locks on the windows so if someone stood on the bins they would be able to climb through. within an hour of being in that room, we re-packed our bags and booked another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank keirasurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christudor, Director of Sales at Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Mistaken in Identity!

I have read your review and it just does not sound like our hotel for many reasons. I strongly encourage you to personally contact me at (206) 441-7878 or email me at guestservices@travelodgeseattlecenter.

Sincerely,

Patrick Tanian
Director of Sales & Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

This hotel is getting a bit older but is still value for money. Our room was very comfortable and was cleaned promptly every day.
There are computers down stairs that are available for guests also a coffee machine that is free to use.
Breakfast is served down stairs and has a good variety and I loved the waffles.
The Space Needle is a short walk away and worth a visit. It is also the departure point for the Monorail that takes you to town but it is an enjoyable walk into town if you are in the mood. There are a few restaurants in walking distance so that isn't a problem. There is also a pharmacy across the road that stocks most everything you need including beer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taptaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed here over the July long weekend, and weren't expecting much to be totally honest. The price we paid was the cheapest we found in Seattle considering it was the July 4th long weekend. I was thoroughly satisfied with the room, as it was big, and the King size bed was extremely comfy. I would have to say that the best surprise was the complementary breakfast which offered a variety of different breakfast food options that even a person such as myself with a gluten allergy could eat. Also the staff were very helpful in providing us "tourists" with useful information which made our stay very enjoyable. Thank you for you great service, I would definitely consider going back the next time i stay in Seattle!

Room Tip: Affordable yet very comfortable. King size bed is the way to go ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poopsicklepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Northgate
Comfort Inn & Suites Seattle
Belltown
The Loyal Inn
The Loyal Inn
#61 of 104 in Seattle
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at Queen Anne
#74 of 104 in Seattle
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle

Address: 200 6th Ave N, Seattle, WA 98109-5004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $85 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge-Seattle Center Caters to Both Extended-Stay and Single Night Guests. Enjoy a prime location to Seattle’s popular attractions when you stay at Travelodge-Seattle Center. In addition to recently upgraded and well-appointed accommodations that are perfect for all guests, you’ll enjoy quality services and amenities such as a seasonal outdoor pool, hot tub, fitness center, business center, and free wireless Internet access in both your room and around the hotel grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Seattle by the Space Needle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Seattle By The Space Needle Hotel Seattle
Seattle Travelodge
Seattle Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing