We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location, great view.”
Review of The Westin Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Seattle
Ranked #46 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
McMinnville, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Location, great view.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is truly in the heart of a mecca of activities. A block from the rail, metro outside the door, walking distance (mile or less) in most cases to so many things. The room was standard, but you are paying for the view. Parking is expensive (25 per day was the cheapest and it wasn't too far). My 'very good' rating was based on the accommodations, which in reality was average, but the view was very nice. (now, in the near future they are building a high-rise right between The Westin and the Tower, so, it will be mostly blocked in no time.

Green Features: We try and follow environmentally -friendly practices as often as we can, on this trip however, no one even asked to clean our room, they just left us a $5 off coupon and went on their way. I'd like to at least be asked if I would like my room services, especially for the rates
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjay_diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    943
    375
    113
    59
See reviews for
532
607
70
827
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (696)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This is a great hotel from the moment you drive up. We had a room on one of the high floors overlooking the water. What a fabulous view. Right now the sun doesn't set until well after 9 PM so you get a great sunset from these rooms.

The hotel is so centrally located downtown you can walk just about anywhere. Pikes place, the wharf, space needle and tons of dining and shopping everywhere.

Check in and out was a breeze. Staff very helpful everywhere throughout the hotel.

We needed an item to be shipped to the hotel for us and it came in the day before we arrived. As soon as we checked in and asked about the delivery the front desk staff knew exactly where it was and had it delivered up to your room.

It was a great stay and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahlflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

The Weston was a really nice hotel that was located in the center of Seattle. Short walk to shopping and the pikes market. Less than one block to the monorail that takes you to the space needle. Our room had a beautiful view of the bay. Only negative is the parking is expensive but it is at all the downtown hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: You can skip housekeeping if you choose and get a five dollar voucher or extra points on the rewards program.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, MD
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

In addition to the Relish restaurant which had pastries and coffee for breakfast and hamburgers/sandwiches later in the day, outside in the same block is a Starbucks and McDonalds for breakfast. There were a few other restaurants that were not open July 4th weekend, but the hotel is about 5 blocks away from Pike's Market (and lots of restaurants - go to the Crumpet Shop at Pike's Market for a delicous, warm crumpet that you can get with various toppings and tea/coffee). You have to walk up hill then down a steep hill to get to Pike's market (go towards First Street). The hotel is also walking distance to the Space Needle and Olympic Sculpture Park.

The hotel is convenient to lots of restaurants within a few blocks walking distance. For dinner, we ate at the Pink Door (the salmon color door next to the salmon color window boxes (no sign for restaurant)) across from Kell's Irish Restaurant and Pub at 1916 Post Aly - two streets in front of Pikes Market). They had a fantastic, huge antipasto platter and nice outside dining. We also ate dinner at Assaggio (2010 Fourth Ave) which had a dozen times of pasta in the $16 range. I got a selection of any 3, and it was $22 but very good. My husband thought the fresh salmon was better than the Pink Door. Service was excellent.

You can also pick up a trolley. Right ouside the doors by the North Elevators is a little square that is lit be colored lights and night and has some small metal tables and chairs is where you can board the trolley. Normally, $2.50; it was free for July 4th. LIne up to board on the opposite side of the rails of the plastic shelter. Lake Union Park, where the July 4th fireworks were held is .9 miles from the hotel, so we were able to walk back to the hotel which was lit up in red, white and blue at the top.

Hotel was modern, clean and done in shades of beige. You have to pay for Wifi in the room but judging by the number of people in the large lobby, it is free Wifi there. We got upgraded to a nicer room (#2434), since I am Starwood Gold. It had big windows with a view of the ocean and some construction outside. It had a large desk and a sofa and chair. Bed was comfortable. Bathroom was average size with a tub that had a shower curtain on the rounded pole. Sink had plenty of space for "stuff." Two free bottles of water for being a Starwood member plus a choice of either Wifi or free drinks in the lobby bar. We got the free drinks but had to go back for the drink ticket since the front desk person forgot to include them with the key.

They have a Green policy that if you decide to not get maid service (just on request only), you can get 500 Starwood bonus points or a $5 credit for food. I declined the maid service and also requested extra towels from the front desk person and someone brought a complete set up within 45 minutes.

I loved the soaps that were green and shaped like leaves. There was also shampoo, conditioner, and body lotion. No shower cap. A hair dryer was in the closet on top of the safe. The closet was rather small and had some drawers built in. An ironing board was there.

Parking was $41 per day!

Overall, we enjoyed out stay at the Westin and would return.

Green Features: LIked the Green program of being able to decline the maid service but still get extra towels and extra Starwood points. It was convenient not coming back to the hotel room and find the maid in there cleaning our room.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GodLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is located downtown and is walking distance to a big selection of restaurants and shopping.
The room was large and well appointed. It felt a little dark, but given Seattle was overcast for our entire stay that might have been a big part of the reason.
There is no free wifi in the room, but it is free in the lobby area.
One of the best things about Westin is their very good beds.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WinnieLyngkaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This location is within walking distance to pretty much everything anyone would want to visit when spending a few days in Seattle. Our view was spectacular situated on the 16th floor. Great customer service. Very comfortable bed. Starbucks across the street. What more does one need really ?

Room Tip: High floor overlooking Puget Sound
See more room tips
Green Features: The entire city of Seattle is environmentally-friendly.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laungirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Westin Seattle has an excellent location for tourists - easy walking distance to the waterfront, Fifth Avenue shopping and Seattle Center (space needle, EMP, Chihuly Garden). The rooms are clean and comfortable - not extraordinarily large but good enough - stacked in two large round towers easily recognizable on the Seattle skyline. The hotel is not new and not newly remodeled, but it seems to be maintained well enough to keep Westin standards. Compared to newer properties, the bathroom is small and unremarkable, and there's no sink or vanity area outside the bathroom to make it more efficient for families to get ready at the same time. Sleeper sofa had a terrible mattress (if you could call it that), but the housekeeping staff was more than happy to add a few Heavenly Bed comforters and pads to bring it up to standards. Staff was friendly and check-in/check-out were efficient. Like most downtown hotels, parking is highway robbery. Park at the Westin Building garage next door instead to save $15/day. It is connected to the hotel by a covered walkway, and it is a much better deal. Upper floor rooms offer great views of the city and the water and are probably worth a little extra money if you plan to be in the room much.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise and offer a better view of the city and water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Sheraton Seattle Hotel
#37 of 101 in Seattle
4,151 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,022 reviews
Hyatt At Olive 8
#9 of 101 in Seattle
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#10 of 101 in Seattle
2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Seattle

Property: The Westin Seattle
Address: 1900 5th Ave., Seattle, WA 98101-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Seattle
#22 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#41 Business Hotel in Seattle
#42 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#48 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Seattle 4*
Number of rooms: 891
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Downtown Seattle Hotel is the front door to shopping, dining and the vibrant downtown Seattle experience. Leave the car at home and walk to the Space Needle, Pike Place Market, the Great Wheel, the Aquarium and more all within just blocks of our hotel! Take the light rail to and from the airport for just $3 each way. Our brand is truly focused on healthy living while on the road. We feature our 10 layer signature Heavenly Beds for the most comfortable night's sleep. Our RunWestin program takes guests on a guided 3 mile run every Tuesday and Wednesday morning through Seattle's best attractions. With Gear Lending, no need to pack your gym gear, for just $5 guests can borrow fresh New Balance clothing and shoes including brand new socks that are yours to keep! Enjoy our fitness center, indoor pool, and outdoor pool deck. Grab a smoothie or fresh juice at our barista stand, or stay for lunch or dinner at our Relish Burger Bistro serving salads, burgers, and fresh, locally sourced cuisine. For families our Westin Family program provides kids with an interactive journal to document their visit to Seattle with fun games and coloring activities. And don't leave your pet at home! Pets stay free with us as we know they're just like family and our guests can even request a heavenly dog bed and dog food and water bowls at check in. Come enjoy Seattle and take comfort in knowing our staff values you like family. Explore our freshly renovated meeting and event space for your next event or head out for a night on the town with so much to see and door right outside our door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Seattle Hotel Seattle
Westin Seattle
The Westin Hotel Seattle Wa
Seattle Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing